We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Lisbon
Ranked #50 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
herts, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We came for a three night stay over Easter weekend. We requested two adjoining rooms, and were given that and more - the two rooms were at the end of the corridor with a common key activated door, inside which was a mini hall to the two rooms which meant in effect we had a suite.

Rooms were sizeable, clean, and well equipped - including a desk and chair, and comfy chairs.
The bar was welcoming for a light meal or just a drink. We had one breakfast, the only complaint was it not being clear that some cold food was (unusually) not included in the continental breakfast - however they did offer to refund the cost of the 'full' breakfast which was very fair. Breakfast was not the cheapest but not outrageous.

The bar and reception staff were all helpful and friendly. Wifi was available in the rooms and offered a good signal. The mini gym had quite a few machines.

Location is good , 5 minutes down through to the park to the metro or a decent walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShedUpperMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,451
    820
    161
    49
    31
See reviews for
388
1,183
110
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I chose the hotel based on reviews here and I was not disappointed. Service was good, my room was large with a wonderful view over the park and the city. Breakfast is not cheap but the same price as in other 5-star hotels and it is great: diversity of food and very good quality.

There are a couple of things I found a bit tacky for this type of hotel: terrible music in the lifts (it makes you feel you are shopping in a supermarket) and old fashioned watercolors hanging on the walls like in a cheap hotel. It is also pity that there is no spa or swimming pool like in many 5-star hotels in Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Well located - we were on 12th floor overlooking the city. Hotel is near Marques de Pombal Place - the hop on hop off tour starts here so it's a good starting point if sightseeing. It's 7 mins walk to a metro stop (metro very easy to navigate in Lisbon). If really up to it it's a gentle stroll down Ave. Liberdade - the central boulevard with many designer shops.
Hotel is v clean, tidy and well presented. Rooms are comfortable - all you'll need in them. Food/ breakfast was also very good - buffet breakfast was included in our rate. Check in and out was efficient. Taxi from hotel to airport took c. 10mins at a cost of c.€8 (ripped off to the tune of €17 by taxi man on way from Airport so be careful! Not the hotel's fault obviously I should say).
Some other review has rated this 'terrible' because the hotel is on a hill!! Hello? Lisbon is on 7 hills and is notorious for it's hills. Yes there is a hill but it's nothing to anyone reasonably fit/able bodied. Don't think it was fair to rate it terrible because of the adjacent geographical features.
Downsides? One or two but they should not come as a surprise. It's holding itself out as 5 star hotel so the bar is expensive. Perhaps stupidly so however. Two gin and tonics (yes the same ones that cost c. €6 each in Dublin) set us back a whopping €32!! There's having high prices to retain an exclusive air and there's good ol' naked price gouging. Unfortunately this falls into the latter category. Then again you don't have to drink there. The breakfast also seemed dear. It was included in our rate but if paying for it separately I would have felt ripped off. Either include it in your rate or head down town to breakfast. Lastly, I imagine you would get a hotel with a swimming pool for a similar price; this hotel has no pool.
Personally I'd grade it a 4 star.
All in all a hotel I would recommend. Not for those on a tight budget but still a good central clean hotel. I agree fully with the previous review written by 'severus'.

Room Tip: Ask for high up and facing the park, otherwise you'll be facing concrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJoshuaTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just had a four night stay at this wonderful hotel. Location is ok when walking down to central Lisbon but you need to be fit for the walk back. Walked up during day but got taxis back in the evening. At only four euros from town it was a no brainer. It is a shame there is no pool as it would have been nice to cool down but did not mar our holiday. Don't be tempted by the mini bar though, a coke was 8.50 and a half pack of pringles also 8.50. Can't see the justification for that, maybe it's a joke. We were only room only which was great as there were so many wonderful places to eat in Lisbon and all at a very reasonable price. Would I stay again. Yes, while I was still fit enough to walk back up to the hotel. Oh, just thought of something else, there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room which was a pity as that would have been nice. Apart from that, lovely hotel and Lisbon is a fantastic place to visit for a city break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

First stay in Lisbon and this hotel made it perfect, 15 mins from the airport by taxi. It is not located in central Lisbon (only a short walk or metro ride away though) but it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. We were given an executive river view room on the 14th floor, amazing views of the city, river and park oppisite.

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, rooms were beautiful, spacious and comfortable, big bathroom and a choice of English TV channels. We didn't have breakfast as it was overally priced at 23euros pp, had dinner one night, a set menu of salad, steak, chips, dessert and a drink, surprisingly low price of 22euros and it was very good. Staff very helpful for recommendations on where to eat and how to get around.

Great place to explore, easy to walk around or even get a public transport card for 5euros to use all day. On Sunday many places are closed and we faced difficulty in buying a train ticket to Sintra as the machine was only accepting coins, no cards or notes and no information point to give you change so we had to ask shops who were reluctant as low change, so may be an idea to keep some change. Luckily after half an hour of going shop to shop we were successful. Taxis are supposed to be cheap but we found there are a mixture of honest drivers and many that charge you more than they should, the same journey always cost a different price and upto 7 euros difference we found and the furtherst we probably travelled was 15 mins. We were lazy but everything is accessible by foot or public transport.

Chiado and the gelato place def worth a visit. We travelled to Adgara beach, train to Sintra and then 15 min taxi ride, really worth going to, quiet clean secluded beach with great views and an awesome restaurant.

Would recommend this hotel, great location, service and room quality. Great structure and architect, the view from the park oppisite is great too. It was a special occasion for us and the hotel sent us a bottle of champagne, strawberries with chocolate and a selection of desserts, this was a great touch and made the stay more memorable and personal.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Classy_Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
118 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

You can tell this is a swish hotel as soon as you walk into the large and shiny foyer. Large reception desk, well-staffed, means you are dealt with very quickly. Plenty of lifts to whisk you away to your room. The rooms are large and well-appointed if a little ‘dull’ (cream/fawn/brown in décor) but It would have been nice to have a larger bed (most of the rooms only have what felt like ‘smallish’ queen size beds) as there was plenty of room to accommodate one. Although the hotel faces a ‘park’ few will have decent views – ours looked inwards to lots of concrete! It would also have been nice to have had a better selection of t.v. channels in English – limited mostly to CNN, Sky news and BBC world which you can get in any three star hotel throughout Europe let alone a five star in a capital. Good, free, wifi service everywhere.

For a five star hotel there is rather a lack of facilities –no pool or spa for example. It’s also very expensive for what you get. Although we stayed as a part of a tour, room prices seemed very high. The mini bar in the room was well stocked but expensive even by hotel standards.

The hotel is well positioned – near a metro and a bus route (pay on the bus) into the centre, which is around a 20 minute walk away. To be honest, however, taxi’s are best and relatively cheap - we only paid 5 euros to get into the heart of Lisbon – buses are €1.75 each. There is a taxi rank right outside the hotel. A taxi from the airport – with bags, was only €10. The hotel staff was really helpful with directions etc. There are quite a number of (much cheaper) restaurants very close by (ask the staff) if you don’t fancy travelling into the city or eating in the hotels two restaurants. We didn’t eat in the hotel but heard good comments. Breakfasts were very good, although as the hotel was very full it appeared quite crowded and we had to wait quite a while to be seated one morning (we stayed three nights). Also very expensive if not included in your room rate.

In summary a really good hotel, well positioned, business like, but not what we would have called a great five star experience for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is my second stay at the beautiful Tiara Park Atalantico. The hotel is very modern, the staff top notch and the rooms and bathrooms, are well-appointed, clean, spacious and comfortable. HOWEVER, skip the breakfast buffet, For 23 Euros , we found it a very ordinary. In a country where oranges are everywhere and sell for .39 Euro-cents in the market, they could have offered fresh squeezed. Also it would have been great if they had some of the terrific regional Portuguese cheeses. The food was just okay, but certainly not worth 23 Euros. It appeared as if they scaled it down in quality and selection to cater to people who do not like the wonderful Portuguese cuisine. The hotel could and should do much better

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mambosalome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Liberdade
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lisbon

Property: InterContinental Lisbon
Address: Rua Castilho, 149, Lisbon 1099-034, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Eduardo VII Park, Marques de Pombal Square and the luxurious Avenida da Liberdade, InterContinental Lisbon sits at the heart of Lisbon society. With discreet refinement, contemporary design and expansive views of the Tagus river, this stylish new addition is the ultimate choice for experiencing Lisbon. Experience Portuguese heritage from the cosmopolitan flavours at L'Appart restaurant to the exemplary service of our concierge team, who will help you bring insider Lisbon to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing