We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alif Avenidas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Ranked #74 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Choose this hotel to spend one night in Lisbon, was a great option...nice location near public transports to the center of the city, comfortable room with a good bed, nice design and an inviting atmosphere to pass a romantic night. Friendly staff and a good price option.
I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We recently stayed at Alif as a couple and it certainly has a very nice modern, fresh look as it has (according to other reviews) recently been renovated from top to bottom.
The service is professional and forthcoming and the breakfast a very nice continental with multiple types of coffee to choose from, fresh fruit and a variety of bread and cake for 6.50 Euro per person/day.

The staff was friendly and when asked if we could take a cup of coffee to our room after breakfast one day, we were told "no problem" and the cup was removed by the cleaning the same day.

Our room was a standard double with a large (I am guessing 200 x 200) double bed of excellent standard. The room was not very large and we could have used some more hangers, but it had air condition, a TV with quite alot of channels of mixed origin(english,german,austrian,US, spanish,portugese,brazilian).
The room was cleaned every day, with new towels and soaps, the toliet was nice and clean in black marble with a shower and hairdryer. We had no problems with getting warm water even in the mornings at peak hours.

One very nice thing is the location - not only was the Metro just 10 meters from the hotel entrance with access to the rest of the city (5-10 minutes to the center), but you also had one of the city's largest shopping centers just 300 meters from the hotel (Corte d'Ingles - and as a tourist you get 10% discount these days).

One thing - we asked for a recommendation for a restaurant in the area and reception told us to go to Colina (5 minute walk). However, we can NOT recommend this restaurant - as the food was horrible and the service not good (see review on Tripadvisor)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a nice modern hotel with all modern amenities. Its bang opposite a metro station which brings pretty much all of Lisbon within reach. Taxi fare to the Airport even at 4am is only 10 euros although its also connected by the Aerobus which needs a short walk.
Lack of complimentary Breakfast , Internet and tea/coffee provisions in the room earns it 4 stars. Not sure why the business hotel doesn't provide complimentary internet in this day and age when its a norm globally.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilpi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked this hotel through Lastminute.com (as one of their top secret hotels) and it cost £72 for two nights. We were able to check in early (at 10:30am) and the receptionist spoke good English. The porter who took our bags also spoke English and was very helpful - he explained how everything worked in the room and went to find a key for the safe when it wouldn't unlock.

The room was clean, a reasonable size and nicely decorated. We had a room only deal so did not eat breakfast but there are places close by to pick up breakfast. The hotel is not in the historic centre but is across the road from Sao Sebastiao metro station so getting to the centre only took about 15 minutes. It is not far from the airport (about 20 minutes) and we used the Aerobus which has a stop at Saldanha.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short city break - it had everything we needed and was a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I booked this through Map Travel in Dublin who were asked to find a good value hotel that catered for a person with a disability. I gave the tour company a reasonable budget and apart from luxury hotels, this hotel was the only one that could provide such a room The hotel is fairly central right next to a metro station though I couldn't use it because of the steps.
The hotel were very efficient at calling taxis which were reliable and cheap.
The room was perfect and shower and toilet were easy for me to use. The door man even walked with us to a local restaurant the first evening we arrived. the fruit at breakfast was excellent though the hot plate lacked variety. The self service buffet breakfast cost 6 Euro and if one wasn't hungry, one could get a light breakfast in a local cafe for about €2.
The staff were always willing to guide and were good sources of information on tourist sites. Not only that but they could provide private tours and we took on on the first day to get our bearings.
Unless you want five star with bars and Hotel restaurants, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here with my son for an extended city break and this hotel was just what we wanted - central, convenient and good value. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast included was good but there was not much else available foodwise and the bar was a bit of a waste of space (I was refused a cocktail as "too complicated") but you don't stay in a city center hotel to eat in. Lisbon is an amazing city and there is so much to see both in the city and the surrounding area and this hotel makes a great base to explore, it would also be perfect for business travel though I was disappointed the Wi-Fi was at additional charge as this was not mentioned when booking. Mark for children's activities is reflective of the lack of an N/A option as they were not offered when booking or expected - though there were a fair number of cartoon channels on the flatscreen - albeit in Portugese but that does not seem to bother children - and child friendly breakfast options.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here in december. Was exactly what I wanted - a 4* in good location for a 3* price..! a few steps from the metro which can connect you to anywhere you want in the city. Ideal for us as a couple who like to explore cities on a weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete_wright16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#35 of 255 in Lisbon
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#117 of 255 in Lisbon
2,802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#186 of 255 in Lisbon
573 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alif Avenidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alif Avenidas

Address: Avenida Duque de Avila 189, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Manuel I)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#66 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £53 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alif Avenidas 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alif Avenidas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Manuel i Lisbon
Dom Manuel i Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing