We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifique! Good location, close to the coast and lots to see,starting with the Monastery across the road.”
Review of Jeronimos 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jeronimos 8
Ranked #162 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magnifique! Good location, close to the coast and lots to see,starting with the Monastery across the road.”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Clean,modern hotel with modern facilities.Sadly, no gym in hotel, however, great location for jogging and sight-seeing walks.Close to bus stop and abundant taxis,trams etc never had a problem getting anywhere! Monastery definitely worth a visit and Belem is stunning with lots of museums to explore!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoziTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    140
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
121
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Land in Lisbon and take a taxi to your hotel (many web-sites recommend taking the d Aerobus but we believe this would take too long ).

The line up at the airport for the taxis will be long but it moves quickly. Make sure you have the Portugese name and address of your hotel as it is just easy to hand to your taxi driver.

In April 2012 my husband and I started a 12 day trip around Portugal. In Lisbon we stayed at the Jeronimos 8 hotel in the Belem district of Portugal.

While the hotel was clean, in a very quiet residential neighbourhood near the water, you’d have to take a taxi or tram to visit downtown Portugal (i.e., it is not within walking distance and we like to walk). Therefore, I would recommend staying a hotel in the area around the Four Seasons Hotel which looks like it would be a fairly short walk to the bustling historic core.

If you do stay at Jeronimos 8, it is across the street from the Monastery Jeronimos (monastery cost 5 euros to enter but the church is free) and is only about 3 blocks from the coach museum (5 euros entrance). Both are worth a visit.

A two-minute walk down the street from the hotel is the famous “Pasties de Belem”- At 1.25 Euros it’s worth standing in line to get a couple.

There are many small, restaurants in the neighbourhood, all with multilingual menus (look for several in the block that starts at McDonald’s). Almost all serve an assortment of fresh fish with some beef and pork. There are no pizzas, pastas, sandwiches, etc.

While in Lisbon I recommend taking the Yellow Bus hop-on-hop-off tour which connects to different lines and a trolley system. Access to the city’s trams are included in the price. Be warned -- the buses are rarely on schedule and the old-style trollies have limited seating and are almost always packed with people (ie if you manage to get on, don’t get off). We took all of the different colours of the tour lines. The Purple Line doesn’t go through any historic district but it does cover the entire city therefore, I would only recommend taking the Purple Line if you have lots of time. The Blue Line is the best tour. Get the Red Line (the old trolley) from it’s starting point so that you'll be sure to get a seat.

If you're staying at Jeronimos the Yellow Bus starts down on the far side of the monastery (there is a sign) at around 11 am (it only starts from downtown at 9:45 and therefore doesn’t arrive at the Monastary until 11 am). We bought tickets at our hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife won this wonderful trip with Smooth Radio. We were told by the organizers just how good this hotel was from their personal experience and boy were they right. Arriving at Lisbon airport we were met by a chauffeur with a top of the range Mercedes and whisked off into Lisbon. Literally 30 minutes after touching down we arrived at the Jeronimos 8 Hotel. First impressions were of a fairly nondescript building but don't let this fool you, everything about this hotel is first class, from the staff on reception to the rooms, the restaurant, the food and particularly the famous Belem pasteis which are free at breakfast for you to take away with you to enjoy as a snack later, a brilliant touch which saves joining the huge queues outside.
Belem itself is full of museums, galleries, parks and restaurants and you could spend your holiday here without going into Lisbon itself, but please do go, enjoy the trams and the fabulous shops then retire back to the serenity of the jeronimos 8 for your evening drink and meal.
Overall, a brilliant stay. one of the best we have ever had and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with absolutley no reservations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cricketfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed at this very well appointed modern clean functioning hotel whilst attending a conference in Lisbon. The staff were friendly, welcoming, helpful, spoke really good English( my Portugeuse is lousy) and were very knowledgeable about the local area and Lisbon in general.

Put this on your list of hotels to use if you are ever in Lisbon. The additions benefit is its just next door to the Jeronimos Abbey in Belem a world heritage site and attendant park and gardens. If the hotel is a jewel the Abbey is a jewelled crown. Local restaurants are also reasonably priced and food superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timandjulie1076977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel is well located and has a very modern and fresh feel to it. The reception check-in process was painless and polite which is always a nice purprise. The breakfast buffet was not over the top by suffucuent for a good start to the day. Good in-room products and overall an actual 4-star hotel experience

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking out over the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel 15 mins outside of Lisbon however, transport to and from Lisbon is simple and cheap. The staff are def the nicest I have met in my recent years of travel. You are made very welcome when you arrive and the lovely guy who checked us in (early on the 21st Aug)) offered assistance on things to do without us asking...Very nice. We had a suite with 2 sets of patio doors which was really lovely and a few steps away from a terrace where you can relax with a drink from your mini bar or the hotel bar, so relaxing reading your book with a vino in the afternoon sun and especially after a hectic day sightseeing in Lisbon....which was amaxing. Rooms were immaculate and our bed was massive and comfy, mini bar very reasonable too. Breakfast just perfect...great choice from fruits. cereals, yogurts, rolls, hot croisants, toast, eggs, sausages,bacon.....oh and not too forget the famous belem pastries which saved us queueing for hours at the shop....a very nice touch . There is also a lovely shop about a hundred yards away and the man who owns it is so nice and even kept my fav bottle of wine chilled for me which we took for picnics. Its very modern but I have had my share of older places where things dont work so this was ideal for us....cant fault this place however felt the port in the bar was pricey however it was my choice as I asked for a nice one !!! Lots to do in Belem as well as Lisbon and lots of restaurants on your doorstep with parks nearby for a stroll...the coach museum is also in Belem , and a trip to Cascais takes 20 minutes. One thing I thought was over and above expectations was that everytime you passed reception you were always met with hello and goodbye....We were made to feel welcome and cant wait to return. Thanks to all the people at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: go fo the suite with private terrace and two comfy chairs with access to the courtyard, well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hapytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were in LIsbon two times for this vacation, starting there and then ending there after a side trip to the Algarve. We decided to book two different hotels in two different areas and Jeronimo 8 was the second place we stayed.


After being in central Lisbon for the first part of our journey we were concerned about moving out to Belem, where this hotel is located. But the Belem area has much to offer and so does this hotel.

It is spotless. Comfortable, the staff is so friendly and cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is lovely, nice assortment, also great staffing.

Belem is filled with places to see. Of course we stopped at he Monestery, and the the modern art collection in the Cultural Center. The water front has many monuments and the park areas are great for nature lovers. The President's palace is in this town. And the of course there is a famous bakery, open till 11 pm and always busy.

To get into Lisbon proper after touring for a good part of the day we tool a river cruise from the Belem waterfront to downtown LIsbon. A very pleasant hour.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#41 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos
#1 of 2 in Linda-a-Velha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Pensao Residencial Setubalense
Belem
Casa Amarela Belem
Casa Amarela Belem
#133 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Famous Crows Hostel
#315 of 659 in Lisbon District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeronimos 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeronimos 8

Property: Jeronimos 8
Address: Rua dos Jeronimos 8, Lisbon 1400-211, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Da Torre)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#70 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#110 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jeronimos 8 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel decorated with 19th century tiles offers modern comforts, restaurant and bar; located in tourist area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jeronimos 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeronimos 8 Hotel Lisbon
Jeronimos 8 Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing