We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Royalty”
Review of Hotel Jorge V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jorge V
Ranked #197 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very basic Hotel, which although very clean had few facilities (not even coffee making in rooms). The ground floor did have a small bar and a very helpful barman,but it was very quiet. Breakfast was adequate with very watery orange juice and tasteless ham and other sausages with just scrambled egg for anything warm. They changed our room from one overlooking a building site to one on the front which was very good. I would have another short stay in this hotel because it is very well situated for the tourist buses and only a small walk from the centre of Lisbon and there are plenty of good restaurants just over the main road.

Room Tip: The front of the building is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Hotel was good value for money and not far from Avenida Liberade and the metro. The room was large and adequately furnished. The plumbing system needs updating. The continental breakfast was again adequate and included various hot egg dishes. The barman was very friendly and helpful, but it was not possible to buy a glass of wine, only a half or full bottle. Unfortunately, our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a disused building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as these have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

being there 4-10. April 2014. Nice and clean room, good breakfast. Very good hotel near tourist areas. If you need hotel for sleep, but spend most time outside this is perfect place.Very good value for price you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ossi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Travelling to Lisbon with my mother we had a nice stay in that hotel. The only bad thign that happened to us was the restaurant suggestion of the front office to a nearby restaurant where the food was terrible and at an abusive price. My mother then got sick for the rest of the stay because of the food. My advice for people travelling to this hotel is not to ask for advice concerning dining facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here 7 nights mid March and like other reviewers have said, it is an older, 70's style hotel which could do with a general modernising and upgrading of its rooms, beds, bathroom fixtures, carpets, etc. However, it is kept all very clean and tidy throughout. I had a front facing twin (two beds pushed together) bedroom with a balcony which was serviced daily including a fresh supply of towels, bath mat and complimentary bath toiletries. There is a small, stocked minibar, in room safe, Flat screen TV showing local channels as well as BBC World, CNN, French TV5, Italian Rai TV sport. The mattresses are a bit creaky but firm and comfortable, ideal for my back. Air conditioning unit is available but I had no need to use it. A kettle and Tea/Coffee making facilities would've been a nice extra touch, but by no means a major necessity. FREE WiFi available in the room, with a reasonable signal strength, was a major bonus and a deal clincher.
Breakfast is served in a fairly pleasant back lounge on the ground floor from 7 to 10.30am, it is advisable to get there earlier rather than later. 3 types of cereals, variety of yoghurts, 2 choices of fresh, cut fruit, usually oranges and pineapple as well as a selection of whole apples, pears and kiwi fruit. Variety of cold meats, cheeses, good selection of beautiful fresh bread rolls, croissants, sweet pastries, 2 different types of cakes daily, butter, 3 types of jams. Also a choice of boiled, fried or scrambled eggs with ham.
Its a pity though that the orange juice is of the 'Squash' type and not fresh, and very surprisingly the coffee is of the instant, freeze dried granules sort rather than freshly brewed, specially as the Portuguese enjoy a huge culture of wonderful coffee with cafe's dotted all over the place serving superb fresh brewed coffee anytime of the day.
Reception staff are friendly and obliging with helpful tourist and transportation information if needed.
The one gripe I have, more to do with the location, and no fault of the hotel, is that being used to living in a semi rural, very quiet location at home, I found the early morning traffic noise a bit of a problem. Somewhat irritating, the loud disco music and shouting from a nearby night spot suddenly blaring out between 3 to 5 am on fridays and saturdays and also the sound of tables and chairs being dragged across the floor on to an outside decking area of a cafe on the opposite side of the street, infront of the hotel, every morning at 5.30am, preparing for their daily opening!! Wearing of ear plugs didn't seem to help either.

The best part and positive point was definitely the hotel's great location, in a smart part of the city, a couple of minutes walk to the wide and lovely Avenida Liberdade, lined with all the smart shops, 2 stations of the Metro, local bus stops including the Express bus service to and from the airport all within no more than 5 minutes walking distance. 20 minutes walk puts you in the fascinating old part of town.
The bed and breakfast cost for the whole 7 nights was another great incentive for staying here, booked in advance through a well known hotels comparison site. Being on a reasonably contained budget, I would'nt hesitate to recommend staying at this hotel if all you want is a clean, comfortable place to sleep, a base close to all sightseeing, transportation and amenities, in a smart and very safe part of this beautiful city. One of the cleanest cities I have been to.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the hotel may be quieter than those facing the front which have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charliefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here in February, had a room with a balcony. The bathroom wasn't big but adequate and the shower was excellent and everything spotless. The breakfast, a buffet, was plentiful and the waiter working alone, very efficient. We were able to leave our cases behind reception after checking out and to enjoy the rest of our last day before a late flight home. A short walk from the hotel bought you to Metro, bus and tram stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandrams132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel in February. Clean and friendly staff.
It´s an older hotel, so the furniture and room are not modern. Our room had a balcony, but it was small ,as well as the bathroom. It had the smallest bathtub that I have ever seen!
Free wifi and on a quiet street close to downtown.
Didn't have breakfast as we had to leave very early.
If you want something basic and clean then this might do it for you.
Although I would not suggest this hotel for a long stay as rooms are small and basic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. Non-smoking hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Nacional
#175 of 255 in Lisbon
370 reviews
Hotel Eduardo VII
#242 of 255 in Lisbon
1,140 reviews
Hotel Flamingo
#226 of 255 in Lisbon
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#199 of 255 in Lisbon
224 reviews
Hotel Dom Sancho I
#192 of 255 in Lisbon
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jorge V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jorge V

Address: Rua Mouzinho da Silveira 3, Lisbon 1250-165, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £38 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jorge V 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jorge V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorge v Hotel
Jorge v Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing