We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too dirty for four star rating”
Review of Neya Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Neya Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #98 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Single room review: Some sort of stain on the carpet, red wine or maybe coffee. Ought to be cleaned in a relatively new four star hotel I think. Daily cleaning not very thorough, left hair (that was not mine) clinging to toilet, crumbs on floor not removed for days. Ridiculous shower slants outward leaving floor soaked. No chair in room. Friendly staff though. Nice breakfast

Don't know about pool or spa, so I gave it average score

Room Tip: Dirty. Good breakfast. Friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

A newer, clean, efficient little hotel with an awesome (included) breakfast. Not a hotel to get really passionate about, but a comfortable stay at a fantastic price.
Pros: Great (included) breakfast buffet with a wide array of pastries, breads, cold cuts (including presunto), and cheeses (even cheese from the azores), scrambled and hardboiled eggs, a hot meat item, and a hot veggie item. 3 kinds of fresh cut fruit daily and fruit salad. Juices, coffee, tea. My favorite part about the hotel, if you can't tell. Decent sized bathroom with reasonable counter space and a shower with a door! Maid service was very detail-oriented, even folding up my power cord into a neat little bundle. Wi-fi worked great.
Cons: As is standard for these kinds of hotel chains in europe, rooms on the small side, and felt pretty soul-less . Location wasn't great--a half-mile walk up/down hills to either of the closest two metro stations, though there was a bus nearby that went down to the foot of the alfama near the military museum. Felt safe in the area, though.
All in all, the breakfast buffet was so good I'd consider staying again, but next time would probably try to stay closer to Baixa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Synne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I spent one week at Neya Lisboa Hotel in late September and I was very happy with my choice. It is a very good 4 star hotel, new (1 year old), very clean and I think it has a good location - true not the most beautiful one, but it is really close to Avenida da Liberdade (20 minutes walk).

The food is good, but do not expect the ”I am melting in your mouth” type of food. Breakfast...hmm, not so great in terms of variety. Also keep in mind that the restaurant is opened to public not just to hotel guests and is crowded at dinner.

The rooms are nicely decorated, we stayed in a twin room and it was big enough. The bathroom door is made of glass, but no reason to be shy:) ...besides it is a door which constantly reminds you that you are staying in a concept hotel and the concept is sustainability. Poor lighting for reading and no smoking in the room (there is a special area for smokers and I think it is on the 1st floor).

You can arrange for excursions at the reception - Sintra is a must! Lots of things to see in Lisboa: do not miss Belem. If you like museums, try Berardo (free entrance!). Go ahead and explore this city on foot or choose one of the many hop on - hop off bus tours. Be prepared for a perfect balance between the old and the new and for lots of pastelarias:)

It is a bit dirty, that is true, people tend to smoke a lot but nobody seems to be in charge with cleaning the sidewalks:) So it is not flawless but it is charming, it grows on you, one week is not enough ... and the music: I know it's only rock and roll but i like it:) ... and fado (I like it as well, but I did mention rock, right?)

The country is really beautiful, so green, I hope I will be able to return and visit it. Do consider choosing this hotel, it is not expensive and as I said before I had no major complain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex13c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in September 2012 after a conference whose venue was a resort 100 km far from Lisbon.

The hotel is 10-15 minutes far from two underground stations in Lisbon (Picoa station is more easily reachable unless you are a good hiker). The staff is very kind and attentive. I found the breakfast to be excellent. Appreciable the "green" concept of the hotel. Air conditioning of the room was easily tunable. Although a little bit dark, my single room was clean and big enough. Free (although not very fast) wifi connection. The temperature of the water of the shower was not very hot. When I complained about this with the concierge, he apologized by saying that there was a big group using the showers and consuming almost all the hot water. Actually, not a real excuse.

I payed 60 €/night and I think that the quality/price ratio is excellent. I would for sure come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pandit1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is an excellent 4 star hotel! With a great cost X benefits! It`s beautiful, the single room was just marvelous and the breakfast was from "The Goodness"!!! The staf is so attentious, that you feel you are special!
The only point that is not excelent is the distance until Marques de Pombal square, that`s the central point for the turists. It`s about fifteen minutes walking, in the light day its a good walk, but in the late night the best is to take a taxi, about 3,50 euros.
I recomend this hotel very much! Next year I`ll go back to Lisbon and will stay on Neya Lisboa for sure!!

Room Tip: 101 is a single room, if you are going single, you can stay there! The curtains make the room so dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlaviaNobreBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed at Neya Lisboa a whole week. Got a single room with a beautiful bathroom, shower was amazing; towels, sheets and matress perfect. Hotel is new. The room was every day inmaculate. Full breakfast included with a fantastic selection of fruits, pastries, drinks and cold cuts. Service was also perfect, people at the lobby very helpful, with a smile and always willing to help.
Location just perfect. Located in a neighborhood 10 minutes ride by metro, with all lines available. I recommend very much this hotel. Live portuguese life as a local; you should base here and then go to all cities for the day ( Sintra, Cascais, Evora, Obidos ). Then stay en Porto 3 days and do Coimbra. Neya Lisboa will make your vacation just unforgetable.

Room Tip: I had 301 single. No noise, back view, great sleep !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jose Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Overall, the Neya was a very nice hotel with a delightful staff.

First impressions:
Nicely designed lobby, friendly from desk staff. Have the full address written for the driver/cab, many had trouble finding the hotel. The contemporary design runs throughout the property.

The room:
I had a small, two room suite and it was excellent. A corner room with lots of light, separate living and sleeping, even a table with four chairs (very handy for an impromptu meeting I scheduled)

Comfort:
Very comfortable bed. You had to crank the AC to cool the room down and the lighting on the controls is poor; hence, hard to adjust. NOTE, your room key controls your electricity. When you're gone for the day, the room is quite warm when you return.

Bathroom:
Every mod-con there is. Great shower, bidet, good lighting, big mirror and nice towels.

On site food:
We had lovely breakfasts each morning and good lunches.

The location:
Quiet and night which also means not a lot going on. Restaurants are about 10-15 minute walk, as is the excellent subway system. It is easy to get around Lisbon but the streets can be a little confusing. It is part of the challenge and adventure of old cities.

There is good shopping within that walking distance and some night cafes and restaurants. Walking alone is not recommended at night, just a normal precaution these days.

All in all, a very nice experience for the business meeting. If you want to be in the middle of the tourist buzz, select closer to downtown. But if you don't mind a bit of a taxi ride, walk, or subway; it's fine.

Room Tip: Unless you're used to REALLY small rooms, stay away from the singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#37 of 255 in Lisbon
1,474 reviews
SANA Reno Hotel
#96 of 255 in Lisbon
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miraparque
#92 of 255 in Lisbon
1,510 reviews
Novotel Lisboa
#120 of 255 in Lisbon
2,861 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neya Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neya Lisboa Hotel

Address: Rua Dona Estefania, 71-77, Lisbon 1150-132, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £63 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neya Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neya Lisboa Hotel, a physical and mental retreat where every detail was thoroughly considered to provide you with a unique stay in harmony with nature. We are strategically located in the heart of Lisbon, but a good way from urban agitation. You will enjoy a carefully created atmosphere which will provide customers with a deep sense of calm and relaxation.The concept of Sustainability gains a new meaning with us, by implementing in all our activities strong policies of environmental and social responsibility. This combined with high-end gastronomy, personalized services, SPA and a Business Center make Neya Lisboa Hotel a haven for those wishing to have unconcerned tourist experiences or formal business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Neya Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing