We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We spent 4 nights in the hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a central location and also has a metro stop outside the main door. The rooms are comfortable with all amenities. We had an issue with the hairdryer in our room one evening and were very impressed when a maintenance guy had fitted a replacement within 15 mins approx of contacting reception - you can't ask for a better response! The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    662
    82
    7
    2
See reviews for
244
854
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel, 2 nights before visiting the south and then leaving one big luggage at the hotel for 7 days and return for 2 nights more. There is one metro in front of the hotel but we prefer to walk down to Rossio. There are lots of restaurants and hotels nearby and a shopping centre 10 minutes walk up the street. We love walking around especially down to Rossio and only took the metro to the Oriente shopping mall.

The hotel is well equipped with every need and an electric kettle with coffee and tea bags could be provided on request. The staff was helpful and polite, speaking fluent English.

We'll surely return if we visit Lisbon again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Gorgeous hotel, pool areas are lush, quiet and perfectly maintained. The location is amazing

Our room (14) was immaculate, cute, comfy bed, visited at least 3x/day by staff for cleaning/turn down

$10 breakfast either in your room or poolside was excellent

I would highly recommend this hotel, but suited best for couples!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missingcali4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel was perfect with the nicest staff. The rooms were clean, modern, comfortable and a nice size. The room had a nice flat screen with many English speaking channels and the free wifi was great. It was located right near a metro and a 10-15 minute pleasant walk along the pretty boulevard to the Rossio and waterfront areas. The free breakfast was great with two kinds of eggs, mushrooms, bacon, sausages, lots of breads, pastries, ham, cheese and fresh fruits in a nice sized restaurant area. The staff were extremely helpful, pleasant and let us leave one of our suitcases while we traveled around the country and then stayed our last day there. Twice the staff stood in the middle of the busy street getting a cab for us. We ate at a nice restaurant directly across the boulevard which was handy if we felt like having a late night snack or dessert. All in all we had a wonderful experience at this hotel and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Room in the back may be quieter although the rooms have double windows that can be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here a couple of nights in May. It's pretty well located on the top of the Avenida Da Liberdade with a metro station literally just outside. I would have to say it didn't really blow me away. The rooms were comfortable and had all the standard amenities but not very memorable. Having said that it is very cheap so guess I can forgive that!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Fantastic location and the most friendly staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet! Extremely comfortable rooms with free internet, flat screen TV and ipod dock clock radio in every room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who all spoke excellent English. We bought tickets for the Gray Line open top bus at a discount from reception, the bus stops a short walk from the hotel, and we saw all the sights over two days for just 15 euros. There is a street bar right outside the hotel which has resident DJ on Friday and Saturdays. The Avenida Da Liberdade is full of designer shops, and excellent fish restaurants. Metro is closeby too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Nice lounge area by the bar with newspapers and a selection of books.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VideoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Much has been said already about this hotel and I'll add bits and pieces to try and complement as necessary. Marques de Pombal is well located for all local transport. The Aerobus from the airport drops virtually alongside the hotel. There is an entrace to the Metro right opposite, approx 20m away. There are many local bus stops on the Avenida Da Liberdade and the Red Bus open top tours terminus is at the Marques de Pombal roundabout approx 200m up the road.
We found the staff very good, friendly and helpful. The wi-fi in the room was somewhat hit and miss on my ipod but worked perfectly in the common areas - all free, code required in the room but not elsewhere. The included breakfast was adequate, but never varied at all over our stay - a bit unusual for a 4* hotel. We didn't think the room was anything special in size, but was clean and comfortable. The bar was good, with the only complaint being the price of cocktails at 10.95 euros; other drinks were reasonable. There's unfortunately nowhere to sit outside to enjoy a drink.
We found that the hotel charges for the use of the steam and sauna rooms (12.50 euros per session), but not for the gym.This is on the hotel website if you look hard enough. Again a bit unusual if you want to unwind after a hard day's sightseeing - we were not prepared to pay that sort of amount.
Eating out on a Sunday night can be a problem, particularly near the hotel. However, the main restaurant area is always open. We tried the Italian Valentino and found it excellent. If you need a quick meal try The Great American Disaster - just on the main roundabout 150m up the street. Good food, drink and service at reasonable prices. We didn't like the pestering from people trying to get you to eat at their restaurants, nor at one when we refused a starter and were served one on a "pay if you eat" basis.
All in all don't miss Lisbon, our 4 nights/ 3 days seemed about right, this is a good choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chogbolt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#33 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#19 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing