We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This excellent hotel provides a good base when visiting Lisbon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marques De Pombal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
West Lothian
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This excellent hotel provides a good base when visiting Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed at The Marques de Pombal over the New Year period - our rooms were clean - small but with absolutely everything needed. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful providing information on venues to celebrate the New Year. The metro stop is only 50 m from the hotel and is an excellent way to travel around the city. A bus stop is also close to the hotel. We ate in the dining room on our first evening and the meal was served in a relaxed atmosphere, the food was good and good value. Breakfasts in the hotel were very good. We would recommend the Ribadour Restaurant - only 400 yards from the hotel - the tiger shrimps were unbelievable - and our friends enjoyed their pork dishes - not cheap but well worth it. The Taberna Iberico - also close by - was another "find".
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reiversabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    648
    81
    6
    2
See reviews for
241
836
64
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Just back after 4 nights with my Mum in Marques de Pombal hotel in Avenue de Liberdade in Lisbon.
Fabulous hotel, great location. Entrance to the metro is outside the door. Buses also across the road. Lovely rooms - recently renovated in nice style. Ate in the restaurant the first night and had lovely meal at reasonable price for a hotel.
Good breakfasts with Nespresso machine for coffee enthusiasts!!!
The staff here cannot be complimented enough on every level - they could not be more helpful. Could not recommend this hotel strongly enough.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsieCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briggus, W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

We thought this hotel was great and looked better "in the flesh" than on the internet.The location is great - on one of the most prestigious avenues in Lisbon - and it's in a very safe spot.For what we paid - c.£40 a head via hotels.com - it represented excellent value.Rooms were "compact" but manageable and the decor looked recent, beds were comfortable,bathroom spotlessly clean and very good triple glazing made your room an oasis of calm.Did not find the aircon intrusive.Breakfasts were very good and staff will prepare omelettes/fried eggs if requested.Hotel staff very helpful, location perfect i.e. tube station on the doorstep or it's a very pleasant 15 mins downhill stroll to the city centre.Would say it's aimed at the business traveller so makes for a very good base.Would class it as a a very good 3 star rather than a 4 star.(Didn't try the bar or restaurant.) Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hove60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed at the Marques de Pombal during October 2009. It was a very nice hotel in a great location. On tree-lined street with entrance to Lisbon's modern, clean subway system (Blue Line) right across the way from the entrance so you can many places in this interesting and old city quickly. Good restaurants short walks down the boulevard. Large park a couple of blocks in the other direction. Rooms were tastefully modern with large tv screen, free cable internet (and some more variable free wifi in our room), modern, clean bathroom. Our room looked out on the street, and if you opened window traffic noise was loud, but had good climate control air conditioning so you didn't have too. Free buffet breakfast --not great, but not too bad. Only two small drawbacks: the bar also serves as a restaurant; good for snacks but regular menu mediocre and overpriced. And although most of the floors are non-smoking, some smell of cigarette smoke occasionally drifted down through the vents to our room. Not all the time. Otherwise a good value and all in all a great base to explore Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Stayed mid-September for seven nights.
Everyone probably have different ideas of what they are looking for from a hotel.
In my case I am looking for modern clean rooms and public areas together with staff who are courteous and helpful in their dealings with me. I am not looking for them to become my best friend. This hotel ticked the aforementioned boxes. The rooms were spacious with decent barhroom area. The staff from receptions to maid service always greeted you.
Comments have been made with regard to the breakfast area. I would agree that it is rather on the small side with tables close together. Upside being you would converse with the guests sitting close by. While initially the breakfast choice appeared limited I think this was due to it being concentrated in the one corner. Most elements were available, breads, pastries, fresh fruit. bacon, sausages together with juices and a selection of teas and coffees. While scrambled egg was the only "egg" option on display the staff were happy to have the kitchen prepare freshly made omelettes on request. No doubt other egg options such as fried or boiled would be prepared to order if requested.
Loved our time in Lisbon with the metro system superb.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank killiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
299 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We were on a 2 and a half week trip in Portugal with my sister-in-law. I booked this hotel for 3 nights based on Tripadvisor reviews of all 4 star hotels in Lisbon. We were not disappointed! The rooms were spacious, well-appointed, bathroom large and modern. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. On our last night they recommended a restaurant in the neighborhood (about 7-8 blocks away rather than the long walk into the tourist area). In fact, we went to the Marisqueira Santa Marta again when we returned to Lisbon before returning to the States. The breakfast buffet, which was included in our rate, was very good. The hotel is only a few blocks from the airport shuttle bus stop. What impressed us was how reasonable the cost for the hotel - not much more for 3 nights than a one-night stay in the lousy room at the Pousada in Evora!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Great hotel, fantastic staff, great location, would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#112 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing