We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rate for a pretty nice hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alif Avenidas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Ranked #62 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent rate for a pretty nice hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

It took me virtually 15 sec to check in. I had stayed at Alif before therefore the check in staff had filled out all the registration paperwork prior to my arrival. The reception staff member even wished me happy birthday, quite amazing (yes, it was my birthday!). There are 3 hotels in this area across from one of the many entrances to the S. Sebastiao subway station (the terminal station of the red line to the airport). ALIF stands out as visually more pleasant, very efficient staff, modern elevators (and more than one when comparing to the other hotels), comfortable rooms, really nice bathrooms, good quality TV set, refrigerator in the room, good breakfast...etc. As other tripadvisor members have mentioned, there is a huge department store closely, El Corte Ingles, which also has a supermarket and good food to dine in or take out. There are several bank ATM machines and a pharmacy within 500 m, not to mention the Calouste Gulbenkian museum. You can reach downtown from the hotel - just take the subway blue line in the direction of Santa Apolonia. Or you can visit Parque das Nações, the site of the Expo 98, if you take the red line to Oriente. I will definitely come back to ALIF Avenidas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nontroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    337
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
76
365
43
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent, clean and modern with a good location. Free parking on Main Street. We defiantly enjoyed our super relaxing stay. Wonderful bed. Comfy sheets. Good breakfast. Only NEGATIVE IS WIFI IS NOT FREE. Big negative for tourists!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Ideal location as far as we were concerned. Hotel is in a quiet area and located about 70m from the entrance to the metro. Fantastically clean in all areas and the staff were extremely helpful and polite.
A few good restaurants within a reasonable distance. If you want a night out on the town so easy to pop into the Metro.
The area it is located was also much cleaner than many parts of Lisbon we passed through.
Breakfast had a good variety with satisfactory quality.
Not far from large department store stocking most price ranges.

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms between us and all were of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbeamimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here in August 2013, and had a great time. The staff couldn't be more helpful and the barman makes a brilliant caipirinha! The rooms are clean, bright and modern with air-conditioning, hairdryer, safe etc. The hotel is also immediately opposite Sao Sebastiao metro station and so ideally located for getting almost anywhere within Lisbon. Really pleased; would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel is fantastic. It is located near Saldanha with easy access to transport and other attractions. Staff was very polite, room had a modern look with a kingsize bed and Oled flat screen TV with cable and air conditioning. Toilets are very clean with modern look as well. I got a good deal through Tripadvisor for only 40£ a night for couples which was great price and quality, I recommend it for couples if you want to spend some romantic time. If you are driving the parking on the hotel street is usually full but there is a public park which is opened 24/7 just around the corner.... Sure will look for other Alif Hotels on visit to other countries.

Room Tip: Couples? Request a room for 2 with kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuiVuiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humberside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I agree with much of Gary's review. The rooms are clean, well equipped, but may be a little small for two. I found the service excellent and helpful, and generally English is spoken and understood.
There is not much close to the hotel apart from 3 eating places and the neighbourhood is quiet. Although the entrance to the Metro is opposite, it is a long walk with many stairs to reach the platforms which made it unsuitable for those of us with walking handicaps. For the fit and able, the major shopping, tourist and airport are under 2 euros away by Metro. However, the airport, Parque de Nacoes (for conferences) and main downtown areas are all easily reached by taxi for 7 to 10 euros, the drivers not expecting a tip! ( From Edmund Humberside )

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmundHumberside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgerton, Kansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is in the downtown area of Lisbon and in a quiet neighborhood. One lane road in front so not a lot of traffic. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have a small bar, but do not count on there being any room service or restaurant food available. They do have a nice breakfast that is very convenient in the morning. The rooms are very modern and clean. They do not provide American wash cloths in the bathroom, so if you want one, bring your own. Hair dryer, safe for valuables, comfortable bed. Bring your electrical outlet converter. Provide one large bottle of free water, but no ice available. Refrigerator in room. Typical European electrical service, where you must insert your key card into the slot for A/C and lights while you are in the room. No view out window. Strange smell in foyer of my floor, but did not permeate into the room. The price was reasonable and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Such a small hotel, I think all the rooms would be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#59 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
SANA Malhoa Hotel
SANA Malhoa Hotel
#58 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.7 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#77 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alif Avenidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alif Avenidas

Property: Hotel Alif Avenidas
Address: Avenida Duque de Avila 189, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Manuel I)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#53 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#67 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alif Avenidas 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alif Avenidas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Manuel i Lisbon
Dom Manuel i Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing