We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Ranked #64 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Location, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is a little bit out of the main centre - approx 30 min walk. If walking is not your thing then there is a metro station adjacent to the hotel when you can be in the centre within 10 minutes (blue line). However, for those able, the walk is really pleasant especially if you take the route through Parque Eduardo VII and down Avenida da Liberdade to the actual centre. The return journey is all up hill - be warned!

The airport metro (red line) terminates at the metro station adjacent to the hotel - really handy and cheap transfer from/to airport.

Location wise, the hotel is in a fairly quiet area close to El Corte Ingles (head to your left when you come out the hotel door), which is really handy for shopping. It's also close to Atrium Saldanha (head to your right when you come out the hotel door- when you reach Avenida da República, look to you right) for more shopping!

The hotel is bright and clean. Rooms are modern and well laid out. Rooms are a typical size for a standard European capital city hotel. Hotel staff are friendly and professional - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good with a fairly wide selection of food. Other than breakfast and room service, there was no other restaurant facility in the hotel. There is a bar.

We would definitely stay at the hotel again - thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Only downside is having to pay for Wi-fi - and you can only log in one device at a time per code. If you want to use two devices at the same time, you will need two codes. This is the only reason for 4 rather than 5 stars.

One final tip - the Red Lisbon Tour Bus stops outside El Corte Ingles (just next to the cinema entrance). Look for the Red sign on the bus stop - first bus is approx 0945 and every 15 to 30 min afterwards depending on day / time of year.

Room Tip: Rooms are well soundproofed - rooms to rear look onto a nondescript courtyard. Try and get a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colszy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    342
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
79
373
43
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel offers spacious and silent rooms, with comfortable and clean bathroom, satisfying the standards you wait from a four stars accomodation. The staff is friendly, both at the reception and at the bar. What we found really strategic is the location: even if the hotel is not central the metro station is exactly in front of the door and opposite there are bars offering good breakfasts at a very nice price. The sorroindings are very quiet at night and at walkable distance there's the corte ingles department, where you can eventually eat or find everything you might need.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kikkamosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

If it was for the WiFi that you have to pay €10 per day ,I would rate my experience with 5 stars. My room was good size , spotless and with a nice bathroom . Although I had requested a high floor with view, they allocated me on a low floor facing backyard with AC units, it did not matter to me at the end. Breakfast was satisfactory and staff were polite and helpful. Good location as you can get there from the airport in about 20 minutes by metro.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nando1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Good location and value, near the bus and metro station and Saldahna area. The staff was very nice and helpful. The only downside was that we had to pay for wifi. The rooms were clean. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qt2000x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Good value for the price you pay if staying in the very center is not your first requirement.
Quiet and clean street, especially in comparison with old center. All area is very safe. Big shopping mall El Corte Ingles is just in few blocks. Here location is very convenient if you're using metro- the station (St.Sebastio) is right at the hotel entrance for two lines - about 15 mibutes to the aiport and only few stations to the center.
Modern clean rooms with comfortable bed and pillows. Nice design of bathroom.
Attentive staff.
Breakfast is not bad. It was really nice to sea good coffee machine but coffee itself is not good. Variety of fruits for breakfast is even impressive and all fruits are really fresh and tasty.
Actually it's a standard business hotel - nothing special but nothing bad to mention.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalaMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this Hotel. The guys at the front desk is so helpful and very polite and they all speak very good English. Ask them to call you a taxi from the taxi stand they know. Rooms are big enough, bathroom is OK. We had our breakfast in the cafes on the other side of the road in front of the Hotel ( Avenida Duque D'Avila )(take the one on the right or walk 50 meters to the right and have a very nice breakfast at the Cafe Nicola.) (never the one on the left when you come out of the door). They all have very nice coffee (espresso or cafe com leite - with milk). Metro station Sao Sabestiao and Gulbenkian Museum is very close.

Ask taxi drivers to turn on the taxi meter for fare. From airport to the hotel is app. 10 euros.
Generally taxi is cheap in Lisbon, especially when you are 4 person travelling. We took taxi at least 10 times and only 1 was a cheating type. It was 9 PM, at the Rossio Square, he did not turn on the meter, and when we asked, he said 10 euros, but we insisted and managed to have the meter on. We warned him when he passed our route to our hotel. Finally when we reached the hotel the fare was not still 10 EUros (8.70) and we paid him Euros 6 because that was what we had been paying previous nights. He couldn't say anything when we said that we will complain and which we did afterwards. (Next day to the tourism bureau located very near to Restauradores Metro Station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmrbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful. I don't understand how there can be any negative reviews. We were booked for 3 nights but extended to 5 because of the wonderful everything. Don't pass it up.

HOTEL LOOK/DESIGN
Very cool, sleek, modern design (renovated 2-3 yrs ago).
The rooms are a nice size, everything new, tiled bathroom, laminate wood floors in other area, mini fridge, tv in English, glass shower with rain head and hand wand as well as what I think is an emergency pull cord.

NOISE LEVEL
We were in room 207 at the end of the hall so we had zero elevator or people noise. We didn't have a great view from our particular room, but if I want a view I go walking to see things. Out our window was other buildings so we didn't have any street noise. The hotel is on a quiet street so I don't think street noise would be an issue.

CLEANLINESS
The front staff and cleaning staff are excellent. I'm a messy person and yet they clean wonderfully after me. They are always wiping chairs, the chrome rails around the columns, elevator doors, counters, etc. I don't think I could find dirt if I wanted to.

STAFF
The staff are helpful and friendly. Always standing around to help (I don't think they ever sit). If you need directions, to borrow a bottle opener, deodorizing spray for a stinky suitcase you bought, recommendations, or what ever you may need they offer assistance. One day I went to sit in the retro lounge area before it opens at 5:00. It was a little dark because there was only natural light at this time. A hotel staff came in (I thought to ask me to leave) to turn on lights & tv for me. I don't know the other staffs name but it's the same 4-6 people I see over and over. All were great! But The real HIGHLIGHT is the BARTENTER, ORLANDO. He is very personable, friendly & welcoming. He has great knowledge of the city and gives you his attention. His English is superb. His pride and attention to detail in his work are to be commended and applauded. He too never sits and constantly keeps busy cleaning, organizing, serving, etc. Our last night we choose to stay in the hotel and eat food that he prepared for us. This man is a star. His food was delicious, the marinade sauce was the best I ever had, the presentation was spectacular. Orlando drew maps for us, pictures of fish that are good to eat, made calls to get answers to questions we had if he did not know the answer. Orlando starts work at 5pm. Go see him and tell him the Canadians say hello.

LOCATION
The location is terrific.
It's in an affordable area. Very close to El Corte Ingles (supermarket & department store), metro station directly across the street. Close to a park on a hill top where we had a picnic. It's a very short ride to the over priced touristy down town. Do not pass this hotel up. There is an outdoor market with inexpensive prices about a 5+ min. walk from Alif. There is an outdoor patio bar on the corner with .75 euro for a beer. Caipirinha drink for $3 euro. One place down town charged me $7.50 for Caipirinha of equal size. The longest metro ride is the one to the airport at about 15-20 mins, maybe even shorter. To down town must be 10 mins or less.

NEGATIVES
I had to think hard about this because the place is spectacular.
Only slight (very minor) problem is our free wifi cut in & out during busy times but not much of a problem because in the lobby it always stayed connected. I did check out another near by hotel that was renovated as well (Zenit) and Alif is much nicer from what I could see.

We are very glad to have shared our time with the Alif people.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#60 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
SANA Malhoa Hotel
SANA Malhoa Hotel
#58 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#62 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#76 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#39 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alif Avenidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alif Avenidas

Property: Hotel Alif Avenidas
Address: Avenida Duque de Avila 189, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Manuel I)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#67 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alif Avenidas 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alif Avenidas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Manuel i Lisbon
Dom Manuel i Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing