We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay in an Awesome City!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #123 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a gem. Great location & the staff is friendly & helpful. The air conditioning worked great as some European hotels do not. Hotel is short cab ride to town where all the beautiful sites are located. Would recommended highly.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in Lisbon for the Optimus Alive festival during the second week in July and had an enjoyable stay here. The room was very nice, with extremely comfortable beds. People seem to be complaining that it was far away from the city centre however it was only about 6-7 euros in a taxi which is extremely reasonable. I think it's worth it for the privilege of having an outside pool which you probably would not get closer to the city centre. The pool area was very nice, with towels provided and at busy times staff often brought extra sun loungers out. Breakfast was nice enough and never too busy. The bar was a little pricey so it's better to grab drinks from the 24 hour shop throughout the day. There were construction works going on while we were there which did seem to start too early however this didn't bother us too much as we were out most of the day. Overall though it was nice and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcweevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A nice environment and the hotel is nicely decorated if a bit old fashioned. The staff are great very helpful and knowledgable. The room was however damp and I had to ask for the bath to be cleaned.
Overall with a bit of tlc they could turn the hotel into a proper classy joint.

The kids loved it and enjoyed the swimming pool and the extensive grounds.
I read previous reviews about the restaurant, however I and the kids give it top marks and did not find the meals expensive, in fact we enjoyed it more than the other places we ate in.
Breakfast was also a great start to the day!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank VUVOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana G, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel

We are truly sorry that your stay with us was not totally satisfactory, mainly regarding the cleaning of the room, i will forward your comments to our housekeeping department so they are able to act on this matter more closely.

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My sister and I have just returned from a pleasant 9 day stay at this hotel. We liked the fact that it was away from the centre and found it quite easy to walk to the metro station at the zoo in the mornings. We also took advantage of the free open top bus pick up several times. We liked the traditional style of the hotel and our room was excellent - a good size, plenty of storage space , beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed. Staff were friendly and professional at all times. We found it very convenient having the 24 hour shop behind reception where you could purchase drinks and snacks.

The hotel is very busy, as it is popular with large tour groups, but the staff are very well organised, so we didn't have any issues. Our room was on the 9th floor and we couldn't hear the road with the balcony door closed. The hotel is on the flight path, but most of Lisbon seems to be and we did not find it disruptive.

As other reviews have mentioned, there is renovation work going on within the hotel, which seemed to start before 8:30am and finish at about 8 pm. They were obviously trying to work as quietly as possible and we were not too bothered by it, because we were out exploring all day. However, the drilling, banging etc were a little annoying when you returned tired after a long day of exploring and just wanted to relax. We were surprised that they had chosen to renovate during the summer months.

Despite this, the staff were doing their best to minimise disruption and we still enjoyed our time in Lisbon. We would happily stay here again once the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: High rooms facing the pool have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank M98025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff is so nice but the lounge is the worst marriottt lounge i have ever been in. 4 nights in a row the hot snack is fish. They run out of cold drinks half the time. The rest of the snacks are barely edible. No bottles of water to take back to your room.

The restaurant downstairs is very expensive and horrible food. My friend got a pasta dish that had more half cooked bacon than pasta in it. I got a grill steak that first came raw and the after I sent it back was the worst piece of beef I have ever tried to eat. The waiters are idiots, sorry.

The gym is pretty bad also, smells musty.

The swimming pool is great.

The good things are the 24 hour store you can buy drinks and snacks. Room service price includes all taxes and service charges so you know what it will cost. Maids are super friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank g4artyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana G, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your reviews on the Trip Advisor

I am trully sorry that you did't had a great experience during your stay with us, specially in the Executive Lounge, Restaurant and in the gym, i will forward your feedback accordingly, so situations like these do not happen in the future.

Hope to welcome you again in our hotel

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I had requested a quiet room when booking and was allocated one which overlooked a busy motorway. We requested a change of room and were accommodated no problem, got a nice room overlooking the pool area, very quiet. HOWEVER Monday morning came and along with it the drilling and the same every morning after that. We requested a change of room again and were accommodated happily by the staff who even comped our meal from the night before, which was proper order I thought. But unfortunately we were woken up again by the drilling this morning. It seems inescapable, granted it is not as bad but you still wake up to it. I have complained twice at this stage and have received apologies on both occasions from a very competent front of house manager but regrettably that does nothing for the pain in my head. I get one holiday a year and can't get a lie in. More annoying than this is I can't get an answer either. Why is there renovation work being carried out in high season, why wasn't it done in the winter AND why is it being done in the morning Why can't it be done during the daytime, the hotel seems relatively quiet during the day with most people out or at the pool. Originally I thought the work must have something to do with water or electricity, where there may be a reason for the timing but this isn't the case.
Again we requested a quiet room and should have been told about this work beforehand in an email or even at check- in. I haven't even seen a Sorry for the inconvenience sign.
It's a nice hotel, rooms are lovely, good staff, good breakfast, really nice BBQ fish in the evening and all would be perfect except this.
I have been told to expect it again tomorrow
Thanks for the heads-up

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank assimo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana G, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest


We would like to thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we received are the best tools that we have to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs.

We embarked on an exciting renovation project which will freshen up our Lobby and rooms, and provide a fresh and welcoming atmosphere merging contemporary design and comfort to all our guests.
Unfortunately you stay with us was inconvenienced by this which we are truly sorry about that situation.

We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed only one night in August of 2014. If you are driving, it's a bit difficult to find the entrance to the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable but old with no WIFI. Restaurant was way overpriced and the food was mediocre at best. The bar was nice but also overpriced, (one average Portuguese brandy-CRF and one small bottle of mineral water cost $12 euros). The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana G, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

The Lisbon Marriott Hotel is know for its hospitality and the quality we provide to all our guests, unfortunately you did not experience this, please accept our sincere apologies.

I will inform our F&B Manager about your feedback regarding the Restaurant & Bar prices.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Novotel Lisboa
#119 of 255 in Lisbon
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Lisbon
#59 of 255 in Lisbon
1,307 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 255 in Lisbon
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Marriott Hotel

Address: Avenida dos Combatentes 45, Lisbon 1600-042, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#92 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £77 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the future of travel at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, your home away from home in the heart of Portugal's capital city. With renovated guest rooms and public areas in 2015, our hotel in Lisbon welcomes business and leisure guests with luxury accommodation and a prime location near Lisbon Airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lisbon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Lisbon
Lisbon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing