We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hotel Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa
Ranked #82 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A bit late posting this (!) but I did have an extra-special stay at Lisboa, which is in an absolutely great location near to metro and bus stops but a really pleasant walk into the town centre and waterfront. Although I booked a 'single' room, I was lucky enough to get a huge room on the 6th floor, with its own massive sun terrace which was greatly enjoyed by the rest of my party after sightseeing and meals out. The atmosphere in the bar is a bit lacking of an evening but the drinks were good and breakfast was excellent - very varied with good coffee.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank LondonLass32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lisboa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just back from a 6 day stay in this very friendly hotel. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and polite. Ricardo was particularly helpful, especially when we wanted to do some rather late shopping the evening before we left; he suggested Colombo (a 20 minute metro journey from Avenida and open until 12.00). It is the largest and most attractive shopping centre I have ever visited, there was even a small exhibition of oriental art. The third floor had plenty of restaurants with local food apart from the usual fast food junk. The previous days we had done all the tourist spots in town for which the hotel is ideally located. Metro, buses, trams and overland trains in easy walking distance. And in Lisbon that is a great advantage, it is very hilly and while we were there it was hot. The train to Sintra (not to be missed) is only 2.50 Euros and much more fun going on your own than taking a guided tour. There are buses from the station up into town and then on to the Pena Palace which is very high up. Don't miss too a Fado performance (ask Ricardo for help with this too). The breakfast at the hotel was excellent and once I had explained that I liked my coffee piping hot I was supplied with a steaming cup from the kitchen each morning. You can even ask for a pot of tea rather than from the flasks.The hotel has free internet in the small lounge where I was able to check my emails each morning and we could check in to flights for our return. I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 18MaryK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Six of us (3 couples ) stayed here for three nights last week. The hotel has a good location just off Av. de. Liberdade only five minutes walk from the Aerobus 1 stop. We had what we supposed were standard rooms but they were more than adequate. Beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean. Some may say they were a little on the small side, but they were fine for our short stay.

Hotel staff we found to be very pleasant and efficient, always willing to speak English but appreciating our faltering attempts at Portugese. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice of hot and cold. (note to hotel - bacon could do with being a bit cispier). A free welcomer drink in the bar on arrival is a nice touch.

Location was fine for us as it was handy for the bus stops and the metro, although more often than not we chose to walk. It is a bit of a hike to the Bairro Alto and the castle and some of the hills are real 'killers' in 30 degree heat, but it's a good excuse to stop for a drink !

The hotel is in quite a busy traffice area and some may complain about the noise, but after a full day walking up and down Lisbon's hills in 30 degree heat we didn't have much problem sleeping even with the window open, although the rooms have air conditioning. NB. Close the net curtails unless you want the employees of the BBV bank across the road to get an 'eyefull'

All of us agreed the hotel was a good choice and we would stay there again if visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WakefieldWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here one night on our return trip from Porto. Booked 2 rooms online. Arrived early and they were not able to give us our rooms, but offered to store our bags with no issues. We went for lunch and the rooms were available on schedule. Good, clean, friendly, modern. Location was fabulous. We did not have time to sample the restaurant, nor the spa. Early checkout was without issue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in early September.

Flew into Lisbon and caught the aerobus route 1 which covers most of the hotels in Lisbon city centre. You get off at Avenida for this hotel and then cross the road to the Luis Vuiton shop, head uphill and turn left at the traffic lights where the new Armani store is. The Lisboa is just down the hill on your left. Cost is 3.50 euro per person and see further in the review for an alternative.

Reception area is very small but very modern and is always staffed. I asked for an upgrade before we arrived and was very surprised to be allocated a suite or executive room. Thanks to the Hotel for this, it really was appreciated. The room (206) is modern in design and well appointed and the bathroom was also similarly modern. The minibar was large enough to use of you wanted to buy tour own drinks.Don't expect fantastic views - we were on a corner and looked out over a busy street (which got very busy at rush hour) and across upper Lisbon.

Make sure you use your free welcome drink in the bar which is called Chutneys and is on floor -1. We also ate here and the food was Ok but the service was a little slower than I expected.

Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice and fresh bread, fruit etc. There was cooked eggs, small sausages and bacon but we didn't try this as it didn't look all that appetising.

The only downside, and it is minor, were the towels and pillows. The towels definitely need replacing for better quality as they were very thin and not what I would expect of a 4 star hotel. Although the hotel offers a selection of pillows in its room info, when we asked there wasn't actually any! The pillows were very soft, which is fine if you want no more than a tissue's width between you and the sheet.

There is a supermarket just over the road called mini preco which has everything you would need including litre bottles of Superbok for 1.49 euro. We bought some water as well but I was more impressed by the beer!

Buy the Lisboa travel card for whatever period you want. We bought it for 72 hours and saved over £30 by using it for all travel and entry into museums etc.

Best destination - Cascais, beautiful coastal village and very easy to get to on the train from Cais Do Sodre. We went for the afternoon and evening and had a fantastic meal at Casa Velha (best of our trip).

Sintra is also worthy of mention. Get the metro to Rossio station (it looks impressive and has a starbucks attached you get off at Restauradores) and get on one of many trains to Sintra. They run every 15 minutes from memory. If you have a Lisboa card the train ride is free. Once in Sintra catch the tourist bus 454 which does the loop of all the major palaces. The Lisboa transport card doesn't cover this bus and its 5 euro a ticket. We actually walked to the centre of Sintra and then caught the bus up the hill.

Other than that go to the castle (catch the number 12 tram from Figueroas square), Belem tower and Jeronimos monastery. We caught a tram just outside the main square down at the sea front (Prace de Comercio) for the tower and monastery.

Eating out was a bit hit and miss and be prepared to run the gauntlet of restauranteurs trying to get you to eat at their place.

Check out was fine and having missed an aerobus were approached by a taxi driver who offered to take us to the airport for 7 euro. We would have spent 14 euro on the bus so well worth it and we were there far quicker.

There were a lot of street beggars so be prepared for this.

I'd recommend the Hotel for its location and value.

Room Tip: Try and get an executive room - there is one on each floor I think.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights and it was an amazing experience. Very clean,comfortable and welcoming. We were given free complimentary drinks on arrival. Room was very nice with mint chocolate on our bed. Staff was were polite and helpful. Internet was available in the lounge. With cool lemon water. Staff at the reception were very co operative and helped us print our online check in for flight as well.
Breakfast was very nice. Staff at the breakfast was very nice as well.
In short brilliant, excellent, amazing and very relaxing!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I recently stayed at Lisboa Hotel on my first trip to explore Lisbon (on holiday). Immediately, my friend and I found that it was conveniently located to the airport, trains, and downtown sights. While it was not in a "hub" of activity (which we sometimes regretted), it was a very enjoyable, short walk from things which also allowed it to be quiet. The staff was very friendly (helped me book a great day trip to Fatima and advised on sightseeing and directions), breakfast was really great (much more extensive than expected) and the standard room was small but well appointed (including comfortable beds). The only things that would have made it a little better would be a bit more space for my friend and I in the room, and at times we would have preferred to be closer to the restaurants and activities (i.e. Rossio or Bairro Alto) .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#46 of 254 in Lisbon
1,420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Portugal
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 254 in Lisbon
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Marques De Pombal Hotel
#44 of 254 in Lisbon
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.2 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#23 of 254 in Lisbon
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
#147 of 254 in Lisbon
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa

Address: Rua Barata Salgueiro 5, Lisbon 1169-066, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#55 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#67 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £63 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing