We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 108: quiet but cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residencial Florescente
Ranked #29 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent a week at this very centrally located hotel (close to Restauradores metro stn). We asked for a quiet room in the back as the street can be noisy at night (many restaurants, good-natured touts). Fairly old building with elevator and staircase going up to the fourth floor; old-style tiles in the hallways were a nice touch. Friendly and helpful staff at Reception that speaks English well; friendly staff of the large buffet-style breakfast room seems to speak little English. Lay-out of all floors is like a maze: upon getting to your hotel room floor, you can turn right or left - you'll always end up finding your room. Our room (108), which was at the end of a very narrow hallway (barely wider than a suitcase) giving entry to 4 hotel rooms, proved to be quiet but cramped: the floorspace at the foot-end of the bed is very narrow; there was little space to put 2 suitcases. The mattress on the bed was not that comfortable; also, small thin pillows and no duvet but old-fashioned sheets and a blanket. The bathroom was quite clean but fairly small; make sure to put your towel near the bathtub before having a shower as you make take a fall when trying to grab it from the towel rack that's been put up in the wrong place (you'll have to reach around a glass partition that more or less keeps the water from getting to the floor when in the shower); both plumbing (toilet + wash basin) as well as ventilator were very noisy; hairdryer is included. Quiet AC /heater fixed to higher end of the wall. Small TV attached high up to the wall in a corner; very small table, 1 basic wooden chair; no coffee/tea making facilities, so bring a device of your own if need be. Built-in closet with coat hangers that can't be used anywhere else but there (the lower wooden part needs to be fitted into a metal piece that's attached on a rod), so bring some of your own if you need to do some laundry. Bay window has a metal grille to prevent intruders from coming in (convenient for putting up some of that laundry provided it's not raining, but may also be a fire hazard). Fortunately, some large potted plants just outside our bay window gave us something nice to look at from the inside. All in all: quite basic and clean, and fine for just a week. Some pictures on the internet show romantic-looking rooms; room 108 lacked romance but fortunately was quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just spent 3 nights here, lovely hotel. Location is great, and also really handy for the airport bus.
Staff are friendly and helpful. I had a room at the front, good size room and bathroom, spotless.
Breakfast very nice with plenty of choice. Hotel is on a busy pedestrian street with plenty of restaurants. Its a relly nice friendly hotel, in a great location and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzannewicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

There is no better central point for a stay in Lisbon than close to Rossio Square, and we loved the Residencial Florescente. You're on a lively restaurant row just a five minute walk from the square. The rooms are clean and well-trimmed, quiet compared to some other European hotels we've stayed in. One thing that made it a great stay was the very helpful staff. They got us into the room as early as possible after that overnight flight, helped with cabs, tips and directions. If we go back to Lisbon, this will definitely be the place we'll stay.

Room Tip: The swimming pool and fitness center aren't terrible. They just don't exist. But on an iPad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My friends and me were very surprised by this hotel. We booked it quite cheap and when we got to Lisbon, we immediatly saw that this hotel was in the center of the city.
We asked for a room not at streetside, because we heard that streetside was a bit noisy.
Our room was very big and had a nice bathroom.
we were very pleased with the breakfast. There were 2 kinds of cereal, yoghurt, different kinds of bread, different kinds of egg,....
The staff was very helpfull but not too friendly.
It was all in all, a very good experience!

Room Tip: not at streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamanthaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Location can not be beat. On the pedestrian "eating lane". Super close to one of the major bus and rail lines. The three guys at the front desk were all very helpful and pleasant. I stayed for three nights in a single room on the 2nd floor. Everything I needed. Comfortable bed, bathroom, hair dryer, TV, free WiFi, elevator, complimentary hot and cold breakfast. Nice! I took the Aerobus 3.5 euros from the airport to very close to the hotel and took a taxi 8 euros back to the airport. This is a budget hotel and a very fine choice for those who are looking for this type of accommodation. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inga518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel in late May 2013, and would happily return there. The room (in the back of the hotel) was quiet and clean, adequately appointed but with no frills, and the breakfast was more than ample. The staff was friendly and helpful. What's best is the location: on the "eating lane" in Lisbon, and within walking distance of the Bairro Alto and Alfama districts. The rate was very reasonable. We will recommend this place to friends.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Bingley0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed for four nights and was quite satisfied with this hotel considering the very low price. I had a good sized single room at the back with a large, spotlessly clean bathroom. The staff was very helpful and very nice. The hotel is old and not particularly beautiful but I think it is a great bargain. The location is ideal, central to all transportation and lots of restaurants. My room was at the back and was therefore quiet but the front rooms face a pedestrian street which can be noisy. The breakfast was not fancy but there were many choices and it is included in the price. This is a great bargain hotel which offers a lot for a little money.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riddett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#63 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#76 of 255 in Lisbon
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
466 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Florescente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Florescente

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao n 99, Lisbon 1150-266, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Florescente 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residencial Florescente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Florescente Lisbon
Residencial Florescente Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing