We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price!”
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #137 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We just checked out today after a great one-night stay this weekend (Aug-11). We had a lovely double room with separate bedroom and a sofa with sofabed for our two children. Would definately stay here again. The only thing keeping us from giving it all thumbs up, was that the pool was unclean (couldn't see bottom at 1 m.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Mrs./Mr Istuvik

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon. We are glad that you have enjoyed our magnificent city and our Hotel. we can inform that someone left a drink in the pool water and it made a reaction with the pool products

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Just back from a three day stay in Lisbon (fantastic city!) as part of a longer break in Portugal (fantastic country!).

Location: The location isn't bad but it's not in the town centre. There's a metro stop about 7-8 min walk from the Hotel where we started our excursions everyday. It's a great metro system and easy to get around on it. There didn't really seem to be anything going on in the immediate vicinity of the hotel so we did not explore that area.

The Room: The room was on the 7th floor so it had a decent view and was an OK size. The bed was not huge. Neither was the bathroom and it had a bizarre layout where you had to clamber over the biddet to get to the toilet. There were problems with the shower, one of which was fixed, the other which wasn't. The towels were threadbare, not soft and looked like they hadn't been replaced in 40 years. There were plastic glasses in the bathroom.

The Hotel: It was fine - lacking in atmosphere in the Lobby. The rooftop area was nice. The pool is tiny and barely waist deep. The "bar" is a fridge. The "gym" is a small room with a treadmill, rowing machine and one other cardio machine I can't remember. There is only two lifts for the whole hotel and one of the days one of these wasn't working so you could be waiting up to 10 mins for a lift. We took the service elevator a number of times to avoid this wait. A bit of a joke really in a supposed 4 star hotel. Also, the roof area is actually quite hard to find - you take the lift to the 10th floor and then have to take stairs to the roof which is through a couple of doors and feels like you're going to end up in the kitchen or something!

The service: The staff at reception were very poor I have to say. I don't think I saw one of them smile the whole time we were there. When we checked in it seemed that we were causing them some kind of hassle by just being there. No hints or tips or guidance about the city offered at all.

If I could give it 2 1/2 out of 5 I would but 2 seems a bit harsh so I'm giving them the benefit of 3 - which is more than they deserve.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Mr Homesick_Alien

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon. We regret your experience

Thank you for your feed back, because It will allow us to improve our services

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nice hotel at reasonable prices. Rooms are quiet, clean and spacious, with king size beds. Staff at the front desk very friendly and helpful. Breakfast with a big selection and good quality.
Swimming pool is nice but not too big with not many deck chairs.
A good hotel to stay.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
8  Thank M_NG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Mrs. M_NG72

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon. We are glad that you have enjoyed our magnificent city and our Hotel.

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Having stayed at two other hotels on former trips for the same price, Holiday Inn was by far the best. We got a big room with two king size beds viewing a quiet street of Lisboa. Our daughters and we were very satisfied, the little one especially about the swimming pool which was a bit to small with only 10 deck chairs. The reception was very friendly and helpful, especially when i had to print out my flight ticket.
We will definetely come back on our next visit to this wonderful city of Lisboa!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gicabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear Mrs./Mr Gicabel

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon. We are glad that you have enjoyed our magnificent city and our Hotel.

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

i stayed here with my 14 year old son,are room was gorgeous and big,the room balcony was big! freindly staff in the restaurant,but drinks to dear in the bar,pity!! food nice,i was pleased with the room,bathroom was big,more of an adult based holiday! i would go back to stay again,a romantic holiday would be nice to spend with your partner,my best memory was the pool,soooo nice to relax there!! lisbon is a peaceful place to travel round so are the people,the sun was hot,would recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magnew67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear Mrs./Mr Magnew67

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon. We are glad that you have enjoyed our magnificent city, our Hotel and our roof top lounge and his incredible city view.

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed here for a week at the end of June while I was at a conference at the University and my wife was touring around town. We picked the location as it was a 40 minute walk to campus and 20 minute walk to the Bull Ring which is a public transit and double decker tour bus stop. Our room was a good size for Europe and most of the staff spoke English so that was very helpful. They charged a lot for their internet so I didn't bother getting any access. Parking was 14 Euro a day which also is pretty good. I left the car parked for almost the entire week. The public transit system is great and cabs were abundant when we needed them. The beds were Euro-hard but I managed to wake up well rested every morning. I missed breakfast everyday running off to my conference by my wife assures me that the buffet was very good. The lounge in the lobby as well as the available bar at the roof top pool were also both great. The roof top pool is just a bit bigger than a big hot-tub so I couldn't mark it excellent as a pool but the fact that it is there and you can enjoy a beer there is excellent. We would stay here again for sure. Oh and our Balcony was a great touch too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear Mr Profile - PegLeg-and-SherBear,

We hope you'd a very nice trip back Spain with your wife.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon. We regret that you haven´t enough time to enjoy our Hotel as you were at the conference. You should visit us again !

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The good: large bedrooms for European standards, ok breakfast, near the bullfight ring that doubles as a shopping mall and restaurant center.
The bad: Internet: 1) 20 Euros per day. If they do this in 2011, they might as well charge additionally for electricity and running water. I bought online 1 week of access for 50 Euros (still ridiculous). 2) I reserved a tour at the front desk and the receptionist refused to give me a receipt. Basically I paid 120 Euros and he said the travel agency will know already that we had paid. This was true in the end, but common practice is giving a receipt after you take someone’s payment. 3) Another thing that struck me is that absolutely no toiletries are offered in the room; but you have to ask the receptionist if you need anything.
If I go back to Lisbon I will chose a hotel with smaller rooms, but free internet and closer to the center.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xaviero76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs. Mephisto76

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#119 of 255 in Lisbon
2,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#158 of 255 in Lisbon
476 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#129 of 255 in Lisbon
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £65 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy day together with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outside pool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing