We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless if you're doing business in the area, pass on this place”
Review of Mercure Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lisboa
Ranked #88 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We booked this hotel because we had one night stay in Lisbon and an early morning flight so figured it was close to the airport. Lisbon is such a small city that you could stay in the heart of the city and it'll only probably add an extra 5 or 10 mins and 10 to 15 Euros to your cab ride.

The place was okay, biggest bathroom we've seen in our entire trip through Europe. Unfortunately, the AC was not working so we didn't get a great night's sleep. According to the front desk, it seemed to be a problem for multiple guests on our floor. The engineer was working on the issue but nothing was done about it.

Service at the hotel could have been better.

Not much going around in the neighborhood; there's a zoo down the street and a Corte Ingles down the road. Thankfully, there's a metro station nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haioson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

Me and my wife stayed for 3 nights in August/09. We chose this hotel based on Mercure brand reputation, helped by another reviews from other Tripadvisor members.

Remarks:

1 - The location is perfect for business, and good for leisure. Very close to airport, metro and train station, and city center. Certainly you will not spend much in transportation. Also, the hotel has a reasonable shopping center nearby. It´s very important in the lunch and dinner time, because the hotel's restaurant is overpriced.

2 - The pool on the top could be very useful, specially in summer, to refresh the guest - Lisbon is incredibly hot in summer;

3 - The breakfast is super, but charged in separate.

4 - The room is spacious, with some amenities, and overall, very comfortable and clean.

At all, we enjoyed our stay, and if you want a reasonable choice, give a chance for Mercury Lisboa.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroldoSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Our stay at the Mercure was in August, off season for what is basically a business hotel. The rooms are large,air conditioned and comfortable.Breakfast is pricey at 11 euros, there are nearby alternatives nearby - supermarket and shopping mall with food court accross the road.

All the attractions of Lisbon are easily found with good metro,bus and traain services within 5 minutes walk. The centre is about 10-15 minutes away

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR.23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed at Mercure for 3 nights and found it to be an excellent hotel. It is located in the business district but very near a metro stop. Lisbon is quite a small city and this hotel falls on the zone 1 hence the fare is minimum by metro.
The hotel rooms had a good view of the aquaduct and were good sized, clean and hygienic. We would have preffered a tea/coffee maker in the room though.
The breakfast was excellent and staff polite and helpful
All in all a good stay

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaliniamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Had a reservation for a double room, instead we got a twin. We did not complain. Cleanliness of the rooms OK, but could be better. Restaurant with very limited menu - the food was good though. Cold room (out of the ventilator shaft came cold air and this we were unable to stop), we tried to get the room a little warmer by having the airco blow hot air, but that made such a loud rattling noise we had to switch it off. Swimming pool looks nice, but the water was very COLD. It was so cold we only managed to stay in for only a few minutes. Personnel generally friendly, except for 1 particular receptionist who was VERY rude. We had asked and received permission to use the lobby computer to do the airline check-in and print our boarding passes. The online check-in was swift, but the hotel printer was not working and we needed help from the receptionist for the print-out. While the boarding passes were printing she told us in a very rude way that we were using the lobby computer for too long. When we disagreed (it is allowed to use the computer for 20 minutes) she started a shouting match. She showed no courtesy or respect. Luckily, we had a special rate for the rooms, because €150 for a double room (at the reception desk it says this is the normal rate for a double room) is well over the top for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This hotel was a disappointment to me for various reasons. First and most important, the hotel is children-unfriendly and does not cater to families with babies - baby-beds were not available even upon one-month prior notice. In fact, the hotel does not provide them at all - but you don´t learn that until you check in. Shame for a 3* international hotel. Second, the bathroom is clad in a cheap material that is easily (and unrepairably) stained by whatever except water. All the surroundings of the toilet looked filthy, as there were urine drop marks all around. Notice - this is nothing against housekeeping, even the best maid would not help it, as the stains are in the structure of the tiles. Third reason - issue already discussed below - motion sensors in the minibar, which make the fridge unuseable should one need e.g. to store some medicine; and which indicate that the hotel management a priori considers any guest a potential thief. Location is OK, with a metro/rail station in close vicinity and easy access to the airport. Breakfast is overpriced, cafes and pastelarias in the vicinity are much better deal. I will definitely not stay in this hotel again, and will be strongly hesitating about any future stay in this hotel brand.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The hotel is in the business area. It's very close to the metro station Jardim Zoologico, Train station and a shopping center. The is OK, english-speaking. There;s a swimming pool on the roof on the 9th floor. The rooms are spacious ansd clean.
The idea of the mini bar took us aback a little. The bottels and snacks are connected to special sensors. when you take a bottle or a snack they charge your credit and it's not refundable even if you didn't drink it!!!
Thr restaurant and the bar are expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_G26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#115 of 255 in Lisbon
2,771 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 255 in Lisbon
1,168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#124 of 255 in Lisbon
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lisboa

Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 23, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#47 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#49 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#72 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £65 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Lisboa Jose Malhoa is a 3 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, 500 m from the Zoo, the Praca de Espanha, the Gulbenkian Foundation and only 4 km from the old town. The hotel offers 104 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, a bar, restaurant and pay car park. Relax in the swimming pool, open all year round. The hotel is decorated with an understated artistic theme. Book a room now for your business or leisure trip. Our location makes visiting Lisbon easy with access to various forms of public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Mercure Hotel Lisbon
Mercure Hotel Lisboa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing