We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Albergaria Senhora Da Monte” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergaria Senhora Do Monte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte
Ranked #164 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Albergaria Senhora Da Monte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Whenever I go to Lisbon, and I go there often because it's not only a beautiful and friendly city, it's full of wonderful music and art and an easy afternoon trip to other wonderful little villages, I stay at the Albergaria Senhora Da Monte, not only because it''s immaculate and extremely welcoming, it's also wonderfully located on a street which overlooks wonderful cites and is filled with beautiful old Portuguese arcitecture. And...it's reasonably priced!

Room Tip: I've always had a good room, which ever part of the hotel I'm in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    78
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
108
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great location on a hill over-looking the city - amazing views. Well equipped, nicely decorated rooms - not modern, but plenty of style. Not pretentious. Ample, good breakfast. The restaurant/bar with its terrace both have views of the whole city, castle, bridge, etc. Friendly staff - especially the bar tender who has been there for years and has a few tales to tell.

An expected uphill hike to get to - get a taxi if you don't fancy the exercise. Small, quiet hotel, close to all the attractions of the Alfama and a short tram ride of the city centre - perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueSkyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The views alone from both the terrace of my room and from the breakfast area on the top floor would make this hotel a great place to stay, but it was also clean, quiet, and comfortable. Its location at the top of a hill, with a bit of a walk to the nearest tram stop, would be difficult if you had mobility issues, but for me it was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 003--in the basement, deceptively, because it has a big terrace overlooking the castle and the...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I found myself in Lisbon again for business and decided to stay at my old haunt, the Albergaria Senhora do Monte. To be honest, I was somewhat apprehensive as hadn't stayed there for some time and things do tend to disappoint after a while. However, that was not the case here. I was welcomed by the staff as in the past. This time I had a larger room with a terrace. Though it was a bit more space than I needed, the terrace was worthwhile to enjoy the view of Lisbon. I stand by my earlier review. If you prefer larger hotel chains then this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a nice place to stay which has character and a most wonderful view over the Castle Sao Jorge and Lisbon then this is a must. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast good. I agree with others that the selection is not very wide but it is a small hotel and you do get to have your breakfast overlooking the fantastic view. Good selection of fresh fruits and cereals. So there is enough choice.

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay again and would definitely be staying here again on my return to Lisbon.

Oh and the Haweli Indian Restaurant around the corner has yummy food at a very reasonable price. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Needless to say, ask for a room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Having first stayed here in April 2012, my wife and I stayed here again in August 2013. This time we booked a slightly smaller, cheaper room - but it met our needs and was clean and comfortable. The location gives a wonderful view over the city, but the uphill climb would probably be too much for the less mobile. The room was 88 Euros per night, which we felt was very good value. There are plenty of small, good value restaurants nearby, including A Mourisca and Haweli (and we enjoyed both). My earlier comments from my review in April 2012 still stand, but this time I felt that the front desk service was better. We look forward to coming again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

The sight over Lisboa is good... but that‘s all. the rooms are nice but old with old furniture, breakfast is poor and there is no one attending the dining room, you have to help yourself also or taking plates and cups. In general a good value for money in a good position, but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lead_expression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

the location of the hotel is great- it in the historic Graca area of lisbon. The views from the bar are spectacular. However, the service is not the best nor are the rooms. THe bathroom smelled.

For the location I would stay again, overall I would go to the Sheraton or Four Seasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flight380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa De Sao Mamede
#146 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Botanico Hotel
#148 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Riverside Alfama
Hotel Riverside Alfama
#139 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#197 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Senhora Do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Senhora Do Monte

Property: Albergaria Senhora Do Monte
Address: Calcada do Monte 39, Lisbon 1170-250, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergaria Senhora Do Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergaria Senhora Do Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte Hotel Lisbon
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte Lisbon
Albergaria Senhora Monte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing