We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about all the steps”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palacio Ramalhete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palacio Ramalhete
Ranked #34 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shame about all the steps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The ambience of the hotel is cool chic. It is beautifully decorated and furnished and the staff go out of their way to be helpful and informative.We stayed in a suite which overlooked a busy road, but had to keep the windows closed to shut out the road noise. The big drawback of this hotel are the steps. It is unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties. There is no lift. Access to the pool is up more steps to a very compact area completely dominated by a huge palm tree that blocks out the sun from 1pm onwards.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Mr. Philip:

Thank you for your time in write your review about our hotel. I am sorry that your experience hasn't been so grateful due to our steps, but as you can understand, and we always advice to our guests, the hotel is a house from XVII Century, and the lift is not a part of the ambience, and also because we don't have a place to put it. The only thing that we are not completely agree with you is about your comment about our sun deck because our palm tree is not blocking out the sun from 1 pm. The palm tree is big, not huge, and give a shadow only in one part of the terrace, and you can enjoy the sun around the swimming pool until more than 7 pm (in summertime). The access to the swimming pool is with stone stairs but if you consider that is too narrow we are sorry for that, but that is the first time that a guest tells us something similar.
We want to thank you also for your words about our service and staff, and for us that is very important.

We would like to host you again in the future, and in that case we will offer you another suite, but in our courtyard, that is more quiet than in the first floor.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    77
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
253
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

everything was perfect from the location to the service
the hotel is a magnificent old building
the breakfast is one of the best ones I ever had
it is a very personal experience and you feel like a king!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Mr. Guido:

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. The new breakfast has been our bet for this year, and it seems that we have gotten the goal.

And yes, our goal is the our guests will be the King in Palácio Ramalhete.

We hope to see you again in the future, and you can recommend us to your friends and relatives.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This place was such a treat. Just a simple doorway off the main street, it may be hard to find at night so keep an eye on the house numbers as there is no obvious sign. We stayed in Room 2 which overlooked the patio area and had an off shoot room with a sofa, TV and desk.... it was huge! The property has so much character. We had breakfast both days on the sunny patio and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they epitomized excellent customer service. I even came back to the room and found a lovely bottle of wine that the hotel staff had put there for my birthday. The pool is lovely but be warned, it was very cold when I had a dip so not for the faint-hearted. The breakfast choice was excellent - smoked salmon, pate, lovely choice of meats & cheese. The only thing that needs to be taken in to consideration is that in Room 2, you can hear everything, particularly the inconsiderate group of girls upstairs who decided to have a party at 2am and walk around the room wearing high heels - not great on the wooden floors when you are underneath. I'm sure this isn't typical for the hotel so don't let it put you off but maybe ask for a room on the top floor if you are easily woken. All in all, we had a wonderful weekend in a gorgeous little property with very welcoming and knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very large and overlooks the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Stephanie:
First at all thank you for choosing us to spend your birthday, and for us was a pleasure to put the bottle of wine to celebrate it.

Regarding the noise with the girls in the upper floor you are right and we don't have that situation normally, even it had been the first time.
About the pool that you found it a bit cold, let me check that because we have made the maintenance during your stay and the company in charge of that confirm us that the heater pump is working perfectly, but maybe we had a problem during those days, and we didn't notice. I'd like to apologize for this. Today the temperature was fine (23º C).

Also I'd like to thank you for your pictures in your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Palacio Ramalhete was simply a wonderful place to stay in Lisbon. There are three sitting rooms, each beautifully furnished with antiques, and fresh roses in each area. Original features of the palacio have been restored, and the bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The rooms at the back overlook the terraced patio and pool area. The hotel is located along a bus route, giving easy access to the city centre in one direction and Belem in the other. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented in the gorgeous dining room. It was lovely to come back after a long day of walking around Lisbon and sit in one of the living rooms with a book, and have a pot of tea or a cold beer. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful. They answered all our questions, gave us great recommendations for restaurants, and made sure we had some breakfast available at 5:00 a.m. before we had to leave for the airport. The only thing that might be difficult for some is that there is no elevator, so this won't work for those who have trouble with stairs.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back patio are quieter than the ones facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Kathy:

Thank you very much for your words about your stay in Palacio Ramalhete. Also about our breakfast that we have modified to put more fresh food and with a better presentation for our guests.
We serve the early breakfast always upon request but there is not a problem to us to give that service because the most important for us is the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope that you have had a nice flight back home, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Had a super stay at this Hotel, as all the other reviews mention. The attention to detail from the Manager Francisco is phenomenal. He is there at every turn to lend a hand, he has a wonderful manner and nothing is too big a deal for him to help with. He volunteered to park our car across from the hotel in an awkward space, recommended and booked an amazing restaurant Sea Me (that I also review), offered to change us to a superior room on our second night; he really couldn't do enough for us.

This hotel is so so charming, I have no idea why its under B and B's in Tripadvisor! Its surely a high star Hotel. It is over 200 years old in terms of architecture and has been renovated but in keeping with its priginal tiles and fearers. You really feel so relaxed here even though you are right in the centre of a busy City, that really impressed me.

The pool and lounge area raised up at the back of the garden really helps to achieve this Zen mood on youre stay. We used it each day as it was very sunny in Lisbon during our stay.This area is all brand new with a cute sized pool with beautiful old tress blowing over you. Its so chilled. It overlooks the original terraced courtyard style out door areas. Magic!

The superior room we stayed in on the 2nd night was lovely, it was HUGE and over looked the garden and pool area. There was also a door that went in to an additional desk, tv and seated area. This room so peaceful and we got a great nights sleep.

We only had a continental breakfast (there is also hot on offer) and it had a good selection. The indor and outdoor reception and lounging areas were beautifully done, inside there were high ceilngs and period features with really classy interior design, outside lovely terraced areas with candles.

This is a wonderful sanctuary that would be ideal for a special occasion, having some time out or a city break we ourselves were there on business; in theory! Enjoy!

we WILL be back....

Room Tip: not a fan of attics myself, if you're the same book a different type of room. Rooms at back ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, General Manager at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear guest:

First a all I want to thank you your words about me, but it is not only me but also our staff who could do all the best in your stay. About the parking it was only luck to find the right place, and also it was a pleasure to do it.

Your descriptions about our rooms and facilities have been very extended and all of us want to thank you for those magnificat details that you have written, that we hope to other visitor to consider Palacio Ramalhete as the best option in their trip to Lisboa.

As a Senior Contributor in Trip Advisor we are very proud to received such as wonderful comments about our hotel, and we will wait to host you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I spent a week in this beautiful and extremely well run boutique hotel. They did not refuse any request from earlier breakfasts, helping book tours, calling sights for operating hours, and even ordered us a pizza for delivery. The young people who manage the hotel always met us at the top of the stairs with the key ready for our room. Our room , the Ramalhete Suite was exceptionally large with a tv room, bedroom, and bathroom. The room was light and airy. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to have a pleasant stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Mr. Neil:

Thank you very much for your words about our staff and the way that we run the hotel. We are very delight that you have enjoy and fell the ambiance that we always try to offer to our guests. Our goal is to offer the best service, and help to our guests in their requirements, and it seems that we have achieved in your trip to Lisboa.

I want to thank you for your recommendation for other visitors, and we hope to host again in a future.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

A wonderful hotel where everything is superb. The Palacio Ramalhete is the house in the novel "Os Maias" by Eca de Queiroz, Portugal's renowned 19th century novelist. The restoration of the house has been done with tremendous care and the result is simply marvellous. The Portuguese have a lot of experience in such restorations and it has been drawn on here. The public rooms are wonderfully airy and tasteful and the bedrooms comfortable and elegant. The staff are helpful and very attentive. The location is very interesting, opposite the Museum of Ancient Art (which has a good cafeteria with a spectacular garden esplanade where you can have your lunch or snack under the ancient trees overlooking the river). Frequent buses in both directions stop right near the hotel, so it is easy to get to anywhere in the city. The hotel serves breakfast only(excellent), but there are good restaurants nearby. There is a bar, with bar snacks available. The hotel only has 12 rooms/suites, so the atmosphere is calm and quiet. Due to the nature of the building there is no elevator, so we asked for a room on the second floor. The series of inner courtyards is very cleverly designed, a delightful place to have a drink, read a book or do just nothing.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room above the first floor if you have trouble with stairs. You have to climb stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dart-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel, where you have described very well the reason that we named as Palacio Ramalhete our establishment. The description in the book "Os Maias" is very similar that our hotel is, and we are always doing our best to offer the experience of living in a portuguese manor.
As you have written we don't have a lift because the nature of the building, but we always help to our guest with the luggage.
We hope to host you again in the future, and I want to thank you again for your time in write your review about us.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
York House
#160 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Ramalhete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete

Property: Palacio Ramalhete
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing