We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfortable hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #133 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel. The room was comfortable with a view to the street. Breakfast was great with a large selection of fruits. There is a small pool on the roof with great view but I didn't have time to use it. I just enjoyed the view. The staff at reception was very friendly. There were two metro stations close to the hotel. One is around 10 minutes walk (Saldanha Station) and the other is 10 minutes walk on a very sloping avenue and needs a lot of effort to climb it but better connected (Almeida Station).Two things bothered me. One the lady that entered the room every day at 9:00 to clean it. So I used to lock the door by the chain. The sun couldn't be blocked by the curtains because of the place of the room and so nothing can be done to avoid it.

Room Tip: Not in the corner as the sun will bother you in the morning but the room is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your comment. All the comments and opinions are good to improve our service. We hope that next time you stay you will have no problems. We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    558
    247
    45
    27
See reviews for
403
288
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was not impressed on my recent 3 night stay. Hotel is old and very tired. Upgraded to executive floor as an IHG platinum but it did not feel like much of an upgrade. Threadbare carpet, broken window in room, uncomfortable bed. Felt more like a budget 3 star, rather than a 4 star hotel. I had trouble with the internet and found it was barely usable - when I complained afterwards, the GM's responded with an unconvincing apology and lines like "nobody else has complained" and "it is free after all".

Sums it all up really.

Room Tip: I would not recommend people stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear 460Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We would like to obtain some additional information about your stay and have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Travelled in May 2014. Things that are worth noting about this hotel:
o We arrived to the airport late at night (just after midnight). We walked from Alameda metro and as a couple (me and the wife) were propositioned by prostitutes. This hotel is in a red light area - on two of the three nights we were there, there were a couple of prostitutes in the bus stop just outside the front door. I'd suggest that this isn't really a family hotel on this basis.

o There's a strip club opposite.

o Walking down to the Saldanha metro station during the day, condom wrappers were notable on the ground.

Away from the red-light-district side of stuff, be aware that the drinks prices on the roof terrace are outrageously expensive - when we were there, cans of canned soft drink were €3.50 each, with Red Bull coming it at a staggering €5.00 per can. The pool itself is relatively small, and not deep - it's built up onto the roof, and the raised area around the pool surprisingly small (thus meaning that you can't really get a lounger by a pool with any level of ease).

Location is pretty poor - it's on a fairly noisy main road, and with the cobbled streets means that you get a lot of road noise. In public transport terms, you're about 5-10 minutes walk from both of the nearest metros. Go for Saldanha if you can - it's fairly flat. Alameda is a pain due to the uphill walk from the station to the hotel.

Breakfast - not great. Passable, but not brilliant.

The hotel was pretty clean, overall. The cleaning staff seemed to be doing a good job of things on that front.

Somewhat worrying was that a large pane of glass above the main entrance to the hotel was shattered and hadn't been replaced - given that this glass acts as an awning of sorts, it worried me that should a shard of glass fall, that it could have cause serious injury to a member of the public/guest walking underneath it.

We visited friends staying in the Novotel in Lisbon. Given that they're the same price, I'd very much recommend that people consider a hotel such as this rather than the Holiday Inn. Much nicer location, quieter, and seemingly better value for money.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. All the comments are helpfull to improve our performance. In spite of what you described this is a very safe area. Regarding the glass, it's tempered glass that will not fall or injure anybody, It's a very strong glass. Nevertheless is going to be replaced shortly. We look forward to have you has our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is very nice and the roof top pool is great. Good service and you feel comfortable in the rooms. Wont say anything bad about the service and the facilties as it was all good. The location however is bad. Its away from the main city centre (although the hotel claims to be very close to all the mainz attractions). There are many good hotels in the city centre (Near Centro or Chiado) and i would recommend booking one in the centre, especially if you are going for 3-4 days (like we did)

Room Tip: If at all you have to stay in the hotel, then ask for a room on the 10th floor. Get good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. All the comments are helpfull to improve our performance. We are not in the historical center but it's easy and fast to reach old town. Inspite of not being in the center we have for example a nice pool with an astonishing view.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We came with a large group & got a room with narrow bed (130). At the reception the guy claimed that he cant change the room since he dont know how much we paid for our room. He said that he did have another double bed room that cost the same but since he dont know how much we paid he will charge us a full price again.
Of course he did change the room (with no extra money) claiming it is the last one available with two beds. So we got the corner room that was nice and quiet but the bathroom was very small with no place for your legs when sit on the toilet.
Another couple got our former room and when they complaind about the bed they got in another bed that was very uncomfortable.
.The breakfast was with old tomatoes and bad taste coffee.and limited choise of products.
If you are alone the hotel wil be fine for you, since the rooms are clean and quiet, but dont spend your money on their breakfast. As a couple - dont go there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i-herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr. i-herman,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Lisboa

I regret to receive such comment as We consider it rude and not according with the real facts.

During the check in, was requested another rooms different of the reservations. As we were full we only had few to give to the group, but that wasn't accepted. The Group leader was present, understood and was happy with situation, however there was a guest that simply had some strange manners and was unpolite.

Once again we regret this situation

Kind regards

Pedro Encarnação
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

positives-there are many-beautiful room-5 star id say-large comfy beds-great cleaners-gave us everything we asked for and more-very clean and nicely kept hotel all round-nice helpful reception staff-lovely rooftop pool(only 1 metre deep-but suited me)-small gym thats free to use-a perfect hotel for a short break.
negatives-only 2-prices of drinks were too expensive 3.50 euros for a coke that you could buy around the corner for 55 cents-a real rip off! and finally the location-its 8/10 minutes walk to the nearest metro station then about 6/7 stops before you get into the main part of town(bars/shops/etc)-the metro stops at 1 oclock and so we were having to go out early to make a night of it and then coming back early to avoid the taxi fare-was a real shame as i dont feel we saw the city at its best-basically i would recommmend this hotel-but just be prepared for the traveling to and fro-which did spoil it a bit for us-overall a big thumbs up for holiday inn!!!(lovely little authentic portugese restaurant 5 minutes away-Charrua Do Lavrador-reception will tell you how to get there-sea bass to die for )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. All the comments are helpfull to improve our performance.We invite you to try our grilled codfish next time you visit us.
We look forward to have you as our guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We ended up in this hotel 3 days after booking. (Family with 2 young kids)
Lovely! Rooms were ok. Mattresses great!
I have read some non-sense about coffee sachets not being replaced, as well as problems with bath towels: all non-sense.
Staff were great! Everywhere: check-in, cleaning, breakfast. Very helpful.
Breakfast was great, as you would expect from Holiday Inn. Fresh fruit & bread, hot stuff, cold stuff etc. etc. Nice little coffee machine. (finally had some nice bacon rolls again, after 9 years in France :-) ).
Area is not too bad, taxis are cheap anyway (almost cheaper than public transport!)
The hotel gave me some tips for local restaurants, but if you look a little more you'll find quite a few nice ones very close: try Sem Duvida or Al Parte for instance.
I did not have a problem with internet connections: laptop, tablet, phone: all worked. not perfect all the time but definitely good enough.
I liked as well:
Little gym upstairs, little pool (shame it wasn't heated though...)
All'n All: nice stay.
Thank you!
Walter
PS: I think the bowl of fresh fruit on arrival may have been because I had just become an IHG member. So why not try that: took me 5 minutes.
PPS: I think I will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room on the back. No noise in the room. (I can't say anything about the front rooms.) AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeHIL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire. Il est bon de savoir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour. Merci pour votre préférence.
Nous nous réjouissons de vous compter parmi nos invités à l'avenir.
Cordialement,
Paula Vidal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#149 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#104 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.3 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#83 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon
Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing