We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect from an upmarket budget hotel”
Review of Mercure Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lisboa
Ranked #88 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Mercure in Lisbon for a couple of nights in September. Room spotless and general ambience of hotel very good. Reception staff kind and helpful. Did not try breakfast but it seems good value at 9 euros compared with the airport. The area where the hotel is located is still under development and a bit dreary...office blocks and other similar large hotels (Ibis etc) and no appealing restaurants as far as I could gather. It is a long walk into the town centre so I advise taking taxis (reasonable). More a place for business visitors or people on their way to and from the airport than for holidaymakers, who would perhaps prefer more lively surroundings. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

The room is big and very confortable. The hotel is well located. It has free wi-fi internet at the room. The only thing I didn`t like was the sandwich served late night at the room. It was so cold and nothing appealing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonedaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I spent there 6 days and I must say that my room was very clean and well equipped. Breakfasts were very rich and fresh with tasty bread and freshly squeezed orange juice! Bedding changed every 2 days and towels changed every day! Friendly staff and bar open till midnight... close to metro station... Very good relation between price and quality!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magda_PL_Gdynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel is acceptable, clean. The staff is helpful, though I did not made any challenge. The hotel restaurant is shown as an option for those who want to stay in the room, has nice food. The pillows that are in the rooms are not fluffy, however better pillows may be required. The windows can not be truly open, just a little (as I show in the photos). The fridge is actually a vending machine, because they use an electronic system and any drink that is touch is automatically charged on the hotel bill, I do not believe that this is even legally accepted since we can only be charged for what we consume. If you want to put something to refrigerate, there are no spaces left in the fridge, so you can leave in the hotel restaurant, which allows us to keep our stuff there (they should have more consideration for the guests). In short, this Mercure is close to what is expected of a Etap, despite has a restaurant and has the shower in the toilet. There are cheaper options and closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lisboa
2
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Well located, clean, nice breakfast, with good hotels, restaurants and malls on its surroundings, close to a subway station. A little bit noisy because it is on the airport landing route and its proximity with the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Good value accomodation, very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms were clean but basic. It's in a quiet business district but it has easy access to the metro which gets you to the centre of Lisbon in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here recently for a 5 night city break. We were on a strict budget and we got this for a very good price, so we weren't expecting much.The hotel is in the buisness district but the metro station is only 5 minutes walk away. The rooms are bright, big and clean, it has a small pool on the roof top which is a nice surprise. My only gripe is there are no Tea/ Coffee facilities in the room but compared to all the positives it is a small gripe. ( Also there is a very nice cafe just by the metro station which serves a very good coffee and the famous Lisbon Custard Tarts!

Room Tip: Front rooms would have city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deranddec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#117 of 255 in Lisbon
2,772 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
2,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 255 in Lisbon
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#123 of 255 in Lisbon
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lisboa

Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 23, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#47 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#49 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £63 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Lisboa Jose Malhoa is a 3 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, 500 m from the Zoo, the Praca de Espanha, the Gulbenkian Foundation and only 4 km from the old town. The hotel offers 104 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, a bar, restaurant and pay car park. Relax in the swimming pool, open all year round. The hotel is decorated with an understated artistic theme. Book a room now for your business or leisure trip. Our location makes visiting Lisbon easy with access to various forms of public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Mercure Hotel Lisbon
Mercure Hotel Lisboa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing