We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa De Sao Mamede
Nearby Hotels
US$210
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$312
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$323
US$285
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$166
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valverde Hotel(Lisbon)
US$433
US$418
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lisboa Plaza(Lisbon)
US$323
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$263
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
96
89
12
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
89
12
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaxi rides arehistorical hotelhamfirst floorthe ground floorroom safebreakfast roomfacing the streetgood sizeyogurtno liftminute walkcold meatsroom was largecentral lisbonlovely hotelrato
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked 5 nights with this lovely hotel through reading the Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted with a good old fashioned welcome by a lady who was full of warmth and charm and always eager to help, as were other staff members. Our room fronting the main street was squeaky clean as was the ensuite. This was no 3 star hotel more an equivalent to a 4 star. It has a quiet, calming atmosphere with lots of character features from a bygone age, including a magnificent stained glass window at the top of the stairs leading to the breakfast room. This hotel really made us feel really 'at home', a vast difference from the glass, tiled and shiny metal edifices of the big international hotel chains managed and staffed by plastic zombies so often encountered.
WiFi is available, better in the lounge area, continental breakfast was provided and served in a quiet room overlooking a busy interesting thoroughfare. The position of the hotel is central to the main tourist areas as well as other places of interest. Bairro Alto and Principe Real are close by within 15 mins walk where there are many restaurants and wine bars. The Metro station Rato is 5 mins walk away. The Lisbon Metro system is easily navigable and includes a station right at the airport a 30 minute ride with only one change and only E1.25. Lisbon is such an underated city, the Mamede made our stay even better!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CadigalSydneya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

How refreshing it is to find such a hotel in this day and age. Although we had problems booking, due to language problems, on our arrival, Maria (aka Christina) the owner, sorted everything out immediately, and combined with the fact that it was our 40th wedding anniversary, graciously gave us an upgrade at no extra charge.

What must have once been a large private house, with a large stainglass window of St Mamede on the main staircase and throughout decorated with Portuguese tiles, now makes a home from home for the discerning traveller wanting both quality and a convenient, but equally quiet, base for visiting the centre of Lisbon.

Our room was delightful, with a spacious bedroom and a large bathroom with shower, bidet and old fashioned stand alone bathtub. The decor throughout our suite, and throughout the hotel, was elegant and tasteful. The buffet breakfast had a wide choice and one could start the day well nourished with coffee, tea, fruit juice as well as a choice of cereals, cheese, cakes etc. The staff on the door were all welcoming and helpful, only too pleased to advise on the best routes to get to places and most spoke English very well.

I can't praise this hotel enough and thoroughly recommend it. My wife and I had a most memorable and pleasant Ruby Wedding, much due to our stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband chose this hotel for its old world charm, and location. We were greeted by the owner who gave us a choice of rooms; we decided on Room 109, with its four poster bed and a bath (and bidet) on the first floor. You got to it through the little library with its large candelabra. Our window looked onto the side street with its charming cobblestones. There was no issue with noise at all, and anyway we had shutters and thick curtains if we had needed them. We slept with the window open as the weather was perfect. The only thing we heard were the church bells opposite on Sunday morning. The mattress and pillows were fantastic, the bathroom had plenty of hot water and everything was spotless. The breakfast was included in our very reasonably priced tariff. The breakfast room is lovely, with windows opening onto the church, and we had a choice of fruit, cereal, yoghurt, tea, coffee, breads, cheese, ham, and sweet pastries. We could walk down the hill to most places we wanted to see. It is a little tired in some parts, but Casa de Sao Marmede is real, and it feels like you have come to stay with family, not in a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Having lived in Lisbon we weren´t looking forward to visiting the city and having to stay in a hotel, but this hotel made us forget all this.

First of all it is centrally located and everything is pretty much within walking distance. From Avenida Liberdade to Principe Real to Santa Catarina to one of Lisbon´s most famous neighborhoods Bairro Alto, you just walk out of your hotel and within a 5-10 minute walk you are there.

Secondly, the hotel has managed to keep its Portuguese charm. Like other reviewers said it still has old Portuguese style interior decoration and the hotel just breaths older, perhaps forgotten (?), times. This does mean that not everything may be up to par compared to a fashionable boutique hotel, but who cares when you stay in a beautiful historical hotel in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

And thirdly, the people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They showed us several rooms from which we could make a choice, which is quite unique and I don´t know any other hotel, besides the Chelsea Hotel in NYC, where they let you do that.

All I can say, if you are going to Lisbon and are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a lot of charm, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Cosmos_Estrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Lisbon in May 2011 as we were going to the Moto GP in nearby Estoril. We had actually booked in to another hotel nearby but it was awful. We were a little worried as is meant we would have to try and find something quickly ( my husband and i don't like to do things last minute and like to have everything organised well in advance) so we left our stuff in the room and went out to look for something else. Luckily i had a lonely planet guide and the Casa De Sao Mamede wasn't far away. It was the best thing we could have done. The people at the hotel were so friendly and welcoming. They had a room and we were shown to it to see if was what we were looking for. It was lovely-more like a small suite. Period decoration but all mod cons. We took it straight away. We went back to the other hotel and picked up our stuff. We lost the first nights deposit, and the Casa De Sao Mamede was more expensive but it was worth it. We had a great 5 days there. It was nice and quiet at night for sleeping. Wooden shutters and heavy curtains at the windows so no annoying light first thing in the morning. Breakfast was nice and plentiful and served in a nice room. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank andrea and adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews