We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #119 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

I was a bit concerned when I read some of the reviews on this hotel. However, I found the Hotel Roma to be very clean and comfortable. The rooms are an average size. The buffet breakfast was quite good. Whilst the hotel does get a lot of coach parties, this is to be expected in a large hotel. It didn't bother me. They could do with an extra elevator as the two are quite busy. Reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StacyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    701
    303
    52
    31
See reviews for
470
351
119
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

If you miss a connection or flight through Air Portugal, this is where you will possibly stay. it is one of the worst hotels I've experienced. I would never stay here on my own knowing what I know now unless I wasn't in possessions of my faculties.

Just like other reviewers pointed out, the reception staff is terrible, the outside of the hotel is blacken from years of traffic, dirt and the elements. The room is dirty, the TV was so small I thought it was a joke.

During check-in I managed to get a glimpse of the people staying at the hotel due to Air Portugal screw ups. it was easy 85% of all people in the hotel.

In my opinion this is what the marriage of Hotel Roma and Air Portugal is all about: This hotel would never survive on its own so it needs Air Portugal but at the same time it does not like the agreement. Air Portugal needs a pigsty to dump passengers that is cheap and they have some leverage. Put these two together and you have his terrible experience.

After 4 hours in this hotel I called a cab, changed hotels and payed another one from my own pocket.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

You will be surprised by the deceptive appearance of this hotel. It looks like a youth hostel from the outside but it is like a tardis and is very nice and comfortable inside. The bar area is nice, comfortable and reasonably priced. We did not have any evening meals there but the breakfast was ok. There is a metro station with access to Central Lisbon only a five minute walk away and it costs 1.3 euros for a single journey. The rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeanutDotJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed at the hotel Roma in Lisbon in Feb 09 for 4 days the staff were about as friendly as a pit bull terrier , the food also left a lot to be desired and that is no Joke.
Durin our stay we noticed people going to the airport via the Hotel courtesy bus , my wife and I were willing to pay and when we asked about the bus we were told they did not have this service , so on the day of our check sereval people in front of us checked out , as did we , my wife and I then got a taxi , as we were getting out of the taxi to our suprise guess what the Roma hotel Coourtesy bus turned parked next to us and all the people that were checking out got of the bus , Lisbon was very very expensive , the hotel was some 6 miles away form the centre But 1 positive thing it was close to the metro, that is the only postive thing , for a 3 star hotel we found it very disapointing , but very clean.
To sum if you can I would give it a miss and stay near the centre but watch out for pick pockets and thieves it is rife with them, a lady sat next to us in a cafe got her hand bag stolen while we eat dinner. We sqw nothing there are nicer places to visit
I mature couple from Yorkshire.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobies369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyporeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

After a long wait we were checked into the wrong room. They had checked us into a twin room, despite the booking confirmation clearly stating double. No apologies were given, and another very long wait started. Eventually we got the right room type. The room was very spacious, very clean and relatively quiet.

The food at Roma is generally of a good quality. Breakfast is fine, and there is a varied choice. No problems with lunch. We ate an evening meal at the hotel twice, the first time it was superb, the second time just average. There are some nice restaurants nearby so be sure to explore.

My only gripe with the hotel was the reception staff. They were absolutely awful; rude and disinterested. There also seems to be an abundance of managers on duty at any one time, all who appear to be doing very little! The rest of the staff are quite friendly though.

Overall, this was an enjoyable stay. The price is pretty cheap, but that doesn't give certain staff the right to ignore you!

  • Liked — Good food, clean room, close to public transport
  • Disliked — Reception staff were terrible
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank peter5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#147 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#58 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#129 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#128 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Alif Hotel
#152 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Av de Roma, 33, Lisbon 1749-074, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a modern 3 star hotel. It is strategically located on one of Lisbon main arteries, the Avenida de Roma. It is close to the international airport and to underground and train stations, this way allowing quick access (10 minutes) both to the city’s historical centre and to the most modern Lisbon area (Parque das Nacoes). Its spacious and welcoming lobby invites you to enjoy its services: 2 restaurants, bar, meeting rooms, Internet access point, garage, laundry, souvenir shop and unisex hairdresser. Hotel Roma offers 263 rooms: 182 Standard rooms, 37 Executive rooms, 44 Family rooms. It is the perfect place for those who travel to Lisbon for business or leisure. You will find in Hotel Roma 376 m2 of meeting rooms for the organization of events, meetings, congresses, seminars or exhibitions. We have a team of professionals that will provide you with a tailored and high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing