We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Ranked #101 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here two separate nights as stop overs before and after flights. Handy for the Airport - about 5-10 mins and 6-8 Euros taxi fare. Rooms are a spacious with nice facilities. Our "Park view" room on the top floor had a fantastic view over the bay and bridge. BTW Park in this case means the Expo park - buildings then the sea, not a public park. City view look out over the Oriente train station which is pretty dammed impressive and equally pleasant. Staff very friendly, chatty and helpful. Not in the centre for the old town but only 5 mins from the casino if thats what your looking for. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looking interesting. Would definitely recommend for business or airport stop overs. Agree with VNE83 about the black-out curtains - brilliant! I want some for my bedroom!

Room Tip: Try for the top floor if you're going for the park view. We had the room right opposite the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greensabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    561
    200
    45
    21
See reviews for
288
374
89
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colora
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is very clean and the staff are excellent. They always have a smile and are very accomodating. The room has great room darkening curtains, nice desk and chair and is spacious. There is a flat screen TV and full length mirror. The lighting is a bit dim with the shades drawn or at night. There is a wall mounted hair dryer and a small fridge, but no iron or ironing board in the room. The air conditioning vent sits high on the wall and is not pointed at the bed and the room was heat soaked when I checked in so getting it cool was a challenge. I do not know why they put foot rugs on the wood floor, by the bed, that had no backing or rubber mat to hold them in place. I slipped more then once. I am surprised someone has not gotten hurt. Plus they are the only thing in the room that look like they could use a good cleaning.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the water get very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VNE83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services.

The iron and ironing board are available on request. Unfortunately the August heat is very challenging for our A/C system and we always try our best to keep it as cool as possible. The foot rug issue is being solved one by one at this moment.

Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here for one night during a short visit to Lisbon. Hotel was 5 min (taxi) from the airport, so the convenience is obvious. It's also near the metro and the tourist bus route - just hop on the bus and start your excursion. The rooms are basic but nice and clean, absolutely satisfactory for most travelers. Staff was very helpful, they allowed me to checking around 9AM and check out next day at 3PM - this was great considering that normal check in is 3PM and check out is 12PM. I was also able to leave my luggage at the front desk and pick it up before mi departing flight. Overall, very good experience. I would certainly stay here again, especially if need to be close to the airport or for a short trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyniame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We recently spent the first and last night of a trip to Portugal in the hotel. It is rather close to the airport, 7-8 € trip and it is very close to several places to eat, shop, etc.

We were quite pleased with the staff at the reception both times, very friendly and when we returned we appreciated getting a room at an even higher floor the second time ( 10 and 13.) We had booked the cheaper room towards the railway tracks, but with a room that high, we were not disturbed by noise.

Rooms were quite nice, clean, with very nice bathrooms as well. The bed was a bit to firm for my taste. A separate desk to work at was a plus, and since they offer free wifi (passwords at reception), we were able to catch up on e-mail etc. I would consider this hotel if going to Lisbon on business, since they have all I would need.

We decided to have dinner at the hotel and the food was quite ok, but the staff serving was not. Service was very slow! We thought it might have been a bad day the first evening and made the mistake to try again our last night. There were hardly any one in there, and they still left tables that were not properly set. The service was slow again, and when our food came, on of the dishes was not what we had ordered. With only2-3 tables busy that is quite remarkable. And we do not mind restaurants having trainees, but then they should get trained… Having chosen a wine, we got a bottle where he broke the cork several times before he got the bottle open, then he poured for my partner and had him taste, and getting his ok, filled his glass and then came over to my side to have me taste and then pour as well. I would like to know what had been done if I had said no when tasting…

We knew we had to leave early the next morning for our flight and were told they would have a free shuttle for us if we booked it. The next morning it turned out that they pay for taxis to take you to the airport. If we had known the first time, we could have saved a little. An early bird service of a free coffee and some rolls or pastries would have been good, since breakfast does not open until 7.am.

my service rating if for everything but the staff at the restaurant.

Room Tip: High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

First the good: 1) location - walking distance to the gorgeous train station (worth some photos if you're architecturally inclined), Vasco da Gama Mall (excellent shopping), and great views to the Tejo (Portuguese for Tagus) river. The neighborhood is safe and upscale. It's relatively close to the airport - 6€ - 10€ depending on how much luggage you have; 2) restaurant - open till 11:30 PM, good variety on the menu (fish, meat, pasta), food is delicious, prices are reasonable, and I was even able to get fresh-squeezed orange juice at 10:30 PM; 4) Breakfast offerings are extensive, tasty, and well presented. Pay the extra 5€! 3) The rooms: comfortable and generously sized, great beds, good lighting. There are smoking and nonsmoking options; 4) Free wi-fi with steady connectivity in the rooms and in the lobby bar lounge; 5) fridge mini-bar in rooms; 6) taxis are usually waiting in front.
Now the not-so-good: 1) no assistance available for bringing luggage in and up to the room and the carts are like those in the airport - no hanging rod and they won't handle more than about 3 pieces (1 large with 2 small on top); 2) the elevator doors are like guillotines and there isn't a mechanism to stop them from closing just by putting something in the way; 3) it isn't possible to go from a lower to upper floor except by going to the lobby and then up; 4) service is on the indifferent side. When I mentioned the elevator issue, the desk clerk didn't comment. Over all, I enjoyed my stay here, and choose this hotel whenever I fly through Lisbon.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the river side to avoid the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aishasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

We'd like to correct two things: the Restaurant is open until 10h30 pm, not 11h30 and the breakfast costs 9€ per person.

We appologize for the lack of assistance with the luggage, we don't have a person specifically for that, however we always help guests when possible and when they request it.

Both elevator issues have already been reported, we are waiting for it to be solved.

And we are obviously sorry for the indiference, it is not the idea you should get from us and it is something we always try to be good on.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at The Hotel Tryp Oriente twice during the month of July and it was a good stay. There are a few good points about the hotel it is conveniently near the airport, it is directly across the street from the Oriente Train Station, there is a nice mall across the street, and a visit to the TeleCabine is a must. The hotel was CLEAN, I was happy to see that the front desk clerks spoke English very well, so they are able to assist you with any questions and helpful information about the city. There was only one downer I had was that the hotel didn't have any Power CONVERTERS, so I could charge any of my computer and electronics. Prior to my arrival I phoned the hotel and asked about this and they assured me that wouldn't be a problem, well it was! Luckily I was able to find a electronic store in mall "Warden" that had power converters. Hotel Tryp this is a problem that need your attention, 2-3 converters is unacceptable for a hotel with so many rooms. I stayed on the Expo and the City sides and my family and I prefer the city side. Another bright side of the hotel is the beautiful morning breakfast is EXCELLENT! The Restaurant and the Bar everything in there Food and Beverage departments are CLEAN, FRESH, and TASTY! My family and I enjoyed our two trips this month at the Hotel Tryp Oriente and we would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

We are sorry for the lack of power adaptors, we agree we should have it in great number, however there are times they just run out because there's great demand. We'll try our best not to happen again.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We drove from Gibraltar to Lisbon and received an excellent welcome from the staff at reception. We had a place in the hotel's garage available for the duration of our stay and the rooms were ready for us to refresh and organise ourselves. Situated in the Parque das Nacoes close to the expo site we found plenty of restaurants and hotels nearby. The station is practically next door so you could get about without having to disturb your car. It has a big shopping center with a supermarket too..

The rooms were a good size and offering comfort all round. The breakfast which was included in our rate was excellent. A very varied hot and cold buffet with plenty of fruits and breads to choose from. The service very good in spite of it being very crowded as we were there for the Rotarians International Conference. Everyone was happy and satisfied with the treatment received.

The hotel's own restaurant was quite good though the choise limited. The bar was very good to have drinks and snacks. All the staff spoke English. The reception staff went out of their way to recommend us tpical \portuguese restaurants as well as fado place to visit. We enjoyed out four day stay very much and fully recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#107 of 246 in Lisbon
3,574 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#86 of 246 in Lisbon
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#180 of 246 in Lisbon
1,030 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 246 in Lisbon
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Property: TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Parque das Nações, the Hotel Tryp Lisboa Oriente was recently refurbished with "Expo 98" and the Oceans as its background. At the entrance, visitors are met by a series of ocean aquariums together with a canvas, in the reception area, representing the great architectural landmarks. The rooms emphasise elegance, modernity and comfort, and are characterised by the marine environments and the harmony of the sea smell, alternating between the blue of the rooms looking out towards the Tagus and the coral red of those which lend a view of the heart of the city. They have free Wifi access, a Television with satellite channels, a lounge area, telephone with a direct line and air conditioning. The "Bistrô&Tapas" Restaurant, which extends out to a pleasant esplanade, displays the most iconic symbol of Expo 98: panels which reflect the universality of the event and convey the popular Exhibition passport. The restaurant serves international breakfasts and offers an à la carte service and a dish of the day, based on the "Bistrô&Tapas" concept. For a light meal, take advantage of the bar where organic forms give body and soul to the drinks bars and you can admire a reproduction of a Portuguese stone-paved roadway. Located close to the FIL - Lisbon International Fair, the famous Oceanarium and Lisbon Casino, and just a few minutes away from Lisbon International Airport, the Tryp Lisboa Oriente is situated around 15 minutes away from the historical city centre. Just a short walk away you can find a full transport network, including the metro, buses and trains. The Parque das Nações is an excellent choice for visitors interested in culture, history, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Lisbon
Sol Melia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing