We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Ranked #119 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Albufeira, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wifi not good”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms good. Staff v good. Buffet breakfast just ok....Location good. Near campo pequeno which has a shopping area and eateries underneath..200 mtrs. Near station entrecampos, walkable, and metro. But wifi useless. Less than 0.5Mb ....keeps dropping out.....needs sorting.....changed rooms but just as bad....

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Almacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest Almacgregor,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest.
We are improving our internet service in order to get our Guests Satisfaction.
In the expectation to welcome you again, kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    433
    175
    36
    26
See reviews for
226
298
66
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on business.
Standard HI in a city centre. Large building tucked away from the main road.

Large open reception area and check in was very quick and efficient with the lady also giving me lots of maps and guides for Lisbon.
Room was up on the 11th floor facing out to the front of the hotel so a view over train tracks interspersed with watching the aircraft on landing approach to the airport. There is double glazing which blocks out the vast majority of this noise but in the summer if you like fresh air coming into your room then this could present a problem for some.

The room itself is standard HI. Although as others have mentioned, the bed is HUGE and VERY comfortable. Flat screen tv with the usual international news channels and also nat geo and discovery etc etc in English with Portuguese subtitles.
Decent shower and also a built in hairdryer in the bathroom for any ladies travelling who dont want to take their own. Plug socket in bathroom also switched between 110 and 240.
The only thing I really disliked in the room was the 'wooden' floors that a lot of the HI chains are doing now. It may save money using a brush rather than a vacuum cleaner which I appreciate but if the person in the room next to you or above you is walking around in their shoes then it is quite noisy. Also, when you drop something on a carpet it tends to bounce....not the same with a 'wooden' floor.

There are 4 lifts that are not the quickest and as with all hotels there can be a wait in the morning. The hotel also has underground parking.

There is wifi in the hotel but certainly in the rooms it is quite slow and has a habit of dropping out. I think it would be a struggle to have any video conference call. For a 4* business hotel I would have thought it would have been a bit quicker. Not sure if there is a charge as it's free for Priority Club Platinum.

I didnt use the restaurant in the evening only for breakfast so I cant comment on evening meals.
The dining area is down underground through 2 flights of stairs. Not sure if the lift goes to here so elderly or disabled may struggle.
Breakfast was the standard collection of hot and cold and fruits and breads. But the dining room itself is very 'tired' and in need of a revamp. I am sure in the 1970's/80's it looked superb.

Other points:
Hairdresser on the premises.
Small shop (newspapers, souveniers etc)
Bar was empty most nights but the staff were very pleasant and the prices were 'normal' as opposed to 'hotel' 3.5 Euro for a large draught beer.
Very few plug sockets in teh room so it means unplugging working lamps if you need to plug in chargers and laptops etc at the same time.

2 minutes walk from the hotel is a shopping centre with a supermarket and the rooms have a small fridge for the mini bar so useful for putting your own water/soft drinks/ etc.

There is a pizza hut restaurant opposite the hotel and a small Chinese restaurant close by but this is a business area so no bars or restaurants. I was with clients each night and it was only a short car drive to the historic centre which was full of places to eat or drink. The hotel is also close to the metro.

Overall:
Standard HI. Not bad, but not great. Could do with a bit of modernisation in places and a 'bit of soul' and Mediterranean passion putting into the place. Would stay again if on business at the airport but not if I was travelling with my partner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest Tim Owen,
Thank you for your stay and for your comments.
The oppinion of our Guests give us the oportunity to improve our levels of service.
Regarding the internet we just finish an upgrade of the system and we believe that this issue is solved.
At your disposal and waiting to welcome you again, kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

On the last day we stayed at this hotel we met a retired businessman in the hotel lobby. He was taking his eight year old grand daughter on a grand tour of European cities. The staff treated her like a princess. They brought her non-alcoholic mixed drinks, I think it was a virgin Margarita, read her stories, and just showed her a great time on a rainy Sunday afternoon. This was indicative of the staff throughout our stay. We got extra teabags and coffee for the service in our room within an hour of asking. They helped us with directions for the Metro which stops practically outside the front door(Yellow Line transfer from the Red line). On our last day in Lisbon the staff kept our luggage behind the front desk while we spent time downtown. The hotel is clean, modern, and pleasing to the eye. The buffet had cooked scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage which were not available at our hotels in Spain. Lisbon is a great town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephdandalucia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony,Ut.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Best overall hotel we stayed at after 3 weeks in Europe when value is factored in. Great restaurant, coffee shop and bar. Lobby is 5 star. Rooms, bedding and quality woodwork (in rooms and hallways), all first class. We do not normally stay in Holiday Inns anymore in the U.S., but this hotel is far and above any U.S. Holiday Inn, so I am surprised it is a Holiday Inn. Front desk was fluent in English, which was a big help. We were in need of a lot of help and Andrea went the extra mile for us. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKYMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest LKYMIKE
Thank you for your stay and your nice comments regarding Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards, Alice Bancaleiro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel's in a good location and the room was spacious and clean. Given the location the view from my room was of an office block so didn't open the curtains. The lobby bar and basement restaurant (with no lift) were both efficient and the food was OK but the whole place lacks any character.

I can't fault the staff but it just felt a bit left behind, with no atmosphere. I guess that's reflected in the price, and the room was fine so a reasonable business stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest Mr.Martin J
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest
We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
At your disposal, kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Super hotel and so close to Campo Pecano (shopping mall that was a bull ring) also local pastalerias (coffee shops) train station Entrecampos etc. Great place and a great price.
Staff so helpull friendly and proud to help you get around town, taxi good price too!

Room Tip: Try to face "Saldanha" rather than the hospital!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerrFUDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for a fabulous review HerrFUDGE.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Alice Bancaleiro
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palisades, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The holiday Inn was so nice a place. it was very clean and located in a great part of town. We really enjoyed our 5 day stay there even extending our stay an extra day. Staff was great and really made you feel welcome

Room Tip: Every room nice but suites are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay and your comments regarding Hotel Service.
It will be a pleasure to Welcome you again
kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#134 of 248 in Lisbon
1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#106 of 248 in Lisbon
2,662 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#96 of 248 in Lisbon
909 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Address: Rua Laura Alves 9, Lisbon 1069-169, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay close to central Lisbon when you choose the Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental hotel.A curvaceous high-rise building on a lively boulevard, the contemporary Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental is a 10-minute taxi ride from Lisbon Airport. We're just a minute's walk from Campo Pequeno metro station for direct subway trains to Lisbon city centre. Settle in and surf the web with wireless Internet in your smart Guest room.Have a productive stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental, with 9 modern meeting rooms for up to 200 people and a 24-hour Business Centre. We're close to the banking district, Instituto Superior Técnico engineering school, and major companies like Ernst and Young. Lisbon Congress Centre is a 15-minute metro ride away, and the hotel offers ample parking and easy access to the IP7 motorway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing