We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room that time forgot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Ranked #107 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The room that time forgot.”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I traveled to Lisbon for his conference and have been aching to go home from the moment we stepped foot into our hotel room. We arrived on Continental's 8:30am flight (which, by the way, if you can avoid coming in so early, I recommend it! No one wants to wait until noon with their bags to go explore the city while extremely jet lagged). Our room was not ready, but the lady at the front desk made a couple of calls and got us into a room within 20 minutes. My first impression was influenced with extreme gratitude as we were both incredibly tired.

We stepped into the room and back into 1991, apparently. Don't let the photos on the website give you the wrong idea - if you booked at this hotel for a discounted rate, they will stick you in the pink, flowery rooms with the bathrooms that have mold. The beds are your generic $99 springs-with-no-padding specials. I had my husband flip the mattress up and uncover it to check for bed bugs - I did not trust this place to not be infested with insects.

Our biggest issue has been starving in the morning! We had not been told at the time of check in that we had breakfast included in the rate (the hotel was booked through a different party). We finally muster the energy on the last day in the city to go forage for some breakfast and we find out that we could have been enjoying the morning buffet each day. (The buffet isn't bad, I expected worse from Tivoli). For three days we have been snacking upon one or two things in the mini bar, spending 3.50E on this and that. Upon finding out that we have been utterly wasting our precious dollars, I decided to talk a walk to the front desk and ask them about the confusion. I asked them to consider comping us for about 15E worth of food we had to forage on this past week. We were greeted by a manager who, obviously, had better things to do than deal with us. He came out to tell us that it was our responsibility to have checked and he would not refund anything. Not even one day's worth of buffets, which would have been 20E. I thanked him and told him that I would be spreading the word about Tivoli and my experiences.

There is a reason that this hotel is only ranked #64 for the city of Lisbon. We had no choice as to the hotel to stay at, but if we were ever to return we would most certainly, absolutely, without a doubt choose another hotel!

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin and the maids LOVE making a huge racket in the mornings. There is no such t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frankie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    1,677
    647
    164
    59
See reviews for
834
652
173
1,628
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I recently stayed one night at the Lisbon Tivoli Oriente and were very disappointed with for several reasons: Starting with the individual at reception who checked us in to a room that had not been prepared or cleaned - dirty linens, unmade bed etc. This could have been a mistake on his part, but the initial brusk, uncommunicative and indifferent attitude shown when we checked in initially was shown to be a consistent behavior when we returned to the lobby to complain about the room. The receptionist failed to even mumble an apology, took our room cards and left for almost 15 min. On returning, the receptionist without speaking thrust two reprogrammed cards into our hands. The new room did have the original requested single bed, but also a cot made up for a third person, which was never removed and inconveniently occupied a significant amount of the limited floor space. The newly assigned room had a foul, musty odor on entering, that could only be masked by running the air conditioner for an hour since the windows could not be opened. The bath had no functional exhaust and there was no way to easily leave the door to the bath open so that it could be ventilated. The floor of the shower stall was damaged in two spots, which created an uneven rough surface in spots. The heavy swinging doors had no stops installed, so they were a hazard when they swung free. My wife and I did not return to the lobby to request another room as we were extremely tired from a day of traveling and just wished to clean up and get some sleep before flying out early the next day. Our stay did not communicate either quality or an "experience more" type of memory that the hotel wishes to project.

We traveled with friends and their room on a higher floor was similar to ours in terms of age, inadequate ventilation and cleanliness.

In summary - some staff were not helpful, the rooms poorly cared for and inadequately ventilated.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. The hotel is a short taxi ride to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guillermo425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is excellent. We stayed there at the beginning of August.
The hotel is in the Parque das Nacoes area, which is far from downtown Lisbon, but it must be the best located hotel for transportation. The Gare de Oriente is right across the street (with trains to Porto, and other places, a metro station, etc.), the Vasco da Gama shopping centre is also across the street, and all the attractions in the Parque das Nacoes (the Oceanarium, etc.) are just a short walk.
The hotel itself is very nice. Our room was very comfortable, very quiet, and had great views. The personal was very attentive and breakfast was good.
I cannot fault this hotel with anything. We had a great time during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El_Josu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Spending our last night in Portugal at Tivoli Oriente was a bit disapointing. Judging by the modern, well decorated lobby we thought the room would somehow be around the same level but boy were we wrong.. the rooms are very outdated and the bathroom...well, the bathtub not only was dirty but also very old and stained, not enough towels, shower curtain rod broken...
Anyways, we had dinner at Hippopotemus Restaurant (by the lobby): the food was really good and very affordable but unfortunately my fiance forgot his Iphone on top of the table. when we realized 1hr later they told us that the waiter that took care of us was changing to go home and he didn't have anything. We insisted to file a written complaint but the manager said unfortunately there's was nothing they could do. In my opinion they didn't do enough. Had they cared they would have searched the waiter or smth because they phone had to be somewhere right?
Wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justme321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel is a little bit far away from the city centre, but the location is worth it: the surroundings look safe with its modern architecture, clean streets and loads of restaurants, shops and a very nice embankment to take a pleasant evening walk. As for the hotel itself, it’s well furnished and spotless, the staff is friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant is delicious and the breakfast is various and sundry. The only thing that wasn’t so great was the view of railways from the window of the room I stayed in, but it didn’t matter at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the window that isn't facing onto railways
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaGuerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We based ourselves in the Tivioli Oriente for 4 days and found it an excellent location. it was a 2 min walk to the metro and a very cheap way to get around and see the city. the 24 hour metro pass was about €4.75. The breakfast was included and would have no complaints with was on offer each morming. We found the staff very helpful. We had joining rooms and with teenagers the 2 bathrooms played a big part in parent /teenager harmony. Lisbon was excellent value as far as city breaks go and the hotel was only 10min from the airport and a 2 min walk from the expo park and shopping centre. Although it did not bother us, we sleep like logs, ask for a room not overlooking the railway station, weekdays they kick off early in the morning if your a lite sleeper you may not be happy.

Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_Five_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Overall -- this hotel is Fantastic. Travelling with our family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 6,3) we stayed in a Suite. It was extremely comfortable in all aspects -- clean, new feel, good room service, fun indoor pool, superb view of the river. Great location, as hotel is surrounded with restaurants, beautiful parks, etc. The only downside we left our wireless mouse in our room, and called just a couple hours later -- but of course it was not found.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLVAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#87 of 248 in Lisbon
880 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#117 of 248 in Lisbon
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Oriente Hotel

Property: Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II 27 | Parque Das Nacoes, Lisbon 1990-079, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#84 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#88 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning view out over the river and Parque das Nacoes (former Expo site), this 4-star Lisbon hotel reflects the energy, technology, art and friendliness of Lisbon today. Excellent for business meetings or weekend breaks, the Tivoli Oriente can be easily reached from any part of the city or further away by using the Gare do Oriente train station, and it is 5 minutes from Lisbon airport. Take time out to enjoy the magnificent features of this stunning Parque das Nacoes hotel, close to MEO Arena, including the indoor swimming pool and the welcoming Tivoli Caffe Oriente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Oriente Lisbon
Hotel Tivoli Oriente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing