We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Ramalhete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palacio Ramalhete
Ranked #34 of 228 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Amazing service. The hotel staff were really friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to hep us out with finding/booking restaurants. The room (standard double) was lovely and exactly as shown in all the pictures. Also, breakfast was excellent. The hotel isn't right in the centre, it's maybe a 30 minute walk into the main tourist areas. Not a major issue though - the nearest metro/train station is quite a nice 15 minute walk away or taxis are super cheap. There's also a bus stop literally outside the hotel but it didn't seem to go anywhere we wanted to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Mr. Rob:

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. Regarding your comments about the distance to the city center is true that the hotel is around 25 minutes walking to the Praça de Comercio, but in the bus stop in front of the hotel you can get the bus 714, that takes you directly to there and to Praça Figueira, that is very close from the main tourist sites of Lisboa.
We hope to host you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    76
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
251
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pessac, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

A really nice hotel, very quiet, patios and pool areas charming, with a view on river from the top patio, at 5 min taxi of the center town. Great service, very attentive to all questions, breakfast just for us at 4:30 am before going to airport, helpful to choose and book for us a fado's place, really kind. You can have breakfast (good choice and quality) in the dining room or in the patios. The place is full of history, azulejos, original and the large room (the old kitchen)was very clean. The restaurant at the next door in the old little church of the palacio was really nice also. Only few rooms, so a family sensation. A good place in a nice town!!

Room Tip: The suite "Old kitchen" was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Mrs. Marie-Christine:

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay in Palacio Ramalhete, and it is true that we are a small place, but that is part of our charm. I have seen that you really appreciate that atmosphere.
We really hope to host you again in a near future, and if some friends of you are traveling to Lisboa do not hesitate to tell them to contact us directly.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Flew to Lisbon with a buddy who was attending a medical conference and stayed at the Palacio Ramalhete for three nights. Upon entering I immediately noticed the hotel was immaculate and well-appointed. I especially enjoyed the courtyard and pool deck on the third level of the gardens. However, as nice as the hotel was, nothing topped the wonderful service we received during our stay. From the moment we checked in to our two-bedoom suite, Katarina, Daniella, and Francesca went out of their way to make sure we had everything and anything we desired. Katarina even helped us book two additional nights at the beach in nearby Cascais. If you are traveling to Lisbon and would prefer an intimate boutique hotel experience to the "generic" experience one often encounters and some of the larger hotels and chains -- look no further than the Palaicio Ramalhete!

Room Tip: If you need two full-size beds (not twins) ask for Room 4 on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSG771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your time in writing about our hotel. We are delight that you have appreciated the antique decoration and the other areas in the house, but the most is your recommendation about the room 4 (our Ramalhete Suite), I'm sure that will be very helpful for other guests interesting in visit Lisboa.

I will transmit your kind words about the service provided by Francisca (our manager), Daniela and Catarina (our receptionists), that is the best award for our work.
We hope to host again in the future, and thank you again for your recommendation.

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Palacio Ramalhete is a lovely mansion house carefully restored into a stunning boutique hotel located in a quiet but central area of Lisbon. The rooms are generally large and bright with original old features. The compact pool is a gem to come home to after a day touring Lisbon.
Great service with most attentive staff and good breakfast.
We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PedrinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank very much for your time and your words about our small palace and staff. For us is very important to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and they have a nice memory about their visit to Lisbon.

We will be delight to host you again in the future, and do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Palacio is well-located in a quiet and interesting area with bus and tram stops nearby. The building has a range of beautiful original features and the patios and pool areas are delightfully relaxing by day or night and perfect for breakfast. Staff were attentive and friendly without being fussy and service was excellent. Even the air conditioning is quiet. Perfect for a relaxing stay with a touch of luxury and all the attractions of the city on hand but without noise intruding on the feeling of refuge. The food at Picanha, just downstairs, is delicious and convenient and the fine art museum across the road is a delight to explore.

Room Tip: We saw a number of rooms and all were individual and lovely. Perhaps a view would be worth requestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Mark:

Thank you for your time in writing about our small palace in Lisboa. You have made a great description about the facilities and all the local attractions around us, so I'm sure that a lot of visitors could appreciate your tips in their trips to Lisboa.

For us, all your comments help us to be more efficiency and also help us to show that Palacio Ramalhete is not so far away from the main sites in Lisboa; and you can enjoy a nice environment in a typical portuguese town house.

We will delight to host again in the future.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Palacio Ramalhete is a quite beautiful hotel in a quiet road opposite the National Museum of ancient art. It was originally a town house and has been delightfully refurbished. It is very inconspicuous; so much so in fact that I walked past its door three times before noticing the brass plaque advertising its name. Entry to the hotel requires ringing the door bell and waiting (very briefly) for it to be opened by the member of staff on duty. My own room was wonderfully comfortable and large with a polished wooden floor, ornate ceiling and efficient air conditioning. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient and the overall feeling is that of a family home. The breakfast is simple but tasty and the staff are happy to provide lunch and evening snacks which can be enjoyed on one of the three garden tiers, the highest of which boasts a refreshing outdoor pool. It became a routine of mine to walk back to the hotel at lunchtime every day during my stay to do just that. I have no doubt where I will be making a reservation the next time I travel to Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear James:

Thank you for your time and words about your stay with us. It seems that we keep our privacy, even with our small bronze plaque at the main door, but it is easy to find the hotel, located beside the Restaurant Picanha.
I'm delight that you have enjoyed your time in our patios, and mainly in our swimming pool, and do not hesitate to contact us directly to make your next reservation when you come back to Lisbon.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Palacio Ramalhete is just as a boutique hotel should be: smart and stylish without being pretentious, with a personal service that isn't intrusive. The interior decoration is beautiful and the outside patios are peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was simple and delicious and a joy to be had outside surrounded by flowers and pretty tiling. The swimming pool and sun-loungers on the upper decking are fantastic for relaxing after a day of shopping/sight-seeing. It comes complete with a poolside drinks service!

The hotel may seem a little way out but is actually very conveniently located. You can quickly get into the centre of Lisbon by public transport or taxi (few minutes) and  Belem and the suburban beaches (e.g. Cascais, Estoril) are easy to get to by train (about a 5 min walk to the station). Cascais is definitely worth a visit as there are some great little beaches within minutes of the train station and also an array of fantastic shops. Belem is only 6 mins on the train and it's waterside location means it's much cooler than downtown Lisbon.

For anyone wanting a stylsh city break with access to shops, tourist sites and beaches with the added bonus of a beautiful boutique hotel complete with swimming pool to come back to then look no further than Palacio Ramalhete.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank bertie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Berti:
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. It is fantastic for us to read how our guests really appreciate all of our efforts to offer a nice place, and nice services. Also you have written a very good tips for other guests interesting in shopping or sightseeing Lisboa, so I really appreciate your words.

I hope that we can host you again in the future, and enjoy another fantastic short break in our hotel.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Ramalhete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete

Property: Palacio Ramalhete
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing