We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #44 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel had it all. The breakfast was a treat. The rooms were clean, roomy. We didn't have any noise. One of the first times we have stayed to eat a dinner in a hotel restaurant. It was very good. Not the "normal" hotel food. It gave us the flavor of Portugal. We played cards with our friends in the bar. They made us feel at home. The location was good since we all like to walk. We went all over the downtown area- Rossio, Belem. The metro is so close! The people were very helpful at the front desk with ideas what to do. When we go back, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

For the price you pay, and the location, this is really a comfortable choice for Lisbon. There is a metro entry point right in front of the hotel doors, making connections everywhere easy. I would have preferred a location slightly closer to Rossio, if I had to choose again, but no matter, the walk from the hotel down the boulevard is very pleasant. The rooms are not very large, compared to average four star chains, but they are not of the closet-sized European variety either. Basic furnishings, a small LG flat panel TV, but really great firm mattresses, and bedding/pillows of surprisingly high quality. Others mentioned the pillows in reviews and we loved these too. One of the more comfortable beds we have had over years of traveling. My absolute favorite two things about this hotel were the shower, and the cleanliness. The shower pressure, temperature, placement of curtain relative to built up edge to avoid water leaking all over - all perfection. The person who cleaned our room did an impeccable job every day, and everything in the room and bathroom was always spotless. They organized all the items with care, but without disturbing the general order, and didn't cut corners in any aspect of housekeeping. The wake up calls got mixed up a few days, and the wifi sometimes left alot to be desired (other times it was super-fast). I found the desk staff to be helpful, and polite, but not very friendly. This was just fine. The breakfast staff are particularly unfriendly however- a smile here and there, would not kill them - instead they whisk away plates and look rather sad to be there. Breakfast itself is nothing to write home about, the fresh fruit is nice, and the cheeses and bread selection are good - you won't go hungry. But get your coffee elsewhere. Coffee is just a sad affair at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed at the Marques for four nights and I would definitely stay there again. The staff were very nice and the location can't be beat. It is only one block from Marques de Pombal Square and Edward VII Park, and a 15 minute walk from Rossio Square. There is also a subway station just across the street. My room was very clean and comfortable, and I especially liked the iPod docking station, free internet access, and free breakfast. I got a great rate by booking online and pre-paying (about 90 Euro per night). I had business at the Lisbon Congress Center which was only a short taxi drive away (15 minutes/7 Euro).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I was choosing a hotel in Lisbon according to multiple hotel descriptions and finally has chosen Marques De Pombal mainly because of location (close to Marques De Pombal square, from where start multiple excursions + not far from shopping centers). My expectations were completely satisfied. Location was superb, on the main street - Avenida Liberdade, 30m from Marques De Pombal square, close to Corte Ingles and Amoreiras shopping centers. On Marques De Pombal square you can take city tour, tickets are sold on hotel reception. On reception you can also get all necessary information about other excursions and also order them. I bought Grey Line city tour, valid for 48hours, price=15eur. Hotel is situated not so far from Tejo river and Commerce square (about 15 min on foot). City buses stops are located close to hotel too. Reception people are extremely polite and always try to help and to advice you the best ways to see the city. I also organised individual tour through Reception - price was 130eur for abour 5hours excursion to Mafra-Ericeira-Cascais, Mercedes minivan with the driver-guide.
The hotel is extremely clean, my best respects to housekeeping dept, good work.
Breakfast is not bad, but the choice is not so wide, all the served items are repeated every day: edds, cheese, ham, pastry, bread, coffee+tea, juices, mineral water, milk. Waiters are working extremely fast, all the tables are clean. There are flovers on the tables.
I had a room on the 1st floor, good size, about 18-19m, there was a TV, a bed, 2 tables (for work and for reading), chairs, bathroom, corridor.
The unique disadvantage is the WI-FI, which was awfully slow! Practically no signal.
In any case, I liked the hotel, I could recommend it to everyone, going to Lisbon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oly_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have just returned from our trip in Lisbon where we stayed at the Marques for 3 nights. The hotel is really close to the centre, the reception said it was a 50 minute walk to the centre but I'd say its more like 15 minutes. The metro is right outside, with the day ticket for all transport around Lisbon only 5.10 euros its a bargain.
The reception staff were very friendly and they had cava on ice and some amazing cake in our room for our anniversary which was really nice after travelling.
The room was nice, not massive but big enough with a good clean bathroom. It was the pillows on the bed that did it though, i wanted to leave all my clothes behind to smuggle a pillow home, I think they were made out of angels wings.
The breakfast wasnt great but then continental breakfasts rarely are, Im not quite sure why the lady running the breakfast room on the first morning went into customer service as she didnt seem to be too in love with her job, didnt dare touch the hot food but toast, croissants etc were fine.
I booked directly through the hotel and got a rate of 85 euros a night which was good for the area and for the nice room. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The 8th floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Don't get me wrong. This is a four star and I paid 100Euro per night, so no point having too high expectations.

There is nothing too bad. The staff are good - polite, hold the lift for you, efficient at check in and no on.

The bar is good - ok selection, big enough to find a comfy chair and read one of the daily selection of international papers.

Room was a disappointment. As is all too often the case with European four-star hotels, the air-con serves only to circulate air, not to cool it. The room smelt a bit like a wet labrador, but this cleared after the fan had been on for half an hour. The decor is a bit 1970's teak style but with a recent and not very effective face-lift.

Very standard bathroom but with some reasonable quality soap & shower gel and so on.

Very standard and uninspiring hotel - but at EUR100 a night it does represent good value and the location is only a few mins (walking) from the city centre.

Bland and mediocre breakfast in too small a breakfast room in the basement. Didn't have the courage to try the eggs or boiled bacon.

If you don't mind paying the difference and you insist on fully functioning air-con, try the Sofitel a couple of blocks down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penguin_Family_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at the Marques de Pombal Hotel in Lisbon in October 2011. The room was adequately sized and beds were really comfortable. The staff was really helpful and friendly. It's located within walking distance to the city centre and is also right next to a metro stop making it a perfect location to stay wherever you are traveling in Lisbon. Wifi was free and the breakfast buffet in the morning was really good. The price was also much better than some of the hotels in the same area. Definitely recommend for your stay in Lisbon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JATravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#38 of 255 in Lisbon
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 255 in Lisbon
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Liberdade
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £78 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing