We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant clean and welcoming hotel, conveniently located”
Review of Botanico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botanico Hotel
Ranked #148 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We were happy with our stay at this hotel and would recommend it. The reception staff were helpful, the rooms were clean, and it was in a good position, a short walk from Avenida de Liberdade, Bairro Alto, the Miradouro viewpoint, Botanical Gardens, and not too far to walk into the centre/waterfront. Not great for anyone with mobility difficulties though as it is half way up a steep hill with narrow uneven pavements.
There are plenty of restaurants within a short walk, including some small neighbourhood restaurants where you can eat good cheap local food. Also nearby is Pavilhao Chinese, great for an after dinner drink.
The breakfast was good, with a wide selection of fresh fruit, fresh bread, cheese, yoghourt, basic hotel cereals and cooked breakfast. Coffee was kept warm in a vat, as was the water for tea (note I say warm, not hot!). There was also a coffee machine but it used some very strange tasting coffee (Turkish maybe?).
The street could be quite noisy in the evenings with the window open, and our aircon was not very effective, so our 4th floor south facing room was a little too warm. We were disturbed in the early hours of Saturday night/Sunday morning by very loud noise from the bar downstairs, but this only happened once, and was not unbearably loud with the window shut.
Our 4th floor room was a little small but adequate, our friends' 2nd floor east facing room was a little bigger and cooler. Only basic toiletries are provided (soap, shampoo, shower gel).
There are 2 very small (2 person) lifts, which seemed to cope with the number of guests.

Room Tip: South facing rooms are hot. 4th floor rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriciaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

I cannot understand the other good reviews for this hotel?!! You will not be to sleep even with the window being closed!! Just opposite the hotel at the corner is a night club, which produces terrible noise between 0200 -- 0600 from Thursday till Saturday! Even for 60 EUR this is a catastrophy!!
Besides this: The carpet _stinks!

Do not book this hotel, or only if you go out till 5 or 6 am...

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reist_gerne_herum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We are here at the beginning of August. The room was very easy to book and the staff were helpful in helping us find the place. Basically, from the airport, take the airport bus to Avenida, and walk up the hill. When we arrived the staff was very welcoming and offered us a complimentary glass of Porto wine. Before we arrived I told the staff we were in Lisbon for our honeymoon, and the staff member was more than gracious in offering a congratulatory message to us. The hotel is located close to major attractions, buses, subway, restaurants and the Bairro Alto. A very great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFront78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

In the last 4 years I might have stayd 100 nights at hotel Botanico, because of their nice, clean rooms, good beds, extremely friendly staff and perfect location close to nice restaurants, bars and the Lisbon city-center with its many shops and cultural locations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel at the end of March with a friend. We had a twin room on the 4th floor with a good sized bathroom and bedroom. We had a good view of the city. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and there was a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel is set high on the edge of the hill and is a little difficult to find until you see the sign on the roof. You do need to be quite mobile. Places to eat are fairly close but not exactly beside the hotel.For myself and my friend we found that the hotel was ideally located to venues we frequented in the Principal Real and Biarro Alto areas and close to Principal Real park which we walked back to the hotel through in the early hours of the morning. Finally the hotel was excellent value for money at that time of year.namely March.

Room Tip: A room on the south side of the hotel would have a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briand2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Lisbon is built on hills and this hotel is near the top of one. Don't let that put you off. The Barrio Alto is not far away up and has loads of restaurants (see Black Swan) so it is downhill on the way back. Pleasant lounge bar but not used very much. Limited free parking but we always managed to find a place. Staff very good.My wife would have liked a mirror in the room not just a small one in the bathroom and a less lumpy pillow.

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor (46) which faces north. Interesting view of the many contrasting buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N10BOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just returned yesterday from a 3 nights in Lisbon staying at the hotel Botanico, firstly the hotel is on top of a hill but don't let that put you off cos half the buildings in Lisbon are on a hill, the city is very hilly full stop but the hill is very manageable!
The hotel ticked every box that I look for, it was clean, well priced, the staff were very friendly and the location was perfect with it being just a short walk to Barrio Alto on one side and the city centre with it's main squares and central train station on the other, perfect for people on foot or whom want to use public transport to explore Lisbon!
On arriving at the hotel the staff were friendly and there was a free and very welcome drink in reception whilst we checked in, the reception staff answered all my questions about things to do and plces to see and directions to get around and couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean and the windown sound proofed for noise reduction but this hotel is on a very quiet road anyway so noise isn't a problem!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodsy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,269 reviews
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
#153 of 255 in Lisbon
688 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#130 of 255 in Lisbon
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Travel Park
#107 of 255 in Lisbon
767 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#156 of 255 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#125 of 255 in Lisbon
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanico Hotel

Address: Rua Mae D'Agua 16 20, Lisbon 1250-156, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £43 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Botanico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botanico Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing