We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roma Hotel”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #112 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 19 November 2009

In the heart of Lisbon, quite expensive, but everywere is near by foot includind estadio da luz

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
Thank dachongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

You will be surprised when you pull up outside of this hotel, the area supposedly good it very tatty and the front of the hotel looks quite grim. However once inside it is very clean and modern.

Our room was comfortable but the view left a lot to be desired (see photos attached). There are lots of what can only be described as ´scruffy´ apartment blocks outside and the hotel is right next to the metro station. However we found that the hotel was quiet, the staff pleasant and efficient and once indoors you could forget the tat outside.

The bar area is nice and reasonably priced. We had lunch in the restaurant which was excellent. Good prices, good lunch and as there were only a couple of us at that time of day we were spoilt by the waiting staff who enjoyed a chat.

The hotel caters for lots of tour parties and at times this did make it difficult getting the lift especially as we were on the 9th floor but overall our stay was short but pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aguilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Stayed one night at the hotel with a group of 21. I thought the rooms were great and the view of the city nice. The hotel experienced a lenthy delay in checking us in but we walked outside and there were plenty of sites and restuarants to keep us occupied. Only there for overnight would probably as we continued onto Fatima; I would probably not stay there again but more in the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BakuBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Travelling in a group you don't get to choose your hotel, otherwise we would have been in the centre of the city. The Metro is close by - rather too close if your room is on the side that overlooks the track, noisy from 5.30am - and a day ticket costs 4.20 euros and covers trams and buses too. Food wasn't bad, except for one dinner which our table of three refused; looked like leftovers and tasted of nothing. We were offered a salad instead, but when the replacement arrived we were given pork fillets and chips, quite tasty and coveted by neighbouring tables! The waiter in the bar was particularly pleasant and knew our drinks by the second night, but the dining room staff were rather surly. The room was clean, towels were changed daily, but no fridge or minibar and just scahets of shampoo & gel and soaps - overall it served its purpose. In and around Lisbon, prices are often ower than Spain - our cheapest coffee was 60 cents!!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank covkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I was a bit concerned when I read some of the reviews on this hotel. However, I found the Hotel Roma to be very clean and comfortable. The rooms are an average size. The buffet breakfast was quite good. Whilst the hotel does get a lot of coach parties, this is to be expected in a large hotel. It didn't bother me. They could do with an extra elevator as the two are quite busy. Reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StacyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

If you miss a connection or flight through Air Portugal, this is where you will possibly stay. it is one of the worst hotels I've experienced. I would never stay here on my own knowing what I know now unless I wasn't in possessions of my faculties.

Just like other reviewers pointed out, the reception staff is terrible, the outside of the hotel is blacken from years of traffic, dirt and the elements. The room is dirty, the TV was so small I thought it was a joke.

During check-in I managed to get a glimpse of the people staying at the hotel due to Air Portugal screw ups. it was easy 85% of all people in the hotel.

In my opinion this is what the marriage of Hotel Roma and Air Portugal is all about: This hotel would never survive on its own so it needs Air Portugal but at the same time it does not like the agreement. Air Portugal needs a pigsty to dump passengers that is cheap and they have some leverage. Put these two together and you have his terrible experience.

After 4 hours in this hotel I called a cab, changed hotels and payed another one from my own pocket.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

You will be surprised by the deceptive appearance of this hotel. It looks like a youth hostel from the outside but it is like a tardis and is very nice and comfortable inside. The bar area is nice, comfortable and reasonably priced. We did not have any evening meals there but the breakfast was ok. There is a metro station with access to Central Lisbon only a five minute walk away and it costs 1.3 euros for a single journey. The rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeanutDotJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#172 of 255 in Lisbon
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#98 of 255 in Lisbon
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 255 in Lisbon
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Av de Roma, 33, Lisbon 1749-074, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a modern 3 star hotel. It is strategically located on one of Lisbon main arteries, the Avenida de Roma. It is close to the international airport and to underground and train stations, this way allowing quick access (10 minutes) both to the city’s historical centre and to the most modern Lisbon area (Parque das Nacoes). Its spacious and welcoming lobby invites you to enjoy its services: 2 restaurants, bar, meeting rooms, Internet access point, garage, laundry, souvenir shop and unisex hairdresser. Hotel Roma offers 263 rooms: 182 Standard rooms, 37 Executive rooms, 44 Family rooms. It is the perfect place for those who travel to Lisbon for business or leisure. You will find in Hotel Roma 376 m2 of meeting rooms for the organization of events, meetings, congresses, seminars or exhibitions. We have a team of professionals that will provide you with a tailored and high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing