We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel on Portas de Santo Antao ("Eating Lane")”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residencial Florescente
Ranked #27 of 265 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My mother (mid-60's), niece (early-20's) and I (40) stayed at Residencial Florescente February 13-16, 2014. We arrived via airplane and took the Aerobus to the Restauradores stop/plaza. We then walked about 5-10 minutes (we got lost) to the hotel. Please note that the ground is not flat, but it is cobble stone. While it's beautiful to look at, it's hard to roll your luggage over the stones, but that's what you get in a beautiful and old city.

Once arriving at the hotel, we walked up one step into the lobby. The staff was always very helpful and spoke some English. The hotel and lobby itself was very nice and well taken care of. It also has a restaurant attached and open for breakfast (where hotel breakfast buffet is served), lunch and dinner. After checking in we took the elevator up to the 5th floor to our room.

Our room was very large and our main bedroom, spare/sitting room and bathroom all had balcony's and wonderful views of the city. The bathroom was modern and also had a bidet, which was a nice treat. The main bedroom had two twin beds. And, the 2nd room was a spare/sitting room with a couch that was made into a bed by housekeeping after we arrived. The room was nice, clean and the views were beautiful.

Breakfast was very good and consisted of tea, coffee, bread/rolls, jam, cheese, meats, fruit and special items that the hard working staff were constantly putting out. The breakfast room consisted of about 20 tables and usually was enough room to accommodate the hotel guests and the turn over. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening and received good service, good food and we were able to watch the chef make our food in the open kitchen.

Location was great. We found it to be central to the town elevators or funiculars, trolley's, taxi's or local buses which took us to different parts of the city. We were pleasantly surprised by our location and hotel.

There was a musical show each night and we could hear the music and people down below the hotel before and after the show. It did get somewhat loud on Saturday night, but I guess that's to be expected. The hotel is also located on the Portas De Santo Antao or the "Eating Lane", so there are lots of restaurants trying to get you into their restaurants as you walk by.

We ordered a taxi with reception the day before we departed to the airport. It was nice to have a taxi waiting for us and a fixed price. To our surprise our taxi was a mercedes and a female driver in her 50's in heels. Nothing wrong with that, just surprised us.

Overall, the hotel was a great find and the price made it even better. If we ever return to Lisbon, this will be our hotel again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to get the rooms with a balcony and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tcab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We enjoyed a day long layover in Lisbon on our way home from Paris and spent our night here. The room was small but functional with a comfortable bed and nice shower. The reception desk was busy when we checked in so, we barely spoke and, when we went upstairs to our room there was a was of linens on the hall chair - as if a house cleaner had gotten distracted and forgotten them there. They were still there in the morning so, I assume that was the case.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed from Friday to Sunday and this hotel is the perfect choice for whoever is not too fussy but has got standards. So don't expect rooms and facility of a super high top hotel but of a 3 stars one and you're not going to be disappointed! We chose the Superior room that was very big and clean, it didn't have a view but to be honest as the hotel is located in one of the busiest areas at night it might get a bit noisy if you have the room facing the main street.
Breakfast was good, once again, don't expect the buffet of a 5 stars resort but there was plenty of food and drinks.
The great point of this hotel is the location. Perfectly in the centre of the city we walked everywhere day and night for three days and the way to the airport is so easy buy the metro.
Definitely a place to recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Valeriaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've mentioned this before, and I'll repeat it here - in customer service, it's not the problem, it's how it is solved that will stay with a customer.

Was rather disappointed to arrive to find that although we'd booked a double room with balcony, they gave us a twin room. When we went back to reception, they admitted they did not have a double room available for us for that night. We were given two alternatives: either stay with the room we had, or give us a twin room where the beds had been joined together. Although still not acceptable, we had no choice but accept either. The following morning, we were advised to leave our luggage in the room, and they would be transferred to another room with a double bed. This was duly done, although the room was smaller, with less facilities. (Previous two rooms had Bose type mp3 player - this one didn't).

Disappointing service, especially when no offer of compensation was forthcoming, nor any apology.

However, the reason we went to Lisbon was to see the sights, and this hotel is very much in a good location - 20+ restaurants within walking distance, the hotel is slap-bang opposite the Coliseu (which incidentally had concerts on each night we were there - didn't affect our sleep!).

The restaurant attached to the hotel is also good - food is well made, and the restaurant staff very helpful. If only the concierge could learn something from them.

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor are larger than other floors. 601 doesn't have an mp3 player, whereas the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campagnolo39-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and how wonderfully we were treated. Antonio was our first contact there and he not only checked us in but sent us to view an alternate room when we questioned the bed width in what we had reserved and then not only switched us but told us not to worry when we wanted to extend for two more nights (a question about the third night availability) and it all worked well. Comfortable bed (one reason we normally book for only one night, until we see the property), spacious double room and convenient for sightseeing and Metro access. Stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RoninParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have lived in and traveled Europe for years and there are some common flaws among hotels...this hotel did not suffer any of them. The bathroom was large and spacious, the shower was big enough to move around in without flooding or popping open a door. The bedroom was also very big and there were extra blankets and pillows. The A/C worked (although, it sometimes made a little funny noise). Breakfast was plentiful and the coffee was good. The staff was nice, the wifi worked great. The location, for getting around Lisbon, was hard to beat, close to the trainstations, or the main drag, good food near by. We did not hear any street noise, even with a singer on the street. The price was very attractive, but the experience was the best. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are polite and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. We arrived in Lisbon on an early morning flight, and were kindly given access to our room as soon as we arrived. Many of the sights of Lisbon are within a very short walk, and the airport is an aerobus ride, or 10 euro taxi ride away. We stayed in a triple room, and appreciated the separate alcove for the family member travelling with us. It's the best location , with the restaurants and theatres on the street surrounding the hotel. Dining just down the street, then sitting in the cafe outside, was the perfect end to a busy sight-seeing day. We have stayed other places in Lisbon, but this is our favourite. We liked it so much we returned for a second stay at the end of our holiday. Although that evening was a busy night with a lot of partiers, and people on the street, we we never bothered by noise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iconblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,095 reviews
Hotel Miraparque
#92 of 255 in Lisbon
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#90 of 255 in Lisbon
749 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#65 of 255 in Lisbon
914 reviews
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#111 of 255 in Lisbon
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Florescente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Florescente

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao n 99, Lisbon 1150-266, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £53 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Florescente 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residencial Florescente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Florescente Lisbon
Residencial Florescente Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing