We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergaria Senhora Do Monte

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte
Ranked #164 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Views!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

First impression on arrival was ‘Wow’. The view from the Hotel reception was fabulous; we couldn’t wait to see our room and were not disappointed. A good size with double doors opening up onto a small balcony with table/chairs and the most amazing view across the city, river, bridge, castle everything! Plenty of natural light, the beds were very comfortable, bathroom was a reasonable size and everything worked, very clean – couldn’t find fault.
Breakfast was served on the top floor, again with the most magnificent views both inside and on the outside terrace. Food quality good although not an awful lot of choice (but fine for our needs).
We found Reception staff polite and helpful.
The hotel is located on one of the highest points and around 20+ mins walk downhill to the centre. This was not a problem for us but could be for the less mobile. The tram and bus stop were just down the road, about five minutes walk so no problem getting anywhere, plus a Taxi ride from the centre cost under 5 Euros and was well worth taking especially when you have luggage on the first journey up (this also helps with locating the hotel as it could be very tricky).
We spent 3 nights in Lisbon (amazing city) and would highly recommend staying at the Albergaria Senhora Do Monte Hotel for superb views and a very comfortable stay in an excellent location if not the most central.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    78
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
108
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We opted for staying here because of its selection a choice of a well known travel company's guide to Portugal. They particularly recommended it because of the view, which was, in fact, pretty spectacular. But that is abut this place has to recommend it. The room, while clean, was on the small side as was the bathroom, which smelled of mildew. The location is fairly distant from things, but there is a tram stop abut 500 years away that will get you downtown. The management is not overly friendly and could not find our reservation from Bookings.com when we arrived. They will let you use their lobby computer for 4 euro an hour, fair enough, but the ink jet printer is probably from 10 years ago and the boarding passes I printed had to be redone by the airline. The room included a breakfast, the croissants for which were fresh two days ago. My advice is to give this place a skip unless you intend to spend all your time in Lisbon looking at the view,

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Davisdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed five nights at the Senhora Do Monte and were very pleased with every aspect of our stay. The staff, especially Josef, was extremely helpful in assisting with any traveling needs you may have---directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations, sight suggestions etc.

The hotel is immaculately clean and the room we stayed in--003---was very large with an exceptionally nice terrace which looked out over all of Lisbon. After touring the city for an entire day, it was wonderful to return to.

While the hotel is well maintaned, it is not the Ritz Carlton and is a bit dated in its decor. However, everything is absolutely clean and well maintained. It is a good half hour walk to the center of town and longer coming back up fairly steep streets. However, the 28 tram takes you about a block away. (Beware, it is almost always very crowded, but the ride is not long.) A taxi should be under five euros.

There are several very reasonable if basic restaurants in the area where the fresh fish is
absolutely delicious and frequented mostly by locals. We particularly enjoyed O Paridiseo where we ate for about 25 euros with wine (that is not a misprint.) We ate at several other places for three times that amount where the food and service were inferior.

Two sights you might include which are not on the A tourist list, but should be, are the Palacio dos Marqueses de Fronteira and gardens (get very explicit directions) and the Museo Nacional do Azuejo, which is the national tile museum.

If you do not mind staying a bit away from the center of town, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and would stay again if returning to Lisbon

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m1128jm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

The hotel met every expectation. The rooms were super clean, the staff went out of their way to ensure a great stay. They even arranged for an inexpensive rental car to be dropped off at the hotel. Parking was tight in the area but the staff made sure that parking was available in front if the hotel. The view from the hotel was amazing. The gentleman who ran the bar was a wealth of information and very personable. The breakfast was very good with a great selection of breads, cheese, meat, fruit and cereals. All in all a great value for the money. Only 28 rooms
On the property, thus personal attention from the staff, they treat you like family. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filmguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

Spent two nights here in July and had a great time. As stated in title, it is a little hard to find at first. If you're a thrill seeker, get a hair raising taxi from the airport or railway station (as we did). The drivers are crazy, but never seemed to have accidents. Once in the hotel, we were given the keys to room 4 which was on the lower floor. Upon opening the blinds, we noticed that we had a great balcony with stunning views looking over Lisbon. The only other place in the hotel with better views was the bar/breakfast room. The hotel is in the Grassi district of Lisbon, which is working class, but also on the route of the famous No 28 tram. Well worth taking a ride, but beware of pick pockets (I was nearly dipped). The breakfast at the hotel was very nice and service was friendly and good. A special word of praise to bar manager Victor, who always had time to make conversation. The hotel was a sanctuary at the end of a hectic day in Lisbon. A great place to watch the sun set.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Great view.
I mean Great View.
Kind receptionist.
Gives a spontanious ring when there's a better spot for the car.
I like.
Nice bed.
Nice bathroom.
Nice neighborhood.
Not overcrowded with tourists.
Cosy pasteleria's and little bars.
Very good value for money.
Did I mention the great view?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Very much enjoyed our 4 day stay here- the views are the best and it was so relaxing watching the sun set from our balcony. Very quiet, excellent breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, and within 15 min downhill walking distance to major areas. Only a few minutes walk also to tram and train station. No frills room was small but clean. Perfect for adults with no small kids, no car (parking looked very difficult to find), who enjoy walking, and are not expecting entertainment at the hotel (there was not much going on at the hotel, including the bar, during week we visited, ). Very good value, esp. in off season. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biedross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa De Sao Mamede
#146 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Botanico Hotel
#148 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Riverside Alfama
Hotel Riverside Alfama
#139 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#197 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Senhora Do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Senhora Do Monte

Property: Albergaria Senhora Do Monte
Address: Calcada do Monte 39, Lisbon 1170-250, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergaria Senhora Do Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Albergaria Senhora Do Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte Hotel Lisbon
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte Lisbon
Albergaria Senhora Monte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing