We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good facilities but in need of room renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #127 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here recently for two nights as part of a site visit to Lisbon and it was a most enjoyable stay. The rooms are in need of an upgrade as they feel a little old fashioned both in terms of the bathroom and technology. I gather this is planned over the next year or two. The hotel was busy and this led to packed breakfast areas at busy times but they dealt with it well. The black mark is that the hotel continues to charge for room wifi although wifi is free in the lobby and bar area. The location is not central but this is not a problem as there were plenty of taxis waiting outside and these were very reasonable with most places in the city reachable in under 10 minutes and under 10 euros.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davido357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

This time I must forget my critical approach. Hotel is really nice, rooms comfortable with high speed wifi. Bed is supper and you can select between 6 different pillows. Breakfast also good quality, as one would wish in a 4 star hotel.We also tried the restaurant for a dinner: good food, nice wines at reasonable price. Unfortunately the pool is outdoor, not usable in cold weather. The only difficulty is the connection with the Congress center. As hotel is far away.... But at least taxi in Lisbon is cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level to enjoy view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

nice hotel not near from center but Lisbon is small city so taxies will not cost much.
Marriott Lisbon still live in early 80s, when we used to pay for internet services, and it costly if you think to pay for it.
breakfast was good and you can enjoy except if there a lot of hungry group which i found it common in this hotel.
over all nice clean hotel but dont think i will stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdulazizAlahaideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Chose Marriott because of star rating and 'usual' relatable quality. Hotel decor is good, but you can see its a little dated and in need of renovation with small signs ( bathrooms a little dated, at breakfast the insulated metal coffee carafes were missing there lids ( hinges still in place). I neglected to notice just how far this hotel is from the centre. It's true, you can get a cab to Rossio sq for 6 to 7 to 8 euros, depending on the traffic. There is a metro stop, we never found it, but it's apparently just 10 minutes walk away. We just shelled out for taxis, should have spent more on the hotel in a central location. Food at breakfast was plentiful, but in my opinion not the usual Marriott quality or choice, essentially run of the mill bacon, eggs, sausages, fried potatoes, some rather lame ham and cheese options and cartons of yogurt. Drinks at the lobby bar, 6.50 euros a beer. Nice nuts in an ashtray were 'free'. Food in the hotel restaurant is quite expensive. Never ate here apart from the breakfast. WORST thing was the high charge for room internet access..and the main reason for only one star rating ( I may have given 2 or 3) .....24 euros if you wanted unlimited access for the day..79 euros if you want access for a week. They had free access only in the lobby. That's why the lobby was always full of people on their iPads and iPhones ...maybe it was a trick to sell more drinks from the lobby bar? Rooms were nice and beds comfortable, but overall would not ever stay at this hotel again..and we loved Lisbon and will be back.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juanc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana G, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your honest feedback and wish to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are constantly working to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our customers so we really valuate your feedback because it will help us improve our service.


Hope to welcome you agin in the future


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This is a major negative as I was looking forward to having FREE access to internet. This is not a luxury but a necessity & I do not see why it should be extra. To access movies/internet it costs almost €20. This coupled with a charge of another €19 is just too much. Will not be back because of extras. Room was very comfortable. Asked for recommendation for restaurant & the ONLY restaurant that could be recommended was the Sacramento in entire city of Lisbon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ciaoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana G, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest


Thank you for your feedback in Trip Advisor. Unfortunately your stay did not went well because of the cost of the extras. Internet access is only free in the public areas, inside the rooms the is a charge.

Hope to welcome you again into Lisbon Marriott

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is close to the Jardim Zoological Institute but that was about the only place of interest nearby. Hedge on street island makes hotel very hard to find when driving. Needs more directional street signs. Very friendly and capable staff. Bedding at Marriott's usual high standard of quality but mattresses wearing out. Bath/Shower tub even more slippery than prevalent throughout Europe. This means it was clean, but some sort of roughness, removable rubber mat, or more handholds would help reduce slip and fall potential. Hotel restaurant reasonably good but nothing amazing - menu a bit cluttered and confusing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheplabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Old design, old client approach and out of date service. This is all written based on my personal experience after I gave up on trying to find good things in this hotel. What I did not like:
- old fashioned rooms with smell from 80th
- phone line with reception has noise like during World War II
- Wi-Fi is charged. Even for your money you can't make calls with Skype or Lync or ...
- Restaurant is charging double prices
- Staff is helpful but useless. Advises restaurants which are not good at all, have no clue how to connect to Wi-Fi
- location is horrible. Public transport is far-far away. Down-town is reachable is you like to run or by taxi (10 euros)

So if you don't want to see Lisbon and spend money - Welcome to Marriott

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vasiliy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana G, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest


Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback helps us to improve.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lisbon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
InterContinental Lisbon
#61 of 255 in Lisbon
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#138 of 255 in Lisbon
1,204 reviews
Novotel Lisboa
#119 of 255 in Lisbon
2,865 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Marriott Hotel

Address: Avenida dos Combatentes 45, Lisbon 1600-042, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#96 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £80 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the future of travel at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, your home away from home in the heart of Portugal's capital city. With renovated guest rooms and public areas in 2015, our hotel in Lisbon welcomes business and leisure guests with luxury accommodation and a prime location near Lisbon Airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lisbon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Lisbon
Lisbon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing