We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable stay close to the metro stop”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #110 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The hotel looks much better on the inside than on the outside. The room was clean, quite spacious and the bathroom was also clean. Would have been nice if the the shower had with a bit more power but water was always hot. The TV was very small but had a selection of Portugese and English channels. We were on the 10th floor and didn't have problems with street noise, but the walls are thin, loud neighbours next door was a problem on a couple of nights. No facility for making hot drinks in the room, but a small fridge was available which was great.
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from metro station which was convenient. The ride to city center took 15 mins and cost 2.50 euro for a round trip. There are several restaurants within a 5 min walk, but many more within a 20 minutes. A supermarket can also be found 5 min walk away. The area felt quite safe, it isn't particularly happening but there are a couple of late opening bars nearby.
Breakfast was included with our stay, it's available from 7-10.30am. It was the same each day. A good selection of breads, some slices of ham and cheese, one type of danish pastry, a couple of different cakes, cornflakes and museli, and also scrambled egg with bacon or mini frankfurters. There were also a selection of teas, juices and coffee. We found the breads to be lovely, but the eggs and frankfurters were a bit anaemic.
Generally the staff were helpful, although the lady that checked us in was not welcoming, bordering rude.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

First impression of the hotel is that the facade is pretty rundown.
The staff speak good English but were overall quite abrupt.
The elevators were pretty sucky (especially when you are on the 9th floor). Many times you would wait five minutes for an elevator only to find it full.
The breakfast buffet was OK. The selection felt pretty limited.

Wifi was free
Safe hire was free (electronic safe)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Nice comfortable hotel. Relatively close to airport but away from downtown. However subway was less than 1/2 block up the street connecting you to just about everywhere in Lisbon. Older hotel but very clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Standard type of rooms but we didn't go to Portugal to spend the trip in our room. It was clean, decent size and had a small but functional bathroom. Restaurant and staff were excellent. Very well priced. No pool but has a very quaint and attractive bar/lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here just one night only but would recommend location and the rooms are really big with a sitting area, we also had a balcony. TV is a bit out dated but works. Hotel very clean, staff very friendly and helpful plus near to lots of amenities which are easily accessible. Bit 1970's decor but not a reason not to stay. Breakfast was continental with a little hot food but was enough for what you needed. If in Lisbon would not hestatie to stay here again - from the outside it looks nothing so don't be put off as really needs a paint up. Provided a shuttle to the airport on our return.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DizzyDi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a family room. The room was quite spacious and comfortable.Breakfast was very good and good selection of cakes. Staff were freindly. Only problem was the internet which was dead slow. Good for family stay and worth for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrationAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Great hotel, good location (one minute by walk of metro Roma, 15 min by metro from the airport, 10 min to center). The room was good, very clean, with good air conditioning, mini bar, very comfortable bed, room 1006 very quiet. We were satisfy about the breakfast, the employees were very friendly. I can just recommend this hotel, if we come back to Lisbon we will stay there for sure!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side and on the higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pluyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a very nice hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Highly recommended! Despite its location near a railway line the windows are soundproof and the noise is negligible. The wifi is a bit slow but this is really the only problem I encountered. At the breakfast there is a large variety to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jossihartmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#152 of 253 in Lisbon
458 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
#107 of 253 in Lisbon
975 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#78 of 253 in Lisbon
1,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 253 in Lisbon
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Av de Roma, 33, Lisbon 1749-074, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £51 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a modern 3 star hotel. It is strategically located on one of Lisbon main arteries, the Avenida de Roma. It is close to the international airport and to underground and train stations, this way allowing quick access (10 minutes) both to the city’s historical centre and to the most modern Lisbon area (Parque das Nacoes). Its spacious and welcoming lobby invites you to enjoy its services: 2 restaurants, bar, meeting rooms, Internet access point, garage, laundry, souvenir shop and unisex hairdresser. Hotel Roma offers 263 rooms: 182 Standard rooms, 37 Executive rooms, 44 Family rooms. It is the perfect place for those who travel to Lisbon for business or leisure. You will find in Hotel Roma 376 m2 of meeting rooms for the organization of events, meetings, congresses, seminars or exhibitions. We have a team of professionals that will provide you with a tailored and high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing