We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residencial Florescente
Ranked #29 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel is very close to the centre of town and close to transport. the local restaurants are a bit pushy but you get used to walking through a barrage of invitations to eat. The room was small but all that we needed for a city stay. The shower and bathroom were clean and well maintained. The Breakfast was basic and for some reason things were quite cold even though they were in a warmer. The desk staff were very helpful and spoke good English. There was a lift or stairs to get up to the rooms. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is average. The staff is very formal, we got the disability room, with view to a small shaft, but with a bathroom big as a ballroom. The price is ok. the breakfast is also very good, but you have to pay additional for an espresso. You can't find a hotel with a better location. Close to everything, in walking distance with Alfama, Baxia and (with one of the "elevadores") Bairro Alto. In Bairro Alto you will every find weekend night one of the biggest parties in Europe. Try that, and you will appriciate a hotel near by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hojland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We liked this hotel – great location (but see below) on a walking street, helpful staff, nice room and, the price is right. Our only complaint was the hot water, which was not always very hot. It is very easy to walk to most of the sights. You can get the hop off/on bus around two corners.

Some reviewers complained about the breakfast. It's not five stars, but it was fine.

Warning, though: the hotel is right on the “eating street”. The bad news is there are lots of restaurants whose waiters are out in the street hassling you to come in. The good news is there are a lot of restaurants, including good ones. Those are the ones without the waiters in the street. An example is Bonjardim, just around the corner from the hotel. Roasted chicken.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfJogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Nice place to stay very close to the city center, very easy access to public transportation and the breakfast was included. Room rate was fair for what you get. Wifi was slow but was being upgraded while we were there. Also they were painting and doing maint. during the day while we were out seeing sites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSPhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is very well located for exploring both central Lisbon and further afield. It is in a pedestrian street (Lisbon-style, so various service vehicles are admitted!) close to two metro stations (Rossio and Restauradores) and the mainline station at Rossio.
There are two theatres within a few metres of the hotel entrance.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street at the front. It wasn't large but had all the necessities: wardrobe space, bedside cupboards and en suite facilities with bath, shower, WC and bidet. Everything was scrupulously clean and completely serviced every day (clean towels, sheets etc.).
Staff were friendly and efficient. We arrived well before check in time on an early flight and they provided secure baggage storage while we went exploring.
Breakfast was good though the choice was more limited for us vegetarians. In spite of what the guide books say about what to expect from a 'residencial', the hotel's restaurant serves lunch and dinner too, if you want it.
The wi-fi (included) was reasonably fast and consistent. The safe deposit boxes are also free to residents and accessed by request at reception.
We don't fit standard Iberian eating hours very well and the street outside is lively (ie noisy!) until quite late at night. Rubbish collections are also made in the early hours of the morning. Fortunately, the double glazing was very efficient, so the noise wasn't much of a problem. If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room high up (there is a lift).
If we make a return trip, this will be our first choice for a Lisbon hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YateleyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed at the florescente for 3 nights last weekend, its in a very good central location + very close to 2 metro stations. Rooms are small but very clean, breakfast is good. reception staff are very helpfull, i wanted to go to the benfica v sporting derby match they advised me to go to the stadium the day befor the game where i bought tickets. From this hotel it is easy to explore lisbon on foot + by metro. Went to sintra + estoril by train both worth a visit. to sum up this hotel is ideal for a lisbon city break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

the location can't be beaten. As for the instalations/room, they are better that you would expect at this price range. I strongly recommend. Why do the reviews has to have at least 200 characters?
I can't get it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel, it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulista1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#62 of 255 in Lisbon
895 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#78 of 255 in Lisbon
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#96 of 255 in Lisbon
1,255 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
466 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#36 of 262 in Lisbon
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Florescente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Florescente

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao n 99, Lisbon 1150-266, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Florescente 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residencial Florescente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Florescente Lisbon
Residencial Florescente Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing