We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value hotel.”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #114 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice value hotel.”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. I really liked it. Everything works except that the wifi is very slow during peak hours but after midnight it picks up. The breakfast buffet is "ok." I couldn't believe they didn't have bacon. Almost all hotels i've stayed in that serves continental breakfast have bacon. It should be standard like free wifi. The only real downside of this hotel is that it's 7 stops via metro from the city center. So it's a bit far from where the action is. But overall, it's value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erickson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    742
    317
    55
    34
See reviews for
500
383
127
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is not the best hotel in Lisbon, but it si a very good choice. Close to a metro station, you can easily move around the city. Mano shops and restaurants are in teve newrby, though. The rooms are big enough, same with the toilet. Good quality towels and linen. The downside can be the thin walls (you can hear almost everything from the next room), the small and old tv and the hard to deal with air con remote control.
Quite reasonable and plenty breakfast.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkenberg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Roma, Lisbon one night in October 2013. The hotel is situated about one block from the Roma metro station on the Green Line. In just a matter of minutes you can be in the centre of the town. The room we stayed in (a standard double with queen-sized bed) was of average size, clean and nice but with a feeling of past time in colours and equipment . The bathroom was also clean and fully functioning. Breakfast was included in our rate, however as we had an early flight the next day and we was not able to enjoy breakfast . The airport is not fare from the hotel an we paid about 10 Euro. This is a nice hotel for just a stop over but you should not have to much expectations about comfort and style.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

THE BEST: Close to the Underground, good breakfast buffet, many rooms, comfortable and nice wellcome.
THE WORST: Private parking costs an extra, too much noise in the main hall.
OTHER: The lifts are fast but small...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Breakfast - OK
Service - OK
Location - OK
Quality - OK

Problem I have (and most American's will have) is the ELEVATORS ARE GROSSLY TINY AND CLAUSTROPHOBIC! I will not recommend this to anyone because of simply the elevators. It's is like a 2' X 2' box. Imagine that? Only myself and one kid, and one suitcase can fit inside the lift so you better say your prayers that it doesn't get stuck.

Why would they make a large hotel with such tiny tiny elevators? I guess if you stay on the ground floor it's good? I would never stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linyi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Roma in Lisbon over one night in March 2013. The hotel is situated about one block from the Roma metro station on the Green Line. In just a matter of minutes you can be in the center of the historical district by riding the nice, comfortable Lisbon Metro about 7 stops to the center.

The area in which the hotel is situated is nothing special; it is definitely not an area in which tourists would be interested. However, it is a safe, modern business locale that has a few cafes/restaurants and shops along the Avenida de Roma. I walked about at night in the area immediately around the hotel and never felt unsafe.

The property is a multi-story modern building that serves its purpose well as a hotel. Check-in was fast and there is a bell-boy to help with luggage. I wouldn't say that the hotel is contemporary in its decor, relying mostly on light-colored wood furnishings that hearken back to the 80s and 90s, but everything is in good working order and well-maintained. The room I stayed in (a standard double with queen-sized bed) was of average size, clean and nicely appointed. The bathroom, although on the smaller side, was also clean and fully functioning. I can say that I certainly did not feel as though I was staying in luxury, but neither did I feel as though I was in anything less than a 4-star property.

Breakfast was included in my rate, however as I had an early flight the next day, I was not able to partake of breakfast. I did notice that the hotel had a fairly large bar just off the bright and spacious lobby that provided a cozy environment for some drinks after a long day of business or sightseeing, as the case may be. The airport is about a 10-minute/8 Euros taxi ride away or you can take the Metro (change to Red Line) and save yourself a few euros.

All in all I am very satisfied with my stay at the Roma Hotel. Whether you are in Lisbon for business or holiday, it is good choice for closeness to public transport and its amenities. I would definitely stay at the Roma should I find myself in Lisbon again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cadejo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a nice hotel but the number of tour groups coming and going make for chaos and overcrowding. Elevators are almost impossible to get into so ask for a room on a lower floor so you can take the stairs. It is one block to the Metro and 7 stops to the centre. there is free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jubliladaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#143 of 248 in Lisbon
448 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.9 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#77 of 248 in Lisbon
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
#106 of 248 in Lisbon
943 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Av de Roma, 33, Lisbon 1749-074, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a modern 3 star hotel. It is strategically located on one of Lisbon main arteries, the Avenida de Roma. It is close to the international airport and to underground and train stations, this way allowing quick access (10 minutes) both to the city’s historical centre and to the most modern Lisbon area (Parque das Nacoes). Its spacious and welcoming lobby invites you to enjoy its services: 2 restaurants, bar, meeting rooms, Internet access point, garage, laundry, souvenir shop and unisex hairdresser. Hotel Roma offers 263 rooms: 182 Standard rooms, 37 Executive rooms, 44 Family rooms. It is the perfect place for those who travel to Lisbon for business or leisure. You will find in Hotel Roma 376 m2 of meeting rooms for the organization of events, meetings, congresses, seminars or exhibitions. We have a team of professionals that will provide you with a tailored and high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing