We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop in Belem”
Review of Jeronimos 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jeronimos 8
Ranked #170 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Jeronomos 8 is a modern hotel in Belem, near the Torre do Belem. The lobby is modern, fresh and comfortable, The welcome from the staff is professional and pleasant.

The hotel offers a range of rooms, my single use twin room was a little compact. Fine for my single use but perhaps a bit tight for a couple, and the access to the bath, for someone of any infirmity, or, shall we say large frame, could be interesting...

The hotel has a Bistro bar, I dined there on both nights. It is never fun going to a restaurant in a strange city on your own. The food, possibly microwaved was actally quite presentable. The service from the bar done with a smile, and the house red was of a quality that would embarass most mid range wines in UK restaurants.

Would I stay here again? I think I would. It is 20 minutes from the airport, a short walk from the harbour at Belem and its parcs and museums.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EwanFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Jeronimos 8
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very convenient location, great service, good breakfast, modern room (our room was very spacious and comfortable with big bathroom). We could park our car without any problem on the street in front of the hotel, free! Public transportation, many great sites, restaurants, etc. within walking distance. Good and safe area!

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floors away from the main street - and it will be absolutely quiet!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJS514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have just returned from a week in Lisbon, been there for a professional conference. Actually I chose thie hotel randomally from a list of hotels given to me.
I was lucky!
The hotel is situated in Belem, a rather historic part of the city and just facing the beautiful monastery after which it is named.
The neighborhood is peaceful, a very impportant fact for me.
I have celiac disease and the dining room provided a gluten free bread as well as ceral for breakfast.
This is not very obviuos in many hotels..
And last-The hotel is nicely decorated, modern, clean and the stuff is super friendly!!
I recommend with all my heart
Sonia
Israel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is across the street from the Monastery and 6 other attractions in Lisbon. The # 15 tram stops at the Monastery from downtown every 20 minutes. It's clean,quiet with good beds and pillows. The rooms are small but manageable. The breakfast is huge with warm fresh Pastei's. We got to the airport in one hour from the hotel by using the #15 tram to the metro then into the airport. I would absolutely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murpsus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at Jeronimos8 for 5days/4nights and liked the location in Belem very much. The reception staff is super friendly and very helpful. As it was summer holiday season it was very hard to get a rental car. The front desk guy - who greeted us very friendly when we arrived went out of his way trying 40mins to find us a car and managed with the 5 car rental company a commercial Fiat Doplo, not our dream holiday car, but he found the impossible for a reasonable price.

The hotel itself is good, but not great. We had a Junior suite on the 4th floor - room 307. The room looks a bit tired with wall and furniture scratches and a spotty flooring. Its next to the elevator and therefore one could hear the noise from early morning to about midnight, nothing for people with a light sleep.

Breakfast is nice, bit gets boring after the second day. Nice scrambled eggs, original Pasteis from the famous bakery next door, good strong coffee, fresh fruit and yummy cold cuts, but every day the very same. The kitchen seemed to be just underneath our room, as we could smell the brekkie every morning from 7am onwards through the aircon... made us hungry, but the smell was kind of oily.

All in all, it was a nice stay, in a great location with some real upside (staff) and some really downsides (room).

Room Tip: Avoid room 307, as it is next to the elevator!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2WorldtravellersSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel is located across the street from the Jerónimos Monastry. The famous Pastei de Belém is just around the corner as wel as Starbucks and Mc Donalds. There are bus and tram stops within 1 min walk from the hotel as well.
The room we had was spacious, quiet and a good working airconditioning. The king bed is large and very comfortable. The shower & bath is a bit small but good. There are 2 sinks which is convenient.
The interior is too white and empty in my opinion (it looked like someone tried to kill a mosquito on the ceiling). It could use some decoration.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. Very conveniently located, right next to the Jerónimos Monastery. The Torre de Belém, the Padrão dos Descobrimentos, Pastéis de Belém and other Belém sights are all within walking distance. Added bonus: The famous pastels de nata are served at breakfast. Breakfast overall is excellent.
Rooms are small, some of them have the AC airstream directed at the bed, which is highly inconvenient. The modern style is a matter of taste (I liked it), the round sinks are somewhat unpractical. You may be able to experience traffic noises or hear sounds from the nearby bird park, but noise level is overall bearable.
Best thing is definitely the staff, who are super friendly! I enjoyed my stay here, the convenient location allowed me to stroll along the banks of the Tejo after my meetings. Downtown Lisbon is easily reached by either bus (30min) or train (train station is NOT on the public transport maps, but it is the fastest way to get to Cais do Sodré and from there to downtown Lisbon - ticket system is somewhat confusing, but again, the staff was very helpful!)
4/5 for unfortunately placed AC (can't sleep with AC on) and oddly shaped sinks (try cleaning up after shaving). If you have a light sleep, noise level might be a concern - can be remedied with a beer or two.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Down w Trippy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#74 of 253 in Lisbon
234 reviews
SANA Executive Hotel
#99 of 253 in Lisbon
523 reviews
Vila Gale Opera
#133 of 253 in Lisbon
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Pensao Residencial Setubalense
Belem
Casa Amarela Guesthouse
Casa Amarela Guesthouse
#100 of 483 in Lisbon
19 reviews
Belem
Terrace Hostel
Terrace Hostel
#286 of 483 in Lisbon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeronimos 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeronimos 8

Address: Rua dos Jeronimos 8, Lisbon 1400-211, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Da Torre)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#69 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#114 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £110 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jeronimos 8 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel decorated with 19th century tiles offers modern comforts, restaurant and bar; located in tourist area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jeronimos 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeronimos 8 Hotel Lisbon
Jeronimos 8 Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing