We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in the city”
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #134 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Carp, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Staying in the city”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. It was a first class hotel and we were very pleased. The reception staff were able to recommend restaurant nearby otherwise it really is a distance into city (all very hilly!). We passed on the expensive breakfast here but lots of small cafes nearby to use with fresh things to offer. The pool was nice but it was actually chilly while we were there so only went up to take photos and enjoy the sweeping views

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    560
    253
    45
    28
See reviews for
408
291
49
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A very nice hotel, large rooms, clean and quiet. The location is quiet and safe, but it's a good 30-45 minutes walk to the shoppingareas and sights downtown. A small swimminpool on the roof, great for the kids.
The breakfastbuffet was very good, with hot and cold dishes - and fruit and champagne :-)
The staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoterNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Mr. PoterNorway

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmen
Level Contributor
279 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here one night in one room with our three kids (13,11,9). The room was very large and so was the bathroom. Room was clean and there was enough closetspace. Was asked for an extra bed for the third child. This was a foldaway and of very poor quality. The matress was nearly non existant and we had to improvise to make the bed useable.

The hotel is away from the center and not very easy to find. We expected a swimmingpool, but that was the other Holiday Inn in Lisboa. Parkinggarage is net to the hotel, but is very thight. We drive a large car and had trouble getting in and out.

A few days after leaving the hotel we discoverd we left some of our belongings in the hotel. One phonecall was enough to track down our items and have them send to us. A big compliment for this service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Mr. Milo 1967

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Thank you for your nice words and feedback.
Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We just stayed here for the night before our flight home the next morning.Nice lobby and reception desk area, clean and modern. Rooms are very nice with an assortment of pillows to use(firm, medium,soft)Very close to the airport, bathroom was clean and bright. Nice area to walk around a bit as well, subway close by too.would be a very comfortable hotel for a several night stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs Chrisq13

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us. Our goal is reaching this feeling in our clients.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had problems with our reservations at our arrival, they gave us smoking rooms, so they had to changed us. Although they did not like to do this, they had to, because we reserved non-smoking rooms. Although the receptionist was rude, they gave us very good rooms after all. This hotel is very nice and their rooms are big. The breakfast, although is excellent, fresh fruits, fresh bread, great coffee, etc., but you have to pay for it, and it is worth it. Good beds and pillows. We would stay here again. It is a good hotel to stay if you visit Lisboa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54lillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Mr. / Mrs. 54 Lillian

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Thank you for your comments.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights while traveling through Portugal. Hotel is a 15 minute walk from a train station and maybe 10 minutes from the subway.

Very clean hotel. Washroom was spotless, carpet was in excellent condition as was the bed. We had a room on the 9th floor that provided great city views. They also have a rooftop pool which is nice given the hot Lisbon sun. It would have been nicer if the water in the pool was a bit cleaner (it's difficult to see straight to the bottom).

There is a strip club across the road from the hotel. On 3 of the 4 nights we saw hookers on the walk back from the Alameda metro station. Never felt unsafe in the area however.

If you are traveling from North America be aware that there are no shower doors. It takes a bit of practice to have a shower and not make a mess over the floor.

Staff at the hotel was ok. They answered our questions, but when we asked for help ordering a pizza the man behind the counter said "I don't know what you want". This was after we told him the size and the toppings.

Hotel was close to Estádio José Alvalade where we saw Sporting play.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuGautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Mr. StuGautz

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Due my business travelI stay in several IHG hotels. Even been a platinum elite member at this hotel doesn't make a lof of difference. Not that such card is that important, but it should tell the hotel that you stay pretty often with the chain. At Holiday Inn Lisbon they don't really give that impression that you are a valued guest. Even due to same business reason this wasn't my first visit to this hotel. Compared to other Holiday Inn's , this one is OK but it doesn't bring that extra personal touch, which at the end comes from the staff. Recently I stayed at a Holiday Express in Guthesrloh Germany and the Crown Plaza in Brugge. Those experiences gave that extra personal touch to once's that stay there. Holiday Inn Lisbon has a lesson to learn from those examples.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a tip as even I got more downgraded then upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inetbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Mr. Inetbas

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

First of all thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Thank you for taking your time to bring your comments to us. Those impressions are important to us to improve our service

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#103 of 247 in Lisbon
2,630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#145 of 247 in Lisbon
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#88 of 247 in Lisbon
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon
Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing