We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an average Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #123 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 April 2010

First of all, if you're coming to Lisbon on anything other than business you might want to think twice about this hotel. For the business traveler it's fine but for a tourist be prepared to have to hoof it into town (cheap cabs, granted--about 7 Euros to get into town) every time you want to do something. This is because it is in an isolated location, with nothing around which is walking distance. You want a snack, bottled water, glass of wine? Be prepared to eat in the hotel or pay for a cab ride.

With that said, it's a perfectly acceptable hotel. Not the best Marriott I've stayed in, and not the worst. Rooms are generous; bathrooms outdated. Executive lounge positively NOT worth it--and they'll try to upsell you when you come to the front desk. Front desk is fairly efficient and the service is very friendly.

The restaurant, however, whether for breakfast, lunch,dinner, or snack is incredibly slow and borderline apathetic service. There's almost an arrogance, actually, which really surprises me given the fact that the restaurant is OK, but not outstanding.

Breakfast is a "value" at 16 Euros (I haven't seen less than 24 Euros anywhere around Western Europe) and there are decent things on the buffet.

The fitness room is less than one would expect. There are 2 stationary bikes, two treadmills, and one eliptical machine that does not work. There is a set of free weights and free water. These machines have been put into a meeting room, incredulously, and there is not even a full size mirror or any TV. Decent outdoor swimming pool

All in all, the hotel is very inexpensive and if you don't mind hoofing back and forth to the hotel and if you want to earn your Marriott points you could do worse. But you could do loads better, too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EUtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed here during a conference and I was totally satisfied with the hotel, the rooms are of good size and very tidy, you can expect the usual Marriot-standard. The city center is quite far indeed, you always have to take a taxi, but the taxi prices are quite low compared with other European cities (if I remember well it was never more than 10 Euro of so/one way). The breakfast was nice, I did not eat more in the hotel except for a gala dinner where the food was OK. For business reasons I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you are more curious of the city itself, I would look for a hotel closer to the city center, as Lisbon is a gorgeous city and it is a pleasure to walk around here in the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lallil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Staying at the Marriott with my family was a pleasant upgrade from the European hostels I generally book when travelling alone. This hotel was like any other Marriott back in the States. The quality standard was certainly what we come to expect as Americans, so most people will not be disappointed from that aspect. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on in a long time and the bathroom had all of the usual amenities. The room itself was spotless and thoroughly cleaned every day. The only complaint I have is the location. The hotel is basically halfway between the airport and the city center with the closest metro station being a 15 min walk, according to the concierge. On the brightside though, a taxi to both the airport and city center took about 10 mins and 8 euro. So depending on how many are in your group it would be cheaper per person than the Metro anyways. It was a drawback however, if we wanted to come back to the hotel in the day to relax before heading back out for dinner. The hotel staff was decently helpful, the concierge desk was useful. Although we were misinformed regarding the opening times of the Palace at Sintra, but it was also Easter weekend, so perhaps they overlooked that things may be closed. We also had drinks in the lobby bar, which were outrageously expensive, and did not bother with breakfast, again because of the price. But I think this is to be expected from a Marriott, Hilton, or any other major brand. In terms of the room price, we were able to take advantage of a promotion that gave us the third night free, making the stay an absolute bargain. Overall the Marriott provided us with a clean, comfortable and affordable stay in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketsfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

all you expect from a four stars hotelis in the MARRIOTT.
the only negative point is that is is at least 10 minutes awy from historical part of town, but taxis are fairly cheap.
NUNO is a great and helpfull concierge.
we also stayed there in August and it's one of the very few hotels in Lisbon with a outside pool and garden.
EXCELLENT and huge buffet breakfast.
Food in the restaurant is good but nothing original.
Rooms are comfortable., but could be a bit larger

Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank clefdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

All round good business hotel. Excellent rooms, good facilities. Internet access is rather expensive which is my only real gripe. The location is easy to get to from the airport, but is a way out of the centre and there is nothing in the way of restuarants or shops near the hotel,.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurciaViajeBien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Far from city centre, far from metro, you`ll need a taxi to go arround. I thought Marriott should have some SOPs- but it looked like they did not. Even the cleaning service was differrent every day. We had a business meeting there, had a power outage and nobody was able to fix it. Breakfast mediocre, hot plates at buffet-lunch were not hot at all. Only good point- reception staff. Overall- incredible bad experience for a Marriott

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouCaRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Yes..the hotel is not centrally located to the city center..but taxis are available around the clock to take a 15 minute ride in to the town..Traffic can be busy during rush hours...but this is not a problem since Lizbon is blessed to be close to the Tagus river and the ocean..It is worth to visit....The room was spacious with all the modern amenities. Breakfast buffet was fantastic..I can not say the same thing about the breakfast service..However service is improved with dinner time..Would go back to stay there again...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
0.7 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#117 of 255 in Lisbon
2,802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Lisbon
InterContinental Lisbon
#58 of 255 in Lisbon
1,297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#137 of 255 in Lisbon
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Marriott Hotel

Address: Avenida dos Combatentes 45, Lisbon 1600-042, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#93 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £75 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the future of travel at Lisbon Marriott Hotel, your home away from home in the heart of Portugal's capital city. With renovated guest rooms and public areas in 2015, our hotel in Lisbon welcomes business and leisure guests with luxury accommodation and a prime location near Lisbon Airport and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lisbon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Lisbon
Lisbon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing