We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the search”
Review of Cantinho Lusitano

Cantinho Lusitano
Ranked #26 of 4,149 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$34
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Principe Real
Description: Small restaurant dedicated to the Portuguese cuisine with careful choice of snacks, wines and delicatessen
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely worth the search”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The restaurant is a little tucked away but nothing too complex if you know how to use Google Maps. The wife and I have just finished a meal here and are hoping this review will be helpful. Although small inside this is a very clean, homely restaurant. The multilingual waitress spoke good English and was very friendly and helpful. We picked five varied dishes (meats and salads) all of which had great flavours and were delicious. The food was brought out separately but we didn't mind and found no faults with it. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Geo-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    214
    57
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warning: #1 hoax”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were looking forward to eat local food in this highly rated restaurant, and we thought it was fun that a neighborhood-restaurant was doing so well on Tripadvisor.

The location is off the beaten track, and we had trouble finding it amongst parked cars and garbage-bags, and when we first saw it from the outside, we were not sure whether to dine there at all. But we decided to give it a chance. As we sat down inside, the atmosphere was nice, two other companies was already in place (tourists, who probably also was there because of TA-ranking).

Allthough only three tables were occupied, we had to share a menu because they didn't have any more (not very important, but in this case, everything counts).
We started with the best part of the meal, bread, olives and garlic butter. But it all went downhill from there.
We ordered four different dishes. The presentation of the food was straight forward, the dishes didn't arrive together, but came as they were ready. We asked about having them at the same time, it was impossible because it was a slow food-concept, the waitress told us!
First course was croquettes; no taste and not warm all the way through. Second course was garlic shrimps, which we couldn't' finish, because it was way too salty. The waitress told us it was because we maybe don't like spicy food. That is not the case at all, it simply wasn't good. She offered us a to make a new one, but we didn't want it. Then came something with pork; soaked in fat and oil, no taste of meat and undelicate texture, it continued with sweet potato fries: not crisp but soggy and so thin that no potato was left. "Pica Pau"; meat in a tasteless sauce (but too much garlic).

It all ended when we asked for the bill and had a table full of food in front of us. It was clear to the waitress that we were not overthrown by the food. She came back and threw the bill at the table like a bad tempered teenager, stating we just had to pay for the first dish since that was the only thing we ate. This was not a sign of good faith, just a way to make us feel bad.

It really makes us wonder how this restaurant could have gotten all these nice reviews...
We have used Tripadvisor many times with great success, so therefore it is important to us to warn other users if something just isn't right. And the top ranking of this one, is completely wrong.
Stay away. Don't go there! Ever! Consider yourself warned.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank AandJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cantinho Lusitano, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time writing your review.

Your opinion is very important for us.

We are very sorry that the food wasn't good for you and you had such a bad experience with us.
However we must say that no one told you that you didn't like spicy food, it was asked if it was too much strong for you, and that's all. Each one has it's own preferences when it comes to food and you ate the same things the other 2 tables were eating and for them it was delicious.

This is a small Petiscos style restaurant (very similar to tapas) and it´s not impossible that the food could come at the same time, what was told to you is that things come as they are ready because it's a slow food concept. It's a traditional way of having this kind of meal. In Portugal Petiscos are eaten just like this. It's our Tradition.

After seeing that you didn't like anything and were so unhappy with your choice for dinner the only thing we could do to make it up for you was to charge you only what you really ate but even that made you feel bad and we are sorry for this. And if you were so observing you would notice that the "waitress" was frustrated for not making you happy and the bill was left in the table in such a hurry because the couple next to you was already waiting for some time to be attended and there were also people entering the restaurant at the same time and, as you would know if you had read all the reviews that gave us such a good rank, we are just 2 people working there.

We are a very simple and small Petiscos restaurant. Familiar and cozy. We don't have any interference in Tripadvisor's raking, this is all made by the reviews that people write here, and Tripadvisor doesn't state that this is one of the best restaurants in Lisbon, or any of the others. In our case Tripadvisor only says that we are a good restaurant to 88% of the 144 people that wrote about us.

Thank you very much.

Silvia and João
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“small and cozy place”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

really delicious food and atmosphere. best place in lisbon to eat portuguese tapas in a familiar place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertobenedito1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best food on Lisbon hands down”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Really delicious tapas style Portuguese food. The couple that run the restaurant and very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Must try the pica pau, goats cheese, garlic prawns, meat rolls. Basically everything!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexpinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent food and very good service, would not rank it as high as it is in TA though?”
Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

Between 4 people we had 7 tapas and a bottle of wine. All under €50 which I thought was very good value for money. The food isn't out of this world although very decent to say the least.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SXW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantinho Lusitano also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cantinho Lusitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing