We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed at the Marques de Pombal during October 2009. It was a very nice hotel in a great location. On tree-lined street with entrance to Lisbon's modern, clean subway system (Blue Line) right across the way from the entrance so you can many places in this interesting and old city quickly. Good restaurants short walks down the boulevard. Large park a couple of blocks in the other direction. Rooms were tastefully modern with large tv screen, free cable internet (and some more variable free wifi in our room), modern, clean bathroom. Our room looked out on the street, and if you opened window traffic noise was loud, but had good climate control air conditioning so you didn't have too. Free buffet breakfast --not great, but not too bad. Only two small drawbacks: the bar also serves as a restaurant; good for snacks but regular menu mediocre and overpriced. And although most of the floors are non-smoking, some smell of cigarette smoke occasionally drifted down through the vents to our room. Not all the time. Otherwise a good value and all in all a great base to explore Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    662
    82
    7
    2
See reviews for
243
852
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Stayed mid-September for seven nights.
Everyone probably have different ideas of what they are looking for from a hotel.
In my case I am looking for modern clean rooms and public areas together with staff who are courteous and helpful in their dealings with me. I am not looking for them to become my best friend. This hotel ticked the aforementioned boxes. The rooms were spacious with decent barhroom area. The staff from receptions to maid service always greeted you.
Comments have been made with regard to the breakfast area. I would agree that it is rather on the small side with tables close together. Upside being you would converse with the guests sitting close by. While initially the breakfast choice appeared limited I think this was due to it being concentrated in the one corner. Most elements were available, breads, pastries, fresh fruit. bacon, sausages together with juices and a selection of teas and coffees. While scrambled egg was the only "egg" option on display the staff were happy to have the kitchen prepare freshly made omelettes on request. No doubt other egg options such as fried or boiled would be prepared to order if requested.
Loved our time in Lisbon with the metro system superb.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank killiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
299 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We were on a 2 and a half week trip in Portugal with my sister-in-law. I booked this hotel for 3 nights based on Tripadvisor reviews of all 4 star hotels in Lisbon. We were not disappointed! The rooms were spacious, well-appointed, bathroom large and modern. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. On our last night they recommended a restaurant in the neighborhood (about 7-8 blocks away rather than the long walk into the tourist area). In fact, we went to the Marisqueira Santa Marta again when we returned to Lisbon before returning to the States. The breakfast buffet, which was included in our rate, was very good. The hotel is only a few blocks from the airport shuttle bus stop. What impressed us was how reasonable the cost for the hotel - not much more for 3 nights than a one-night stay in the lousy room at the Pousada in Evora!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Great hotel, fantastic staff, great location, would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We traveled with 2 adults and 2 older teens. We stayed at Marques de Pombal Hotel for 5 nights, in 2 rooms across the hall from each other. The hotel is spotlessly clean, modern, quiet, and tastefully decorated. There is free internet in the rooms. The included breakfasts had a very wide variety of plentiful foods, both hot and cold, although the choices didn't vary from day to day. The staff speaks English and they are all friendly and very helpful, although there was some variation in their level of knowledge, and we occasionally had to inquire of a second person; e.g. is there a laundry nearby? (Yes- in the metro station). There is a metro stop a minute away, or you can take a very pleasant tree-lined walk 10-15 minutes to the center, through a safe neighborhood. If you have several people in your group, taxis are really cheap. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank bghf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

If there was a negative it would be location which is a ten minutes walk to the center of town where the action is. But, all the positives far outweigh the walk which is simply traveling down Liberdad. The rooms were spacious, the TV's superb and throw in free Internet. Desk clerks (all of them) were polite and friendly. English languauge- no problem. Breakfast was varied and included. I would stay there any time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBSLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

a very good hotel in a good location. the service was excellent. breakfast was good. the hotel is next to a metro station and a couple of mins from the tour bus. the rooms are very modern and a good size. overall a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing