We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Ranked #128 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The hotel was very safe and comfortable. The front desk staff were phenomenal, and caring, particularly Louis, who went out of his way to accommodate our every request. We will send our family and friends to stay at the Holiday Inn Continental in Lisboa - it felt like our home away from home. We thank each and every staff member for a job well done! Clifton Botelho

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyrachel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

The hospitality was not there, NO Airconditioning, with the story of it is OK, my fault because I had the window open, all other rooms are full, until 3 days later when the truth came out the units were broken and were being replaced but could not be fixed until after our 7 day stay. Front desk was rude, key would expire every day and seemed bothered when I wanted a new key - no help with resturants in the area. I was warned but did not listen. NEVER again would I stay at this place. Always every day had to ask for Towels and Iron. Not a friendly hotel. Stay away!!! they cater to travel groups and not individuals.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FRIBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed one night at this hotel and was satisfied. The staff were adequate but not overly friendly or helpful. Had a very bad experience at the attached restuarant and would NOT recommend it at all. Food was not that good (especially for the price of the meals) and service was very bad.

The location was ok. It was less than 10 Euros for a taxi from the airport and also from Sao Jorge Castle to the hotel. Relatively close walk to the Gulbenkian Museum (15 minutes), but otherwise there is not much else around.

Room was comfortable and clean. No street noise could be heard and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goalieman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience during your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accomodations and your comments are very important to us. Apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Sincerely, Alice Bancaleiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I have stayed at Holiday Inn(s) and related brands all over Europe and I would qualify most of my experiences as 5 star for the price of 4 (or 4 for 3 in Spain) but this hotel truly let me down. I will blame it on the season first. Then I'lll go on to say it: Christmas and New Year's can excuse a lot and explain even more but not when you're staying in half-booked (if that) hotels). What struck me most disagreeably was the total failure to comply with what website, brochure and personal enquiry by phone & m@il would have me believing. In order of minor to major annoyances:
a) Knowing Lisbon reasonably well this Hotel is indeed close (physically) to the airport but not 10 minutes from it since it's well hidden away in a side street to a side street to a secondary avenue. Half an hour by car or taxi or bus will be a more realistic view of distance in time...
b)There is a restaurant attached to the hotel. Within the same building. But not accessible directly from the rooms and not open for dinner on December, 24th/31st nor for lunch on Christmas Day & NY's Day. It is also very expensive and with a severely limited menu.
c)Unless you're on some kind of promotion deal breakfast is not included and at 15 euros(20 US$) per head I would have expected a wide range of choices not a limited buffet called American but feeling distinctively Continental.
d)Rooms are overheated in Winter, not particularly clean or supplied every day with the most baisic "toiletries" - and neither of that is to be soleved by calling reception or...
... e) room service. There was none to speak of in the 4 days above mentioned except for Christmas eve when there was a rudimentary (and rudely offered) room service from 8 am to 7 pm.
If you buy the nearness to the airport, resturant in the premises and transport to city center easily available do yourself a huge favour and stay at any of the dozen or so nearby(walking distance 10 minutes tops) hotels belonging to spanish, portuguese & french chains.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingVeidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your experience during your stay at Christmas. The feed back we receive from our valued guests, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We regret any inconvenience caused. Yours Sincerely. Alice Bancaleiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We stayed for 3 nights over the weekend. We saw the hotel but we could not figure out how to get to the front door to unload the lugguage even though we made 2 circuits around the hotel with the latest Garmin GPS map database.
We included breakfast with our booking but only the cold breakfast was ready at 7 AM and the hot dishes were not served until 7.40 AM

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nacnud88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Thank you for the information regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the feedback we reice and welcome ay ooportunity to improve. Sincerely, Alice Bancaleiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I recently stayed in this hotel for 6 days, traveling on Holiday from New York. My plane arrived early morning and although my room was not immediately ready, the front desk staff were pleasant and arranged easily for housekeeping to push it up the priority list. It was only a hint of the excellent pleasant service the front desk staff provided throughout the trip...particularly the two women who worked day time shifts. Whether it was help to find an elecrical socket converter for my computer, directions, suggestions, or any other routine question they were pleasant and as helpful as possible. I wanted to see the Benfica vs. Braga football match which apparently had been sold out, but one of young men who worked with them, went on line to try to find tickets and offered helpful suggestions. I managed to get tickets through informal means but, as one who teaches customer service, I was extra impressed that when I saw him next he asked "did you ever get to the match"?...clearly representative of the commitment to good service. The only bump in service was an issue with how one of the bartenders dealt with a bad glass of porto, but when explaining to the manager the next day the issue was handled smoothly and graciously and I was not charged for it.

The hotel itself is more than acceptable for this kind of a stay. Fairly close to the airport and only two metro stops from the center of the city. The rooms are nice sized and very clean. There was some struggle with getting the internet to work well, but again front desk staff helped and after a room change all went well. The metro system in Lisboa is superb, clean, efficient and very safe. Plenty of excellent restaurants all over Lisboa and surrounding areas, but you don't need to wander far from the hotel for some simple, proper Portuguese food. The O Quadrado Cafe just a block away will serve an excellent fresh cooked lunch and glass of wine for less than 5 Euros and there is a couple of more excellent places for dinner very close by.

I will be returning to Lisboa for a few days in September on the way to Cascais and I will definitely arrange to stay at this hotel again. The hotel is fine for this type of stay but the pleasant service would be the main reason to return, it was refreshingly "natural" (not the more formal cookie cutter stuff) and efficient. A nice taste of Lisboa hospitality
Frank Delano

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieDNewYork_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Dear Mr. Delano,
Thank you for your preference and your comments regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental.Alice Bancaleiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

very good convenience

Stayed: April 2007
Thank clington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 253 in Lisbon
1,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#113 of 253 in Lisbon
2,737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#97 of 253 in Lisbon
951 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#152 of 253 in Lisbon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental

Address: Rua Laura Alves 9, Lisbon 1069-169, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#97 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £56 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay close to central Lisbon when you choose the Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental hotel.A curvaceous high-rise building on a lively boulevard, the contemporary Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental is a 10-minute taxi ride from Lisbon Airport. We're just a minute's walk from Campo Pequeno metro station for direct subway trains to Lisbon city centre. Settle in and surf the web with wireless Internet in your smart Guest room.Have a productive stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental, with 9 modern meeting rooms for up to 200 people and a 24-hour Business Centre. We're close to the banking district, Instituto Superior Técnico engineering school, and major companies like Ernst and Young. Lisbon Congress Centre is a 15-minute metro ride away, and the hotel offers ample parking and easy access to the IP7 motorway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing