We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botanico Assessed”
Review of Botanico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botanico Hotel
Ranked #148 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Welcoming but dated hotel. Courteous staff helpful at all times. Clean en suite but thick bedspreads and curtains, plus carpet in bedrooms attract dust and the smell of cigarette ash where the No Smoking rule has not been adhered to. Unfortunately this prompted asthma symptoms, which the hotel tried to allay through additional cleaning. However, it marred the holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is very good for the price and it is in the center of Lisbon. You can walk just about anywhere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As soon as we checked in they gave us a welcome drink which was a good port wine and they also gave us a map of Lisbon and circled places of interest and wrote down how to get there and which method of transportation we could use if we chose to (most were within walking distance). Our flight arrived in Lisbon at 7am and even though check in is at noon they let us check in early and we had a room ready by 9am. We checked out around 10am but our flight wasn't until 7pm. They put our bags in a closet behind the front desk and we were able to keep touring Lisbon without having to carry our luggage with us until we returned to pick up our luggage and catch our flight. The rooms are very basic but are very clean and in good condition. The only downfall is that the hotel is at the top of a hill but other than that everything else was great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sndvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

For what I paid, this hotel was very good. The location is almost perfect, the only thing that lets it down is the fact that it is on the top of the hill. It is right in the centre and you can walk almost everywhere! The rooms are basic (to be expected for a 3 star hotel, I guess), but more than sufficient for a weekend stay. They could do with refurbishing in reality as they look quite dated but the cleanliness cannot be faulted. The breakfast is great value and I was shocked by how much choice there is, but it stops at 10am which I think is quite soon for weekends based on other hotels I've stayed in. Recommendable and would consider staying here again if I were to return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t13790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is one of the best valued I have stayed in. It was a great price for its location, right in the city centre and everything was walkable. The service at the hotel was excellent, as were the cleanliness of the basic but sufficient room. A real little Jem!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank anthonydowsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I recently spent a few days at Botanico Hotel, the location is what sets this hotel apart from most as it’s in a fantastic location. Walking up the hills of Lisbon was a pleasure and walking up a hill to this hotel again was an absolute pleasure. The service was your standard hotel service, kept clean, fresh sheets and new towels every day. My room was next to the lift door which I thought may mean a few wake ups in the night however I never once was woken and barely even heard the lift. The staff were always helpful, I required a taxi on my departure and the guy spoke great English ordering me the taxi which arrived promptly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamboXIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I chose this hotel because of its location close to the barrio alto. We loved the fact that every time we walked up or down the hill to the hotel we noticed something else (snack bar, tapas bar, jazz club etc). The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful, booking taxis, reserving restaurants and giving us directions. The breakfast was adequate and the coffee and breads great.

This hotel, was great value for money.

We stayed here in January and were not bothered by street or hotel noise. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

my friend and spent 4 nights in lisbon and we had a great time.we chose this hotel for its location to the barrio alto and its very near the av da liberdade with its lovely shops.it took us 10 minutes to walk into the barrio alto where we ate out in the evening and visited the bars there. the street comes out at the miradouro de sao pedro de alcantara.the rooms were large, comfortable and clean.we did not take breakfast but there is a small cafe just down from the hotel where we had tea and cake. the hotel staff were very helpful, polite and spoke english.when we got to the hotel very early at 0900 we were given welcome drinks of juice and water and was able to leave our cases in a locked room which was useful as we went sightseeing and exploring the immediate area. our rooms were on the 3rd floor and had the early morning sun.all in all it was just what we wanted and as the other reviewers said good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen57Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,269 reviews
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
#153 of 255 in Lisbon
688 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#130 of 255 in Lisbon
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Travel Park
#107 of 255 in Lisbon
767 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#156 of 255 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#125 of 255 in Lisbon
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanico Hotel

Address: Rua Mae D'Agua 16 20, Lisbon 1250-156, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £42 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Botanico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botanico Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing