We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Ranked #214 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be quiet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel as it was central to pretty much everything and although the hotel understood it was a stag party booking they booked us in. However, on departure the receptionist stated that due to the volume of one room on one night they were demanding we pay 500 euros as a party (not with us) had refused to pay. We were not given the option and could not dispute it we were merely told "pay now or, we have your credit card details, we will just take it anyway". Avoid this hotel at all costs, as it may cost you more than you bargained for!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    119
    108
    46
    28
See reviews for
81
115
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have to say that the location is great if you arrive by plane (20 minutes in bus), and apparently seems to be a really good hotel however it is not. The recepcionist were ok, not excellent. One of them didn't know any place to have lunch near the hotel. The room seems to be clean however the beds were not comfortable at all, the tv had just 5 channels and sometimes it didn't work, the bathroom was terrible, the water was going out everywhere and the shower was very old so that the water remains stagnant while you were using it (very difficult to get a shower there and the most important you lose a lot of time). The breakfast is bufet (the cafeteria was beside the hotel) but the people who administrate that cafeteria was always looking at you whenever you take anything it seems like they were controlling what you were eating (not comfortable at all).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just stayed in this hotel which although fairly basic provides very good value accommodation for stay in Lisbon. Rooms are very clean and tidy, and reception service was friendly and helpful. Most positive features are ease of access from airport (buses 22 and 705 provide more or less door to door service for only Euro 1.75) and access around Lisbon from adjacent Metro station and range of bus services within yards of Hotel. Shops and restaurants are also available in immediate vicinity. Location should be further improved upon completion of improvements to access to Metro station at entrance to Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

we stayed 3nights here, in a triple room with breakfast. the room is clean and big enough for three persons. the bathroom is also clean and well equiped (except that in our room there were no hairdryer). the breakfast is served in the coffee shop right next the hotel's door.the food was enough for everybody and good.
you can easily reach the city centre by foot, in 20-30minutes.
unfortunately, just in front of the hotel, the metro station is being repaired,and so the view is not quite nice.we have leave the room in the morning so we didn't heard any noise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
450 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

After many experience- all hotel categories over the world- we can recomand this hotel .
Check-in: good service, (arrive 7:30 p.m.), all information they had in hotel system.
Little problem with reservation and another couple the same problem ,they must be overbooked we think!
Breakfast: typical hotel bufet menu, ham, cheese,fruits,vegetables, local cheeses , bread/rolls, mussli, sweet cakes,coffee,tea, juice etc. They havent baby chair for our 2 old year son.
Room: good quality, but small room.
Check-out:very quickly, lady at reception has a sharp invoice, no problem pamyent via card.
The opposite of the square is subway station, 12-15 min to center, really nice! Directly near subway exit is small restaurant, open late evening, local food, very cheap and really good quality!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kroulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, Brazil
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were on a group and stayed in 3 diferents bedrooms. The first one, located on the 2nd floor was great! a/c, minibar and nice bathroom. But the other two rooms weren't. Both on the 1st floor, had a really small bathroom that you could brush your teethes wile in the toilet... They also didn't had a/c and it was really hot.
It's a good value hotel if you stay in the 2nd or higher floors. Make sure you say that when making a reservation. Also the Areeiro subway station is just across the street and you can go anywhere in Lisbon

Room Tip: 2nd floor or higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuilhermeClaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
313 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Location is great:
-10 minutes taxi to the airport (and enough taxis waiting near the hotel because of the 24 hour reception service). We paid less than 7 Euro to the airport. It seems even cheaper than taking the Aerobus!
- 1 minute walk to the metro station.
- some bus stops nearby as well
- can reach downtown within 20 minutes, go to big shop, such as Colombo, Vasco da Gama, Saldanha, El Corte Ingles quickly

Late check-in:
-We arrived at about mid-night due to the late flight. Our room is still available because we had told them about our late arrival. No real troubles for this issue. Not all hotels in Lisbon has 24 hours reception so this one is a good choice if you can't arrive Lisbon in the afternoon.

--> The only problem is the receptionist needed to keep my passport. He didn't tell me why or when I can get it back. My penfriend asked him in Portuguese for me later and I can get my passport back after about 20 minutes. He was not that friendly. Perhaps he can't communicate in English too well.
The lady in the morning is more friendly and helpful. She tried to offer what we asked for, such as towels and extra pillows. (the pillows are too thin and soft for me)

Room:
- Size is acceptable even the door can't be opened fully while it would reach our bed.
- clean
- with a/c

-->I don't know it is because of our late arrival or not, our room had no towels.
--> the key card had problem on the first night. We had to ask the receptionist to help (we saw the people next door also had this problem)
--> should be careful of the shower. The water might come out from the floor!! I was all wet on the first night Need to learn how to use it. (maybe I am not wise enough. It is my first time to see such bath tub and shower!!)

Breakfast:
- it is ok in general.
-even if you order room service, it isn't too expensive

-> limited choices

wifi:
- you can have free wifi after asking the receptionist

--> signal isn't too strong

Early check-out:
- very fast and easy

--> the life was not working in the early morning (while we check-out at 5:30am). So we must walk down the staircase with the heavy the luggage. Luckily we stayed at 2/F only.


For this price (less than Euro50/ night), I think it is an acceptable hotel with private bathroom, a/c, free wifi, breakfast included and so on.

Room Tip: I booked the room in octupustravel.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencial Horizonte
#193 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#196 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nazareth
#200 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#228 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#216 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Lar do Areeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Lar do Areeiro

Property: Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Address: Praca Francisco Sa Carneiro 4, Lisbon 1000-159, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Lar do Areeiro 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residencial Lar do Areeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lar Do Areeiro Hotel Lisbon
Residencial Lar Do Areeiro Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing