We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool spot”
Review of Alface Hall

Alface Hall
Ranked #3 of 54 Concerts & Shows in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alface Hall... Alface Hall is the spot to relax and have a drink with your friends!This cosy bar/café, that was once a newspaper print-house, was totally decorated with collectable items to create a unique environment.We invite you to listen to great music of our vinyl collection, while tasting the best Sgroppino in Portugal, accompanied by one of our famous toasts. Also Alface Hall is a cultural spot in Lisbon where you will be able to watch live shows of Jazz, Bossa Nova, Soul, and so much more. Bring your music talent .... we have JAM Sessionshope to see you here.....
Regina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool spot”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Intimate spot for live music and good drinks! We could have gone back every night but there were just so many bars in Barrio Alto that we didnt want to limit ourselves, although this one was top of all we visited.

Helpful?
Thank 0_Missy_0
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    19
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent is Excellent”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The most cosy, lovely, cultural and a very welcome bar in the middle of Bairro Alto. I spent some time there in my holidays this last November and i loved it.
Very good music and bar service! I could stay there for hours and they play live music as well.
Gotta love this place and the bartenders too.
It is free to have a great time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marciaveiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seixal, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beauty and cloosy”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very beaty and cloosy bar, whit a natural and fresh cocktails, cold beer, very good music and vibe <e

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank IsaPolvora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Bar with Live Music in Bairro Alto”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Wandering around the Bairro Alto after a particularly bad dinner, I heard a live blues band playing a familiar tune. Stopped in the bar, Alface Hall, and enjoyed the music and a few beers with a raucous crowd. Staff is friendly and welcoming and charge no cover. Lots of locals and some fellow travelers mixed easily in a unique space - comfortable seating, including a couple of old barber chairs, and a variety of movie posters over the band. The space isn't large, but has a warm ambiance. Actually went back the next night to hear more of the same band and get relaxed. As you know, tourists aren't embraced in all local hangouts, but Alface Hall is a strong exception and I look forward to returning...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DB-Orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Found this place 2 years ago & now return on every trip. Took friends with us this time and we ended our evening here 4 nights in a row. The place is really small but cozy & the caliber of the musicians that play here is something to behold! Get in early (music starts up by 9:00pm) or it'll be standing room only - also there is no cover charge. The bar/wait staff are attentive, friendly and the drinks are cheap. MUST DO FOR MUSIC LOVERS!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jobeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alface Hall also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Alface Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing