We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice hotel just outside of the center of Lisbon”
Review of Mercure Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Lisboa
Ranked #82 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    649
    174
    34
    12
See reviews for
228
651
96
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Mercure. It's a very decent hotel just outside the city centre.
It's modern and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a nice room on the 8th floor facing the aquaduct.
The room was quiet, clean and spacious. It had a nice bathroom , mini bar and a good comfortable bed. Nice choice of TV channels.
Breakfast is at the restaurant on the ground floor. Nice basic breakfast with a nice variety of food. I didn't try the lunch and diner service. It also has a sunbathing area with pool at the top floor.

Bus from airport stops at about 50m from hotel and it's a 200m walk to the metro station Zoo (Jardim Zoologico)

Downside was that the walls were very thin and I had a couple next door which arrived late every night and always made noise until early morning (3AM-5AM). I complaint at the reception desk and the clerk came with me to check. Unfortunately the next night it was again a lot of noise.
The free WiFi doesn't work too good either. It's part of a global WiFi hotspot brand and the connections gets disconnected regularly and you have to enter the credentials every time again. Good thing was that you got credentials for every device. (mobile and laptop)

Overall a good hotel in a quiet neighborhood with several transport options in proximity. Might book this again on my next visit to Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkiverijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Coming back to milan I want to describe the wonderful experience I had in this hotel few days ago.
the hotel is far away from the centre of the town but near the metro station so going for shopping is easy. Reception excellent. all were kind and smiling all the day
the room was pretty good, comfortable. there was a selection of free fresh drinks in the minibar in the room and a good coffee machine to wake up well.
very good experience
ps.
a swimming pool om the top...for relax time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfumei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed at the Mercure for business and having tried other hotels on the same street during other business trips, I don't think I'd ever return to Mercure. However, it was a less expensive option, and I definitely got the type of stay that went with the price. The good: knowledgeable staff, tasty but limited food options (restaurant & room service), modern decor in the lobby. The bad: wifi was impossible to use, construction noises at all hours - morning and night, walls so thin you can hear your neighbours speaking - such a noisy hotel, crazy loud people in the hallways, I could hear every single thing. I definitely appreciated: relatively comfortable beds, good TV channel options, quick laundry service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drunkwithlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel was very clean and nice but the bed was too small for 2 and they should not use the plastic water glass for drinking!!!

Services was no problem anything and quite friendly but internet was too slow...

Location was a bit difficult to move around but it not to far from subways and train but it very useful if you wanna go to Sintra because there was train station to go to Sintra also.

Overview that was OK for trip for us.


Max

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Maxxiiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#105 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#133 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SANA Malhoa Hotel
SANA Malhoa Hotel
#59 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
1.2 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lisboa

Property: Mercure Lisboa
Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 23, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#47 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#49 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Lisboa Jose Malhoa is a 3 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, 500 m from the Zoo, the Praca de Espanha, the Gulbenkian Foundation and only 4 km from the old town. The hotel offers 104 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, a bar, restaurant and pay car park. Relax in the swimming pool, open all year round. The hotel is decorated with an understated artistic theme. Book a room now for your business or leisure trip. Our location makes visiting Lisbon easy with access to various forms of public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Lastminute, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Mercure Hotel Lisbon
Mercure Hotel Lisboa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing