We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only good thing is the view if you get it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte
Ranked #174 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The only good thing about this place are rooms with city view. Everything else is horrendous.

I have taken tram 28 to get to the hotel and been mugged by group of men. Well, it happens, so never mind. However, I was disappointed how unsympathetic hotel staff were after what was to me quite an unpleasant experience. Not helpful at all, even charging me €85 for a phone call I had to make to cancel my credit cards.

Hotel rooms are old and basic, too basic. If you can get city view rooms, I would not bother going there. Hotel was generally clean, but previous occupant of the room used electric shaver and I could see shaved bits of hair on bathroom sink. Breakfast too basic, only bread with ham and cheese, nothing hot.

Streets surrounding the hotel may be called old and rustic, but they are just dirty with luck of investment…

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariuszKluzniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Albergaria Senhora Do Monte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Spend three nights here recently.
I travel a lot for business and pleasure and indeed have been doing that for many. many years. I do not like hotel chains and I have a particular aversion to 'international business' hotels in big cities. I always look for a family owned local hotel that is well situated close to the centre of the city. Do Monte fits the bill perfectly. It was over 15 years since I was in Lisbon and consequently did not have a great feel for the geography, but I chose well with this hotel.It is incredibly friendly and situated in a a very pleasant part of town - about a fifteen minute walk UP from the centre. It is right on the tram-line #28 (strangely I only took it downhill, all trips back to the hotel I ended up walking for one reason or another).
Fantastic view over the whole city and the suspension bridge - delightful to sit on one's balcony sipping a beer and watching the world go by. Nicely furnished and very clean.
One small niggle - how about a wider selection for breakfast? perhaps an egg or two?
Other than that an excellent choice and good value.

Room Tip: make sure you get a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is close to the #28 trolley so it's very convenient. The view is amazing. The desk clerks were all polite but definitely gruff. Great breakfast. You can walk to San Jorge castle in about a half hour.

Room Tip: ask for a view room and not a street room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Right on top of a hill in Graca overlooking the city and Tejo river, this is a really great old-fashioned hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious with en-suite bathrooms, very clean, free wifi, safes in the wardrobes, TV with BBC News (see my pics of the bedroom).
The No.28 Tram runs close to the hotel, so if you buy the 5 euro day ticket (from the Metro station) you have unlimited travel on the buses etc. But its a steep hill so it will keep you fit if walking - take walking shoes! There are great nearby restaurants and bars so its a convenient tourist location - the Sao Jorge castle is a short walk, as is the Alfama area for Fado music and bars.
A great feature of this hotel is the panoramic view if facing the river (request these rooms as the front road-facing rooms may be noisier) and the 4th floor breakfast dining room which is just amazing, with the balcony overlooking the Tejo and the city.
Its an older-style building which I guess would be a three-star hotel in the UK, but is very satisfactory and well-maintained, everything works! We paid 59 euros a night including breakfast, booked online via Booking.com, but you can email them direct at: senhoradomonte@hotmail.com.
The self-service breakfast was good - fresh bread, cold meats, cheese, fruit, cereal, tea & coffee.
A most highly recommended stay, very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the river Tejo, and higher up. Note that some lower rooms have a nice sunny...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had an excellent week at this hotel. Our room had a panoramic view below of city of Lisbon and Tagus River. We woke up each morning at 8:00 to the church bells, we got use to it, wasn't a problem. Breakfast was very good as far as european breakfast go. an Delicious coffee, croissants, jellies. ham, cheese, melon and assorted fruits, which we always took some for a snack during the day. Room was very clean and bathroom also. I would say be careful of opening both windows in your room. Our particular room one side of window opened right near the bed and the first day my husband bent down to put on his shoes came up and banged his head into side of window, blood everywhere, but they were very helpful at the front desk. he was fine, bandaids for few days, but didn't hold us back from exploring the city. This hotel is in the Graci area, you are not really in the tourist area, but it is close to the Castle Jorge and the Alfama area, both of which are excellent to explore and in walking distance. Tram 28 takes you to the Castle and into more tourist areas like Baxia. We only really found two restaurants near hotel with very good food, fish was excellent, one was Cafe Mourisca, beautiful blue tile on the walls, very nice people there.
I gave this hotel four stars for only one reason, their location was up on a hill, in itself, that was beautiful had wonderful views, but it was a climb up there. We never found which tram took you to the top, so we mostly walked up and down every day. Was not a problem for us, we are very fit, but just be aware it is a bit of a vertical climb up. Actually most of the old part of Lisbon is very hilly so wear comfortable shoes. Nice place to visit by train is Sintra, plan spending day, very nice, castles and great little shops. Another one I found in Fodors or Frommers book, don't remember which one was a palace called Queluz National Palace, look for it in book, excellent, grounds like Versailles in Paris. Hope this helps, I found trip advisor helpful when I booked this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view, one of the best reasons to stay here.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Albergaria is definitely not for those who crave the cookie cutter style and glitz of a Marriott or Westin, but rather a charming, friendly one of a kind in one of the oldest and most fascinating parts of Lisbon. And it would not entice children or prove readily accessible for folks with mobility issues. As other review have noted it is uphill. After a week there I'd swear that Lisbon is ALL uphill. We ate our way through Portugal and did not gain weight. But I digress,
The hotel's relative proximity to the 28 Tram (an adventure in itself) makes it easy to get about with a multi-day transit pass. But unless you really want to see a lot of attractions at discounted rates, don't waste your money on The Lisbon Card from the Turismo which includes the transit coverage but costs a lot more. And if you're 65+ then definitely pass on it as it offers generally only 25-30% discounts to museums, etc while seniors often get 50% or more at the door.
The hotel has pretty reliable free hi-speed internet with wi-fi in the lobby and several floors up. Breakfast is continental and adequate, and the regular bartender can point you to several local restaurants, not pricey but with excellent food and service. If you arrive by car you can park on the sidewalk in front to unload and the staff will see to a parking place for you. But proximity to the tram and Lisbon's excellent bus, rail and subway system and horrendous traffic makes a car somewhat of a liability.
The hotel's views of the city and the Castello have been covered in other reviews. Can't be beat by any other hotel in Lisbon.

Room Tip: End rooms have little balconies with better views
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fullervi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

After reading some of the other reviews I was a little nervous about what to expect. I found that the Albergaria Senhora do Monte was ideal; I'd very happily stay there again. The hotel is a stylish, characterful 1960s building with attractive marble and wood panelling in parts of the public areas. It is now becoming historic and I hope that these features are retained.

The bedroom and bathroom were both spotlessly clean. The bathroom is a little cramped (and the bath was a bit on the short side), but is perfectly adequate. The bed was comfortable. The view from our room was stunning; if you want the view do make sure that you ask for a room with a view over the city.

The hotel is a short walk from the Tram 28 stop at Graça; this is particularly good as many of the services on Tram 28 terminate at Graça. In practice, I did not encounter any problems with pickpockets on Tram 28 (although care should be taken). The walk from the tram stop to the hote is, however, uphill along a somewhat uneven road - this would be difficult for people with restricted mobility.

The breakfast room (and bar) is on the top floor, with picture windows and a terrace - both offering incredible panoramic views over the city. The breakfast is perfectly adequate; a continental breakfast with large brown rolls, croissants, jam, butter, cheese, ham, coffee, hot milk, etc. The coffee was not as good as in some of the city's cafes, but was ok. The speed of the table service seemed to depend on which waitress was on duty.

The only minor downsides were slightly inadequate soundproofing (i.e. noise from the neighbouring room and music from a nearby dance school in the evening) and an inability to provide coffee/breakfast before 07.30 (which was annoying as we had an early flight on our last day). Nevertheless, my wife and I had a very enjoyable week-long stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view over the city centre be sure to ask for one.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Botanico Hotel
#142 of 253 in Lisbon
416 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
The Keep
The Keep
#234 of 253 in Lisbon
76 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#46 of 253 in Lisbon
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo
Lisboa Tejo
#136 of 253 in Lisbon
627 reviews
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#130 of 253 in Lisbon
480 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Senhora Do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Senhora Do Monte

Address: Calcada do Monte 39, Lisbon 1170-250, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £71 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergaria Senhora Do Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergaria Senhora Do Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte Hotel Lisbon
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte Lisbon
Albergaria Senhora Monte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing