We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for good price”
Review of Hotel Jorge V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jorge V
Ranked #188 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good hotel for good price”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice hotel for good price. Employee are kind and helpful. Room are small but with balcony. Nice location. Barman was super. 2 restaurant next to the hotel. Minus is breakfast to. We go at 9:30 and the buffet was almost empty and they do not give new one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgaMarcinTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    210
    149
    36
    30
See reviews for
111
204
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Short walk to attractions from this quiet side street. Fine breakfast included. Free wifi. Metro is close by.
Friendly service. Easy to get to Alta Barrio and large park next to Metro Station. Main attractions are 10 to 20 minutes walks.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but efficient and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadsdiverge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is in a really central location, we had booked a twin room and got a spacious suite. Air-conditioning and refrigerator. I left washing hanging in the bathroom one morning to come back to it all nicely dried and folded!
Free wifi and very clean & nicely decorated rooms.
Breakfast got busy with maybe not enough tables and staff clearing. In saying this we never waited long but this was the only weakness in the place.
Really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We had a suite on level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had pre-booked Hotel Jorge V through the internet and were a bit concerned with some recent comments from others that had stayed there. We were very pleased with the place. Re comments on room size, we had booked a Twin Room (perhaps by mistake) which consisted of a main room with add-on side room. We had plenty of room with the second room (without the additional room it would have been a bit cramped). The hot water was good, and WiFi reliable. It is in a good spot for walking in to the centre of Lisbon, castle, or up to the Sightseeing tour buses. The air-conditioning worked well, and we were pleased with that because it was pretty hot during our stay in Lisbon. We found the staff friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is with the breakfast. There was a queue each morning to get a table, and staff seemed slow to reset tables and get people seated. There were 11 tables seating 2 to 4 people. It would be easy enough to extend this out into the bar area for morning breakfasts. The food itself was fine.

Room Tip: Don't go for standard, get the suite to ensure you have plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great location and perfectly pleasant but really needs a makeover. Just gives the impression that they have reached a plateau and cannot be bothered to aim any higher - why else would they emblazon everything with three stars - bedlinen, towels ... you name it! Aim higher!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is one of the worst hotels where I've been. The rooms are small, furniture is old, bathrooms are antique, breakfast is insufficient and the personnel is very slow and awful. Additionally, they do not have an appropriate storage room for bagages and these can get stolen very easily (as happened to one of our bags) from the lobby, if left there (as suggested by the incompetent personnel). Chances to recover the loss are minimal. Don't go there!

Room Tip: Just avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgeT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August and were very pleased with it. The hotel has seen better days, but the rooms are clean (although smelt a bit musty), the bed was good, as was the linen, and we slept really well. The location is fantastic! Our room was on the 6th floor, facing the street, with a balcony from which you could see the Tejo!
Breakfast was good, but items started to run out after the first hour. So it's best to be there early. The coffee and juice were both watered down and awful. But that didn't bother us, since after the first morning we brought our own instant coffee sachets to breakfast (hot water was available).
In Portugal you don't always have to eat Portuguese cuisine and if you feel like having some Chinese food, there's a very good restaurant not too far from the hotel. We found restaurant Nuvem-Mar thanks to the help of the hotel reception staff and enjoyed a tasty meal there.
I do recommend Jorge V, we received very good value for our money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional
Hotel Nacional
#173 of 247 in Lisbon
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eduardo VII
Hotel Eduardo VII
#235 of 247 in Lisbon
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#230 of 247 in Lisbon
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#232 of 247 in Lisbon
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#220 of 247 in Lisbon
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jorge V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jorge V

Property: Hotel Jorge V
Address: Rua Mouzinho da Silveira 3, Lisbon 1250-165, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jorge V 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jorge V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorge v Hotel
Jorge v Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing