We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and tasty fresh food”
Review of Frade dos Mares

Frade dos Mares
Reserve with
Frade dos Mares is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 4,099 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Delightfull, savoring proposals of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes in a welcoming, peaceful atmosphere.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and tasty fresh food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Small restaurant but with a modern touch. The service was excellent and the food was very good. We ate shrimps as starters and the main dish was fish baked on salt. I can tell it was all very fresh and extremely tasty. I'll come back when in Lisboa again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W2300PSPAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,445
    388
    91
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“5* service, 4* food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Small, pretty restaurant with some of the best service I have ever encountered: knowledgeable, competent, cheerful and sincere. The advice given by staff was great and the wine chosen for us similarly so and incredibly reasonably priced.

Food was also good. Starter of shrimps was gorgeous. They were fresh and crunchy. Main of codfish was also enjoyable. We opted for an assiette of desserts which was less delicious but still not bad at all.

Would definitely visit again. A real pleasure.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rzeczpospolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, enthusiastic staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a great evening meal at Frade dos Mares on 28/7/2014 (a Tuesday night). The decor and setting of the restaurant are comforatble and stylish with a creative touch to make you feel as though you are under the water. Very clever effect, and not "over the top".

The seafood is by far the stongest part of their menu with excellent selection of local produce. The meat selection is a little less interesting, but I am sure the steak will be well prepared. Be warned that on Tuesday the seafood selection is smaller than n other days due to the closure of the fish market that day (I think that is what was meant).

The wine list is a good selection of Portugese wines from most regions ranging from €8 a €30 per bottle! Certainly great value and the waiter's knowledge and advice on the wines were very good.

The service is very efficient and friendly. Everyone seemed to enjoy working there and it shows in the food and the atmosphere. My only critisism is that it was a little too efficient. If you want to have a "slow food" dinner be sure to ask when you order. Otherwise the dishes come out very quickly.

And judging by the number of people there on a Tuesday (closed Monday) I would certainly think a reservation is required.

I will be coming back next time in Lisbon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff + amazing food + cheap but good wine”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The food was really tasty and for high end restaurants unusual, the portion was really big.
I would recommend the fish backed in salt or the octopus.

The wine card is extensive and the prices are fair.

We tried 3 times without success to reserve a table in the afternoon for the same day evening. Worked out the 4th time, probably makes sense to call a day in advance or maybe early morning.

The staff was very helpful in both selecting the dish and the fitting wine.

If I would need to name one negative thing, it would be that it took slightly longer to get the bill (10-15 min).

When I am in Lisbon again, I will definitely visit it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“delicious seafood and fantastic service & ambience”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lisbon is fantastic and this was our first dinner. What a great place, loads of charm, a really interesting menu and beautiful wine. The service was attentive and personal. We ate the octopus stew, lots of fresh bread and a dessert sampler. We could not have been happier with out first night in this beautiful city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frade dos Mares also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Frade dos Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing