We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for price paid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Ranked #121 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Scottsdale, Arizone
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for price paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I agree with other who rate this hotel excellent and can add little to their comments. Our three nights there was a great value for the price paid. Rooms clean, good tv, nice staff, and bed was comfortable. I like that it had faux wood floors which make it easy to judge how clean they were. We had one small problem and it was resolved immediately by a manager in a most professional manor. To me there were two small negatives-- The bathroom extras were almost none existant. Soap and shampoo were both in push containers (not worthy of four star property) and the bed pillows were of poor quality even if there are firm and soft on each bed. Good area, near metro, and found a couple of good ones in area, there was an excellent fish restaurant just a block away (sorry but not have name, but think it is nearest restaurant to hotel). If you can get a good rate take it you will not go wrong. I base excellent given the quality for price paid. It is not the Ritz, but it is probably 75% or more less. Would, for sure, choose this property in future.

Room Tip: Ask for front as view is a little better, however planes taking off from airport might be problem fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your feed back.
The comments of our Guests are very important to improve our Service,
Please apologize anything that was not your expectations.
kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    408
    163
    33
    24
See reviews for
203
286
62
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I was 3 days for vacation in this holiday inn. I ve got a very good price.
My stay was plesant. The rooms had a good size and they were newer than I thought.
Everything was clean.
The check inn agent was also very nice.
Its is next to the airport but not direct in the center.
Taxi from airport is 8 Euro, to the center also around 8.
The negative things:
No upgrade for platinum member.
Internet very bad connection (but free due my status)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We reserved a room at this hotel only because we get priority club points, and it also fulfilled two p.c. promotions, giving us a lot of extra points.
I was very hesitant, since we always insist on staying in a city center, as we like to eat dinner and walk around til late, and like to be able to walk right back to our hotel.
We were pleasantly surprised, as check in was quick and the young man (Jose, I believe) was pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The price couldn't be better, very inexpensive for Europe, and the area wasn't bad at all.
Granted it wasn't in the center, but neither was it a poor, remote area.
There was a supermarket nearby, where we shopped.
There was also a wonderful Chinese buffet nearby and after being at the trade show, eating in town, and being out, we relaxed there.
The hotel was quite nice.
The highlight was that after two nights, they moved us to an upgraded room because of platinum and what a room! Large bedroom, hall with fridge, large bathroom and another room with tv, sofa, table and chairs, and coffee, etc. Plenty of space for our luggage so it wasnt cluttering the floor. We didn't want to leave!
The beds were so comfortable, and we had everything we needed.
A 5 minute walk brought us to the bus where we hopped on a 10 minute ride right into the center.
We felt very safe doing this even late at night as the area had many things still open and plenty of people walking around at all hours.
No sweat at all, and the walk was nice. We did this many times, and even early in the morning, in order to catch tours on two different days.
Inside Lisbon will also pick you up at H.I.C. for their day tours, and drop you back.

Room Tip: If you're platinum, ask for an upgrade. They were very good on following through with their pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledebnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Nicely appointed four star hotel which is located close to the airport and public transport but a very long walk from the city centre. The rooms were exceptionally clean and because the floors are made from hard wood, any allergy sufferers may find this a great solution to questionable carpet. Room check in and out was a quick and painless and the reception desk staff were always available to set-up tickets for tour buses to out of city. Tour buses pick up at hotel front. If you're into Bull fights (I'm not) then the hotel is across the road from Lisbon's major arena.
Hotel bar was modern, comfortable and average prices.
If you are comfortable with traveling on the subway/buses then getting downtown is very simple and bus # 727 will take you from near the hotel all the way to Belem (a must) and back for 3.50 euros. A nearby restaurant to the hotel, Valbom, was terrific value and quality (see restaurant review)

Room Tip: As this hotel structure is built in an arc, the outside rooms ending in an even number are larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

i stayed at this hotel 30´th october 2012 the rooms could not fault, staff and service excellent the only down side was the meals they need to improve and bring up to the hotel standards i rate the evening meal poor and bland cleanliness excellent i would stay there again but eat out.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good no balconies what i could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Marvin,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay.
I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided and I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms.
I would like to apologize for the meal insatisfaction. I assure you that it will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate department.
We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.
kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

The main reason that make me not recomend the hotel is something that might be related not only to this hotel, but others from Holiday inn, so be aware. Eventhough I am a priority member, I had made the reservation almost six months in advance and I had received an email a week before my stay confirming the reservation, on the evening before I received an email from the hotel saying that my reservation could be canceled because they were not able to charge my card. Of course they couldn´t because in six months, my card has changed its number. Question: why they tried to to that just in the last moment? And what if I were in a flight and could not read the email? Answer: Arrive in Lisbon without any hotel! Big problem!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Francisco,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay.
I am sorry your stay was negatively affected by our reservation issue. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.
If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Had a 3 day stay. Location a little out of the city centre but not a problem as a metro station is less than 5 minutes walk. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room spacious and comfortable. The free wifi was appreciated. Breakfast was fine - typical for a Holiday Inn but top marks to the very friendly Restaurant Manager for his personal service standards. One criticism - although the bar was open in the afternoon we shouldn't have had to ask reception staff twice to find the missing bar staff to be served.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Peter
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay.
We are delighted to read you found the room confortable.Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided.
Please accept my sincere apology for the unusual conditions in the Bar service.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us
Sincerely,
Alice Bancaleiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#129 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#98 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
0.5 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#97 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Address: Rua Laura Alves 9, Lisbon 1069-169, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#92 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay close to central Lisbon when you choose the Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental hotel.A curvaceous high-rise building on a lively boulevard, the contemporary Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental is a 10-minute taxi ride from Lisbon Airport. We're just a minute's walk from Campo Pequeno metro station for direct subway trains to Lisbon city centre. Settle in and surf the web with wireless Internet in your smart Guest room.Have a productive stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental, with 9 modern meeting rooms for up to 200 people and a 24-hour Business Centre. We're close to the banking district, Instituto Superior Técnico engineering school, and major companies like Ernst and Young. Lisbon Congress Centre is a 15-minute metro ride away, and the hotel offers ample parking and easy access to the IP7 motorway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing