We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude member of staff at the reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #43 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very rude member of staff at the reception”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We travel a lot and we have never experienced anything like we have in Marques de Pombal hotel.I mean it in a bad way of course!
Me and my wife stayed in Algarve for two weeks but we decided to go to Lisbon for a wee trip(12th-13th of June).It happened that my wife forgot to take her ID to Lisbon.
At first unpleasant and cocky boy at the reception refused us to check in so basically my wife was going to sleep on the street.I asked him if he could contact our hotel in Albufeira to get a copy of her passport(email,fax) but he replied that I can do it myself if I want.Just to add that I had my passport and the room was booked under my name.Finally we were able to stay there.I wish I never booked this hotel anyway...
I would advise anybody thinking to stay here consider a different hotel or B&B when you can feel welcomed as a guest.Portuguese are lovely people apart from the staff in Marques de Pombal.
Maybe it's a good place for a businessman but for any tourist it should be the last place to stay in Lisbon...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thomaz1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    671
    82
    7
    2
See reviews for
245
862
68
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for 3 very comfortable nights.The location was great.It took about 10 min.to walk downtown.The neighborhood is primarily residential,with upscale boutiques all around.The Avenida Da Liberdade is a beautiful street,with a park down the middle.
The front desk staff was especially friendly and very helpful,sometimes unsolicited.
They sent up a bottle of cava and 2 pieces of cake,the morning we were leaving because they had noticed it was my husband's birthday.The waiter said they thought we might want to make a toast!It really made my husband's day.
The Restaurant Blu,which is on premises,was also very good.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor facing the side,which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My friend and I visited Lisbon and stayed here for three nights. A modern small hotel on the Liberdade near the Pombal Circle, it's reception staff is extremely helpful in giving guidance for restaurant reservations (near the castle with terrific views!), day trips (we went to Sintra - lovely!), and sold Hop-on/Hop-off tour tickets at a discount. I'm sure the public transportation in Lisbon is efficient and less costly to use, but the HOHO system made it easy to see all the sights we planned on visiting (Belem, Gulbenkian Museum, Arch and the rua Augusta shopping area of Baixa), and gave a great overview of the city. Room descriptions were mentioned by others - spacious, clean, modern; breakfast buffet - covers all the usual items, and tasty!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel came up on Last Minute as first choice and had good reviews so we went with it. Location wise, it's pretty good. Situated at the top end of Avenue Liberade (Liberation Avenue) by the big roundabout. About 10-15 minute walk down to Rossio Square in the centre, or you can get the metro which is right outside - except the entrance nearest the hotel was closed all weekend which was unhelpful. The other entrance/exit is on the other side of the the square to the north of the roundabout.

I did read that rooms on the lower floors tended to suffer from traffic noise so I put in a special request at time of booking for a room on a higher floor. On checking in, we were told our room was on the first floor. Okay then ... so not point putting in that request. However, it didn't matter as our room had the thickest double glazing I have ever seen and we could not hear a sound outside. Plus fantastic blackout curtains and an extremely comfortable king size bed made for excellent nights sleep. The room also had free wi-fi (husband happy as he could use his laptop), a magnifying mirror in the bathroom (hoorah - fab for make up application), and the most powerful shower ever which was brilliant. Also had a fridge and safe.

On check in we were given a map of the City and advised that the best way to get around was the hop on hop off bus (might be on commission here). We preferred to walk in any event. Or get the metro for the occasional stop. Or the funicular a bit further down Liberation Avenue up to Chiado and Bairro Alto where all the bars are.

Breakfast was the usual help yourself buffet served right up to 10.30am which was helpful. Good selection of cereals, fruit, croissants, pastries, rolls, ham, cheese, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee etc.

On Day 2 we asked at reception the best way to get to Belem. They recommended the hop on hop off bus (definitely on commission). I asked if there was another way to get there and they said probably but the bus was best. So we got the metro to Cais do Sodro and the overground to Belem and were there in under half an hour.

This is a very nice hotel in a good location and suited us perfectly for our mini break to Lisbon. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful all the time. My only suggestion if you really want to be in the thick of it is to pick a hotel closer to or in Rossio Square, but the location of this hotel was very good and I would definitely recommend it for anyone travelling to Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lousally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Reception staff very helpful. Bar / restaurant staff speak very good English and are very friendly and pleasant - one introducing us to the delights of Licor Beirao with ice as a nightcap. We slept very well in a room with a view towards St George's Castle and a huge print of part of the Jeronimos Monastery above our headboard. Breakfast and the evening meal were very good. The hotel is ideally situated for walking down the Avenida Liberdade into the central squares.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th (?) floor on the left hand side (entering from reception) towards the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and glad we chose this hotel. Location was ideal, close to Marques de Pombal square where most of the tour buses leave from, but was only 15 minutes or so from downtown Lisbon along the elegant Liberty Avenue. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, giving advice on where to go, booking excursions, etc. Breakfast room was on the small side, but there was a good choice of food and we always found a table. The Blu bar and restaurant was very comfortable, food was good quality, particularly the risotto. Would definitely consider staying here again. If you are staying in Lisbon for any length of time, a trio to Sintra is a must - magical place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as at the weekend, the traffic outside can become very busy and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

As others have stated this hotel ticks virtually all of the boxes. Good location in a lovely city and extremely helpful receptionists got the holiday off to a great start. Rooms were good and quiet and the breakfast enjoyable with plenty of variety We had one meal in the restaurant and thought the food over salted . The dining room itself is excellent, indeed the whole hotel is well presented. We will stay here again if we are back in Lisbon but would probably eat out unless the weather was bad

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#38 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing