We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel, good location, good price”
Review of Botanico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Botanico Hotel
Ranked #141 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple hotel, good location, good price”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

It's a simple hotel.
Simple service. Good location.
The parking it has few places.
Good turist information.
It's no so easy to get to the hotel the first time, cause Lisboa has a trafic disorder.
The wifi in the room works so so.
It's ok for two or three nights.
If i go back to Lisboa i could go again to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BegoCarulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    199
    76
    15
    4
See reviews for
71
161
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just what we needed. This place was great value and close to the main strip. Smallish rooms but beyond what we expected for a place for only €55/night.
Helpful staff. Up a slight hill but nothing to insane, only have to go up it once with your luggage anyway. Less than 5min walk to Avenida Metro station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is located in the city center, on a little hill in a small street so you need to pay attention to find it. Its not the most modern place but it is very good value for money, with extremely friendly staff. Highly recomended for a short weekend stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dspichtinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

What a find! I booked over the internet and crossed my fingers. I should not have worried; Botanico Hotel was a perfect base for a couple of “girls” to explore Lisbon. Close to everything yet tucked away from the worst of the city noise, we were able to see the sights of the city on foot – and carry our shopping back. Yes, uphill but very good for the waistline! We did use nearby cafes and restaurants for all our meals – just to experience more of city life. Helpful staff, a clean, reasonably-sized room and modern bar/lounge on the ground floor made for a comfortable stay. Free wifi too! Botanico set us up for a wonderful time in Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Textiletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel one night in June 2012 after a horrendous experience at another "hotel" on a central square. So I might be a bit skewed in my feelings for this place because it felt like a haven to me.

This place has got a great, safe, comfortable mixture of small-european-corporate-hotel feel and some of the warm-fuzzy of having a personable desk person. It's clean and relatively modern. The hotel is just a very short walk from one of the main tree-lined avenues of Lisbon and then on to one of the main squares where you can find tourist offices and post offices and tons of restaurants. The hotel is up a little side street that's up a little incline, away from everything enough that you won't hear a thing.

Just be careful if you walk home at night. There's a tiny little greenspace/park on the street which seems to house one or two of the city's drugged-out homeless. During the day it's a lovely little patch of green; I never felt particularly UNsafe, even at dusk. It's just something to know you're going to see.

The room has everything you need/want: fine bed(s), is super-clean, with a modern if small (not by Euro standards though) bathroom, wonderful air conditioning with remote control, etc. You can pay a little extra for access to the breakfast buffet downstairs which has almost every food you could want.

Downstairs in the lobby/lounge area, you can, if you want, buy a drink or coffee. I needed a computer with internet (didn't need wifi at the time - which I think they had for free) so the desk guy logged me into their tiny little netpad where you have to pay a bit much for each minute. By now, maybe they've got a better system, or really, most people have wifi devices so this is a non-issue.

For the price, comparatively, I would definitely stay here again if ever I'm in Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickelHooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Into nosebleed territory here. Botanico is at the top of a cul de sac with either a zig-zag road or a challenging set of steps to reach the summit.

Rooms are a bit poky and not the cleanest. Bathroom was tiny. Breakfast is served in the basement, a good selection available. My tariff said breakfast included. At checkout I was told otherwise. Hats off to the receptionist who deleted the bill for 4 breakfasts without any argument.

In the vicinity are some great restaurants and the nightlife is over the summit- less than 10 minutes stagger away.

You won't be spending much time in the hotel other than sleeping so I can't really fault it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Situated at the very top of Bairro Alto and overlooking Avenida da Liberdade this is a prominent location in Lisbon within 10 minutes' walk to the Metro and nightlife (about 20 minutes' drive to the airport too).

Friendly and amenable service from the outset and for €50 for a double room (including a very reasonable breakfast) this hotel offers good value for money.

I was moved from my original room (21) as the safety deposit box was broken; it also had signs of damp behind the curtains. Room 23 was offered as a replacement which provided a much nicer environment; the only problem being street noise from late night revellers passing back from Bairro Alto.

Amenities included basic toiletries and a good choice of TV channels as well as a reasonable mini-bar and welcome drink (Port, obviously). WiFi and air-con throughout.

Overall a satisfactory stay for a 2 night, first time trip to Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Lisbon City Hotel
#154 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Hotel Travel Park
#109 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
#127 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#135 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Hotel Dom Sancho I
#188 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanico Hotel

Property: Botanico Hotel
Address: Rua Mae D'Agua 16 20, Lisbon 1250-156, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botanico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botanico Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing