We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent staff!”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #111 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

In my very humble opinión i must say that this hotel is at a great location pretty near the airport almost 10 minute short drive. The beds are ok nothing memorable here, the thing about the trains at night is true to much noise. The staff is very polite, and very helpfull. You won't Believe how old is the tv and the phone in Room... The walls are so thin that i heard a guy Telling to a couple that be quiet and the guy wasn't even screaming.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank venezuelancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Tap put me in this hotel due to a flight delay as it was 15 mins from airport. The rooms were reasonably clean but basic - mattresses firm. I was initially given a 2 mini single bed room with faulty aircon which I asked to change . First the receptionist said no doubles available (without consulting the computer) and when I insisted and got stroppy miraculously one apoeared- which was better. However the free wifi service didnt work, the breakfast was of poor quality with little variety and coffee like dishwater and the bar food consisted of a dry toasted sandwich - with hardly any filling.
The staff in general were surly and lazy and could do with a customer service course urgently. The worst was the barman who was loud, rude and even insulting - obviously irritated by late arrivals although he should remember he is lucky to have a job - late or not. The reception, lobby, halls and bar area need new furniture, tiles and bringing into the 21st century in general. The two lifts are insufficient for the 10 floors of the hotel - especially at check out times. The young evening porter - was the only pleasant person in this hotel and deserves a promotion- the others should learn from him about being customer friendly. I would never stay in this hotel out of choice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank Caroljonmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

As this is close to the airport and we had a flight to catch the next day, this was convenient. Most of the staff, except for thr porter who took our luggage out of storage, were dour faced. Our room smelled of stale smoke, although we were non smokers. The room was oppressively hot and the fans were not working; sleeping with the window open was not an option as traffic noise would drift in. Also, it was hard for us to find places to
Eat in the afternoon or later in the night. The hotel did include an expansive and pretty tasty buffet breakfast.

2  Thank Pooti
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Hotel Roma is well situated, near the large conference centre, LNEC, and metro & bus routes. The hotel was clean with helpful staff. The facilities are a bit basic with unstable (free) WiFi. With breakfast provided at a reasonable room charge, this was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have given a score of ZERO for this hotel were we stayed a group of 32 people this weekend for the Lisbon half-Marathon not because everything was bad but to ensure that others do not have he same problems we encountered. For our needs Asa. Group the hotel was located just next to Roma tube station which was very practical in terms of getting to the city centre and to the start of race reachable by train the other side of bridge directly from Roma Arreio train station just opposite the hotel. Hotel was clean and offered free wifi which unfortunately was the only thing that was free!
HOTEL ROMA NOT RECOMMENDED FOR LARGE GROUPS OF ATHLETES TAKING PART IN LISBON HALF-MARATHON!
Now the reason for not rating this hotel with any points:
Arrived all together as group on Friday lunchtime from airport and even though hotel was advised of groups arrival time, we were told the rooms were not ready until 13:30-14:00
Left our luggage therefore and went sightseeing until evening!
Group leader was charged 2 euros for making a 1 minute phone call made from reception to local restaurant in Lisbon to confirm reservation and that taking into account hat it was restaurant recommended by hotel and that reservation was made in name of hotel which obviously means they got a commission from restaurant.
Breakfast was fairly complete but if anyone wanted a yoghurt the hotel was able to provide at an extra cost as it was not included in the half-board.
On our departure day (Sunday) the travel agency had made a request for late check-out so that we could all shower upon return for 21km race before having lunch in hotel restaurant at 15:00 .
To our astonishment the hotel who had not given a written confirmation to the travel agent but had assured them that all would be perfect for our group, informed our group leader that they would provide 2 large rooms free of charge until 15:00 for all 30 people to shower and get ready for return trip back to Barcelona.
When asking the hotel why ey could not provide all rooms on late check out until 15:00 they told us that they were fully booked for Sunday night ! And they were very sorry but had no rooms available past the 12:00 check-out other than the 2 they were offering.
When asked if anyone wanted to stay longer and pay for an extension to keep room they said it would cost 30€ to keep room until 17:00
So then suddenly the hotel went from being full and no rooms available to everyone wanting to keep their room from he 14 rooms we had could do so if they agreed to pay! How bizarre! Amazing how paying an extra 30€ to have a shower and leave room 3 hours later than normal check-out time solves the problem of the hotel Not having any rooms available due to paying full on a Sunday night! Would be the only hotel in the world that has a full occupancy on a Sunday night!
Anyway askin to speak to the hotel director to discuss the issue, we were told (very convenient for hotel) that he would only be available on our departure day as of 9 am when we would already be on our way to race.
Upon our return to hotel we asked to see the director who unfortunately was not around at this moment. When we asked for the reception staff to call him on phone they said it was weekend and could not get through to him.
We told the reception staff that it was an issue between the director and our travel agent and that we had to leave for airport and we're not in agreement to pay. As everyone started boarded the bus, our bus driver was instructed by hotel staff to unload all our luggage off the bus! The bus had nothing to do with he hotel as our travel agent had booked this service apart but this we as the hotels way to blackmail us into paying he extra 300 or so Euros that the staff on duty was not in position to decide to waiver as they said only the director who was not available was authorised to take the decision.
We do not recommend this hotel for groups taking part in any sporting event organised by the city of Lisbon as the hotel is clearly unable to accommodate special needs on special days where the city organises an event that has over 40000 participants getting back to their hotels for shower and lunch after 13:30 pm!
Hotel staff liars and unfriendly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDA4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have been treated really bad. With arrogance. We are a group trying to enjoy the city and this has been a black spot on the trip. Shame on the management and the staff who have shown little flexibility, lack of empathy. And shame on the food of the restaurant. Expensive and poorly cooked

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Luiso1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, it was very confortable, the breakfast was good also. The location its pretty good, even that is far from the tourist area, it is a in a very nice area, near shops and restaurants. Was either very expensive, easy access from the airport!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#171 of 255 in Lisbon
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#101 of 255 in Lisbon
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 255 in Lisbon
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Av de Roma, 33, Lisbon 1749-074, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £49 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a modern 3 star hotel. It is strategically located on one of Lisbon main arteries, the Avenida de Roma. It is close to the international airport and to underground and train stations, this way allowing quick access (10 minutes) both to the city’s historical centre and to the most modern Lisbon area (Parque das Nacoes). Its spacious and welcoming lobby invites you to enjoy its services: 2 restaurants, bar, meeting rooms, Internet access point, garage, laundry, souvenir shop and unisex hairdresser. Hotel Roma offers 263 rooms: 182 Standard rooms, 37 Executive rooms, 44 Family rooms. It is the perfect place for those who travel to Lisbon for business or leisure. You will find in Hotel Roma 376 m2 of meeting rooms for the organization of events, meetings, congresses, seminars or exhibitions. We have a team of professionals that will provide you with a tailored and high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing